We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
15
34
27
15
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
34
27
15
31
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The Hotel du Manoir St. Denis is located in the heart of the Latin Quarter, along a street with many restaurants, bars and shops. It is a three-minute walk to the Berri-UQAM Metro station, which serves three of the four subway lines and allows you quick, convenient access to the rest of Montréal. Most points of interest are within three subway stops of the hotel.

Free Wi-Fi, and it worked well for me. Breakfast (included) was a croissant heated in the microwave and served with a styrofoam cup of coffee and a cup of orange juice placed on a tray for you to take back to your room -- no breakfast room or common seating area. Staff was very friendly and welcoming.

The hotel itself is very dated and in desperate need of rehab. But my room, bathroom and bedclothes were clean. The hotel is not a place for families -- it is better suited for solo travelers or party-goers who spend just enough time in the place to sleep and to shower. My room was compact and at the rear of the hotel, so no street noise. Walls are a bit thin, though, despite the pine panelling.

That said, the location is great, the price is very good (I spent less than $60 per night including all taxes), and the staff is welcoming. Were the physical aspects of the hotel in better shape I would have given the place 4 stars. Not too bad for a budget hotel in a city that can be a little pricey.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennorthrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you want to be in the heart of the nightlife of Quartier Latin then stay here. Also, if you don't mind that these are basic accommodations. Feels more like a chalet, dated decor but didn't spend much time in the room, just when we were done all our other activities.

Room tip: Ask for a corner room facing St. Denis, you get the best view. Second floor is best, third floor if you don't mind walking stares.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gradstud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel du Manoir in Montreal. When we arrived we were given a packet of very good information for the many things a visitor would want to know. The bus was at the corner just outside the front door and provided easy access into Montreal. The room was clean and adequate for our needs. We did have a shared bath, but at the time we were the only couple using it. The manager was very helpful at all times, and the breakfast choices were good for us. We would not hesitate to stay there again in the future.

Room tip: There were several buildings. The main building was fine for us.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Working in the hospitality industry, I know that clients can always be very demanding, and always have exceeding expecations, especially for the price they've paid. The point is, for what you pay, Hotel du Manoir is a great deal, and was more than what I was expecting (and I booked last minute!) The rates are very cheap, especially for the location, which is right in the heart of the Latin Quarter with bustling shops, restaurants, cafes, and close to Old Montreal and Mont Real. Transportation was also fantastic, steps away from subway, bus, and bike rentals.

Although the beds and furnishings were from what seemed like the 1970's, the housekeeping staff has done a good job keeping everything neat and tidy. I would watch out for the curtains, as they are dusty and the bathtub is old and looked moldy. Apart from that, the house keepers replaced all of our sheets and towels, which was greatly appreciated being such a messy traveller.

The service was pleasant and the desk clerks were willing to communicate with my broken French. Sure, breakfast wasn't fantastic, but with so many great cafe's and restaurants, it would be a waste of eat in a hotel in the first place.

Overall, I would highly recommend Hotel du Manoir. It was a pleasant surprise and you get more than what you pay for. Sure the rooms may be old and a lot of things need to be updated, but the hotel has an unassuming charm that I absolutely adore.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwark1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I realize this is a glowing review for an inexpensive option, but in regards to what you are getting versus what you spend, and relative to the other hotels even in a five block radius, the Manoir St. Denis is hands down the best option and deserving of the praise. While I agree with most of the previous reviews, I think there should be some qualification in the rating system. If you're staying at a one or two star hotel(in regards to price range) there should be realistic expectations relative to what you're paying for, size of room/ continental breakfast selection etc. The majority of the reviews are positive, but so few exceed "average," while having few, if any, complaints. And if said complaints are observations on the reality of 'cheaper options," (smaller rooms and simpler breakfast) than it's a disservice to those hotels to complain about things any traveller should expect when reserving at a hotel in that price range. You want a bigger room and more lavish breakfast, pay more. Most traveller's know there are tradeoffs when budgeting a trip, and considering what you get here, versus hostel prices(the low end of the spectrum and no longer an option for most) or spending twice as much for a few more square feet in a room or a bigger breakfast, there's no question. For the proximity to cheap parking and the ease of entering and exiting the city, it's the best option. The staff is flexible and understanding, and the more you visit, the stronger the rapport. In terms of great restaurants and places to see, you are in a fantastic location considering how much you'll save compared to the places off St. Catherine a few blocks away. Even finding someplace in peak season under $80/night (tax included) is next to impossible. To pay less than $100 it goes without say that concessions will have to be made. Having realistic expectations relative to your budget is essential. Take for example the econo lodge up the street(off dominique) the prices fluctuate all year without the quality of the room changing, so right now you pay twice as much for what amounts to a few more square feet in the room, and who's staying indoors in Montreal during the summer festivals? Not to mention the only time I ever had a problem where housekeeping emptied my room thinking I had already checked out happened at one of the larger chains.
It almost seems as if the review score is restricted by the star rating of the hotel, but if that's so and a two star hotel gets a three star review, shouldn't the rating go from average to excellent, relative to what you are paying for? I've paid five star prices and had worse stays. If you have to visit on business regularly, or have friends and family in town, it's likely you just need a clean and warm place to sleep. If that's the case, in terms of staff, rooms, parking and local restaurants/attractions, I defy you to find someplace comparable. The next best option is Hotel Viger on St. Hubert, and that was recommended by the staff at the Manoir when they were full.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews