We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
26
75
27
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
75
27
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jazz club fresh croissants murphy bed orange juice and water windows closed on st denis street great location mont royal small room rue sherbrooke chain hotel street noise night life hotel is located latin quarter the air conditioning free breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We spent a long weekend in late August at this hotel (4 nights). The location was great. There are many restaurants close by as well as two metro stops and the weekend market on mont royal ave. The hotel has an arrangement with a local parking lot (cash only) a short walk away, which was very reasonable. Because of all the street closures for different festivals and markets, it was not possible to go the usual way to the parking lot and the staff person was very helpful in rerouting us. There are a lot of stairs in this property, which may be problematic for some. The only negative I had is that the central air was set at 23c. It was an usually hot and humid weekend and this didn't seem cool enough for us (in fairness to the hotel I didn't ask about lowering the temp). The rooms were clean with good quality linens and towels. The shower was wonderful as were the soaps. It was our first time sleeping in a Murphy bed and the mattress was quite comfortable. Very little street noise with the windows closed. There is a great organic grocer very close by and I highly recommend breakfast at Cafe Replika on Rue Rachel. We were very happy with our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

This is 2 star accommodation not 3 star as advertised on here or expedia where we booked. Booked due to price and location. THERE IS NO FREE BREAKFAST as advertised on here in fact when we arrived there were milk etc in the fridge and some jams in a little bowl in the kitchenette which we assumed were complimentary and so made our toast (with bread that we bought) to return to the room the same day to find these having been replaced. Stupid us thinking they too were complimentary. After our third morning we returned expecting to find these items replaced again but alas all trace of these had been removed from the fridge and the kitchenette and no replacement coffee sachet. On questioning the reception staff we were told that we need to pay for breakfast to receive these items and that they shouldn’t have been in the room- hence no free breakfast. So beware when booking if you’re looking for a quick cup of tea or coffee in your room you will have to bring your own! That’s totally ridiculous for 2018- basic 1 star accommodation in the UK have at least tea and coffee making facilities as standard. After climbing what felt like 150 steps to eventually get to the room you will find a tired and dated room that is in need of a good clean and spruce up. The bathroom was ok but a weird shower meant you are likely to scald yourself with the mixer and make sure noone flushes the toilet when you’re in the shower or they’ll burn. There was an annoying drip from the sink tap and if you didnt turn the tap on enough it rattled the pipes. There was an unbearably shouty woman in the next room who had a shouting match with someone on speaker phone lasting over an hour- on complaining to reception they did come and sort it out thank goodness. The bed was soft but ok and as we were in the back of the property we slept well enough. Would we return? No, too far from town centre, too many steps, too old and tired- next time we’ll pay a little more for better quality. Disappointing as we loved Montreal.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SianiWms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemaSoeurAnne, Gérant at Anne Ma Soeur Anne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear guest, on behalf of the whole team, we thank you for your comment, and we sincerely apologize for the issues and misunderstanding that occured during your stay as we always try to make our best to make our guests feel welcome.
However, two aspects of your review call for some minor clarifications.
Regarding the 2 Vs 3 stars rating, we would like to mention that each booking partner, as well as the province of Québec and Canada, has its one rating system, based on various criteria, and on which we do not have any control. This explains why our classification is different depending on the booking plateform.
Similarly, the plan and rates we offer also change depending on the booking platform you chose. While Expedia and Booking indeed do not offer this option upon booking, reservations made on our own website (or by phone or email) do include breakfast, unless of course the guest decide to make a "without breakfast" booking.
Finally, we certainly agree that our hotel is now showing signs of age, and we are looking forward to the renovation planned this winter, as they will give our Hotel the freshen up it deserves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

This quaintly-named hotel fits in to the neighborhood so well you will probably walk right by it when you arrive. Then when you climb the stairs to the second-floor front door, it feels like you are coming home to your Plateau address. Okay, I would never want to live permanently in the small room with a Murphy bed that fills the room almost entirely when it's down. But with a microwave, stovetop, fridge, and kitchen sink, you really could move in for an extended stay, and the price would be a lot less than the sky-high prices of downtown Montreal.

Montreal is full of attractions to see, but the Plateau is a worthy place to be headquartered in. There are plenty of cafés, restaurants, shops, and clubs on St-Denis street, also a few minutes away on St-Laurent Blvd. and Mont-Royal Ave. You can walk to the great 24 hour poutine restaurant La Banquise. The metro isn’t far: about an 8 minute walk to Mont-Royal station, and from there it’s only about 20 minutes or so to go nearly anywhere you want to visit in Montreal.

The hotel itself is fairly basic, but it has just about everything I look for. It’s quiet, the bed is large and comfortable, the bathroom has good (but not elegant) fixtures and great water pressure and temperature. The small TV has a pretty good assortment of cable channels in HD. You can’t control the air conditioning, but the central system kept the room comfortable. Wifi is fast and reliable. The staff is friendly.

There's nothing luxurious about Anne Ma Soeur Anne Hotel. But it’s a great value in an attractive neighborhood, with everything you might need for a short stay in one of my favorite cities in the world.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
Thank MarkLBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemaSoeurAnne, Gérant at Anne Ma Soeur Anne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Mark, thank you so much for this kind review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Nicolas, the receptionist was very professional and kind! Every morning, we got our fresh croissants [choose your amount] and with a "fully loaded" mini kitchenette, we were able to eat a nice breakfast with OJ, Coffee, Tea, Toast, Cream Cheese, etc....Thank you for everything! We will be back very soon!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchpr0fess0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemaSoeurAnne, Gérant at Anne Ma Soeur Anne, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

On behalf of Nicolas, we thank you very much for this kind review ! We always appreciate to know when our guests had a pleasant stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and whilst I wouldn’t recommend for those with mobility issues, the stairs were fine. It was great that they left orange juice and water in the fridge and we also got the cereal bread in the morning so we could have toast for breakfast. The bed felt a bit lumpy but I didn’t feel uncomfortable and I slept well. The air con turning itself on and off could be a bit noisy but not enough to wake me (I’m a light sleeper)and I only noticed it if I was awake. I liked the way the hotel looked, not one of those chain boring hotels. We were on the second floor and faced the courtyard so we didn’t hear the traffic.
Nice staff and I liked not having to walk past reception every day. Good area, near the metro and some vegan restaurants we wanted to try.
It was very useful having the kitchenette.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kittybiscuit7o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnemaSoeurAnne, Front Office Manager at Anne Ma Soeur Anne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you very much for this kind review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews