We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,982)
Filter reviews
1,982 results
Traveller rating
1,686
266
22
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,686
266
22
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast basket picnic basket each morning yogurt filtered water rooftop garden hour walking tour free movies book directly with the hotel old city common room breakfast delivered front desk staff nice lounge lounge area cappuccino machine vieux quebec
Filter
Updating list...
604 - 609 of 1,982 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and loved it. One of the best hotel experiences we ever had. Amazing customer service, the staff are very accommodating and friendly . Perfect location, in the middle of everything on St. Jean yet quiet. I suggest that you book directly on their website or by phone so that you get the breakfast basket in the morning. You wake up and a breakfast basket is hanging at the door - croissants, fruits, fresh orange juice, yogurt, cheese and delicious pastries (the hotel allows guests to customize their baskets with more protein or gluten -free options each day). I also noticed that they have a better selection of rooms on their website than on others sites like Expedia and Bookings.com.

Room was spacious with separate seating area, great decor and super comfortable beds. The common lobby room area has an espresso machine, different infused waters, books, games and whatever rooftop garden fruits and veggies of the day are available, such as cherry tomatoes and strawberries. The hotel is beyond clean, it was spotless. You can tell that a lot of thought has gone into special touches throughout the hotel. I really appreciate the hotels "green" efforts with using alternative energy sources and leaving two refillable bottles of water in the room each day. They won an award for being the greenest hotel in Canada. They even have vegetables on the roof and a bee-hive. Everything about the hotel is environmentally friendly. They even use green sourced gas for the fireplaces. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec clearly lives up to its ranking as the #1 hotel in Quebec City.

Room Tip: Check their website for better room options
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBobM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We loved everything about our two-week stay in this hotel. Location is great, on a major shopping street, central location in the old city. Upon arrival we found a personalized card in our room welcoming us, as well as a jar of honey from the hotel's own apiary. We were on the second floor facing the side street and the street noise was not bad at all.

The lounge is the nicest hotel lounge ever - a fancy coffee machine that a normal person can operate, fruit infused water, fruit, vegetables and dip in the afternoon, lots of comfortable seating, well-lighted for reading (we spent a lot of time there!)

Of course the breakfast basket on the door knob is something special - yogurt, juice, pastries, fruit, cheese, delivered before 8:00 every morning. This feature is included in the room price if you book through the hotel website, or otherwise included for an additional charge.

The hotel has an adjoining restaurant where we ate a few times. We felt the menu was somewhat limited - they are very big on their organically raised chicken. Nice selection of local beers - try the Doree, I loved it. There are several other very nice restaurants within a block or two, including an Irish pub, a very fine Italian restaurant, a great little creperie, and a McDonalds (which we did not visit).

In my view, the most extraordinary feature of this hotel is the staff. Everyone was nice, helpful and well informed (and we had a lot of questions). I rode the elevator with one of the front desk staff 8 days after we checked in. I mentioned it was our anniversary and he warmly congratulated me. That afternoon we found a lovely personalized note, wine and chocolates in our room. I was absolutely blown away that he would remember us and know our room number from check-in 8 days prior.

This was our third visit to Quebec City, our first stay in this hotel. We will definitely return to Quebec and will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sdtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Everything about this hotel was excellent including the helpful and friendly staff! Glad we took advantage of the free 2 hour walking tour - highly recommend it. The location of this hotel in the middle of all the sites, shopping, and restaurants is perfect. We enjoyed the breakfast basket as well as afternoon fruits and veggies. The rooms come with at least three types of pillows and the decor makes you feel right at home. Room was a little on the small side, but just fine for two people and the bed was so comfortable we had a great night's sleep. It is great to support a hotel like this one that is leading in environmental practices. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sunseeker062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Well fitted out rooms with a strong emphasis on energy efficiency. Croissants/juice/ yoghurt delivered to rooms for breakfast. Some rooms are pretty small so worth checking dimensions. Hotel arranged a free 2 hour walking tour of the old town which was great. Really informative. Provided for both French and English speakers. Street facing and corner rooms are great. Street noise not a problem. Coffee provided in room and expresso available in common area on ground floor.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank RobynCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Our first pleasant surprise was buy booking directly with the hotel rather than through a service,we got the same price plus breakfast each day and a 2 1/2 hour walking tour of the city. Both were great. Breakfast is deliver to the door of the room in a picnic basket and is very filling.
The room was very clean and well furnished. The bed, extremely comfortable.
The hotel is small with very well don decor and architecture. The detail in the physical facility is exceeded only by the attention to detail of the staff. They were very helpful and eager to help. They listed carefully to our wishes and made recommendations that matched perfectly.
It is reassuring to find, in a reasonably prices hotel, the quality of the staff and attention to detail. We will be visiting again and recommending the Vieux-Quebec to others.

Room Tip: Book directly. Listen to staff recommendations.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Foody1star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews