We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
40
42
14
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
42
14
8
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2009

My husband and I just spent new years eve in Paradiso, during our trip around Umbria. The hotel is located in Monteluco, a small community at the top of a mountain, 8 kilometres from the beautiful Spoleto. To get there, you need to take a small road full of curves, so beware if you are getting there at night (it is in pretty good conditions, though).
Our room was en suite, with a small TV, heating, and with a lovely view. Everything was very clean, although the room was completely different from the photographs provided in Venere. As I had read that the food was good, we decided to had diner there. We were not disappointed: the menu consisted of an interminable list of traditional Umbrian dishes, all deliciously cooked. However, the best thing about this place is the kindness of all the members of the staff. I definitely recommend the hotel Paradiso to anyone who is looking for a nice and simple family-run little hotel with very good food and warm people.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Julia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

The Albergo Paradiso was a highlight of our entire trip. Only perhaps a 15 minute drive from Spoleto (up a windy but easy road), the top of the mountain has cool lush woods, wonderful trails, several hotels and restaurants, a large field on which people played soccor and frisbee, and a field with some market stalls. It was a welcome and shady change of pace from the big cities and the hot vinyards where we spent the rest of June. Spoleto was interesting and close by to visit.

The Hotel Paradiso was a good value. It is lovely and has the flavor of a European hotel. We were the only Americans we encountered the two days we were there, but they have English and American guests regularly as well. We met Italian, French, and German guests during our visit. My parents and I shared a traditional hotel room, very clean with all the necessities, reached by elevator. The main bedroom had a small connecting room for my extra twin bed. Plenty of hot water in the ensuite bathroom. Even better -- our room had a huge balcony overlooking the property, the stone railing topped with graceful sculptures. The common rooms were bright and cozy. My only caution is that their internet station had a slow, almost unusable connection.

I have to tell you about dinner. It was fantastic. Everything was homemade by the fabulous cooks in the family. I would go back to Italy just to eat that dinner again. Fixed price, they brought food of all types (or you could limit it to certain choices). Seriously -- don't worry about what they are bringing or the cost (it's reasonable, I think around 35 or so euros each), just enjoy. I still dream of the millefolgie al porcini (a buttery featherlight lasagna with thinly sliced mushrooms in cream -- and I don't usually even like mushrooms). The host grilled Siennese pork right in front of us, just for us, and it melted in the mouth. Breakfast the next morning was included and very relaxing, on the same gorgeous patio surrounded by trees and flowers where we'd eaten dinner the night before.

The hosts were a warm, friendly family who know how to run the place comfortably. They were truly glad to have us as their guests. It helped that I speak a little Italian, but you could definitely get along with English, pointing at things, and a smile. I was reminded of the way Italy was 20 years ago. Staying -- and eating! -- at this hotel was a slice of "La Dolce Vita."

I almost hesitate to share this recommendation because our stay was perfect just the way it was! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Kee123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2007

A friend and I visited spoleto for a day, to look at some of the pieces at their museum of modern art for a project we were working on. I must say that the help we recieved at this hotel was probably the best we've ever come accross...to begin with me muddled up our train schedule and arrived at spoleto at about midnight, when no taxis were around. The owner of the hotel went through the trouble of picking us up at the station (and had we known the distance she had to travel, we would have slept in the station). The next day, the woman insisted she give us a lift down to the town centre, and told us she'd be returning to the hotel at night if we needed a ride...there was honestly nothing this woman wouldn't do to make us feel at home. Breakfast was good, the room was very comfortable and had a beautiful view of the surrounding countryside (the hotel was set on very high grounds).

I'd reccomend this hotel to anybody staying in spoleto (but rent a car since it's quite out of the way...should you be planning a short stay, ensure that you arrive during the day for adequate transport, since the city is quite dead after dark).

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jms_smj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2006

The Hotel Paradiso, was a very enjoyable experience. The hotel is located in one of the most peaceful and spiritual places in Umbria on the Monteluco hills some 850 m above see level. Apparently the Etrurians and the Romans held a wood sacred there that still seems unchanged. San Francis and the early Franciscans lived there and settled the original monastery which is still active. The place is quintessentially peaceful.
The hotel has a great style, but still offers a family touch. You can't help but feeling at home. Cuisine is absolutely top grade for both taste and variety and will give a true experience of traditional Italian receipes.
The hotel offers both accomodation and breakfast or half-board. Both are great options but the latter is whole-heartly recommended.
The hotel is some 7 Km from Spoleto at the end of a lovely winding road. It is ideal for families with children, excursions, or as a homely base for travelling around in Umbria by car.

8  Thank Pioneer37150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews