We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
US$68
View deal
Expedia
Agoda.com
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,363)
Filter reviews
1,363 results
Traveller rating
485
499
228
84
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
485
499
228
84
67
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,363 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2021

I stayed here awhile ago (see my review August 2020), and ended up again here only because I took advantage of a Priceline deal that said I would get one of the three hotels listed in the special. I didn't put two-and-two together until I opted in and then got this place -- and then I realized that I had stayed here before.

And what was it like? Pretty much the same as the last time. Bathroom grout getting mouldy, rust on the pipes, very dated decor, utterly soulless, fan blowing the curtain open (until I figured out how to stop it). The positive was, again, a quiet room and a very comfortable bed.

And this time more than last I took stock of the price. Even at the discount, the price is far too high for what you get. I can't imagine paying the regular rate of $125. The place is one step away from a dump. There's a kind of desperation setting in.

Also, at the front desk, they ask for a credit card. No problem. But my card wasn't working in the machine; and so the clerk had to enter the info manually. Okay. But when the card didn't initially work, the clerk said, brusquely, "Do you have another one?" I said no. And it was her tone that conveyed exactly what is wrong with this place: the suspicion that there's possibly wrong with the clientele, which might tell you a good deal about their clientele. Nothing wrong with asking for the credit card -- but the immediate aggression that crept into her voice the moment the card wasn't swiping and she asked for another made it appear that I must be trying to get away with something, or that I had done something wrong. The only reason that she might behave like this is because she's encountered it before, and often. So, yeah, suspect clientele staying at a suspect clientele.

Suspect 8, is more like it.

Room tip: The only good room is a room at another hotel.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant General Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking time to write feedback about your recent stay at the property. Please accept our profound apology on the issue you have experienced and for the inconvenience caused to you. What you have experienced doesn't reflect the true image of our service and the hotel. We are in process of upgrading our product and have started working on them. As a company we believe that guests only share feedback when they feel an organisation and its people are committed to learning and self development. Each comment from our guest allows us to reflect on our systems and procedures to make them better. We do hope that your travel brings you back to Barrie and we get an opportunity to welcome you to Super8.

Warm Regards,

Management Super8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2021 via mobile

The room is disgusting! Was killing spiders under the vanity in bathroom!
Walls are dirty looking
My girlfriend was drying off with the hotel towels and it ripped in half!
The bunk beds are not safe looking at all
Would I stay at this hotel ever again absolutely not

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank H8522FKkevinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant General Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review about your experience at Super 8. We deeply regret that during your stay with us our product offering was not up-to the standard. In our business its extremely important to be sensitive and proactive in our approach. We are in process of upgrading our hotel and have already started bringing in smaller changes . It is feedback from our guests like you that constantly helps us in striving for better product offering and service levels. Nothing is more important than regaining your trust and all of us here hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you again and provide you with an experience you rightfully expect from us.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Management Super8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2021

Best hotel around for price and cleanliness. Rooms are quiet and the jacuzzi tubes are real godsend after a long d driving. Dogs are allowed with minimal extra cost. Staff are super friendly and remember you the next time.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cory7206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant General Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2021

Dear Cory,
.
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback about Super 8. It is delightful to know that you found our hotel to be one of the best on price and cleanliness. We are grateful for your kind words of appreciation for product offering and service levels. The team takes personal pride in delivering warm and genuine service for all our guests- it is such a delight to know that you were impressed with them.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits.

Best regards,

Management Super 8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2021

The only experience we had was nightmare. Best descriptive we can think of. Staff uncooperative and refused to give their names. Shouldn’t they be wearing name tags so we don’t have to call them “hey you”?

Our keys didn’t work. Got two more. They didn’t work. Offered to change the battery in the door but later advised that they couldn’t do this until AFTER we left. Asked for a physical key and they said they had to ask the manager. Asked how were supposed to get in and out of our room without aa key and they laughed. Staff were Kathy and Charlotte. THREE hours later and they still hadn’t asked the manager. Took until late afternoon of our second day to get the physical key and even then, it was done with attitude from staff.

We got their names from the check out staff member on the morning that we were leaving.

Room was dirty, carpet looked like it hadn’t been vacuumed in days; pumpkin seeds on the floor; swear they don’t clean the rooms between guests.

This hotel is rated as a 2 star. Don’t know how. Should be re-rated as 1/2 star, and that would be pushing it.

Room tip: Don’t use this hotel. Find another one
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gabrarlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant General Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a detailed feedback about your experience with us. We have gone through your feedback regarding your stay and we are saddened to note that we didn't meet your expectation by any means.. Please accept our sincere most apology for the inconvenience we have caused you. All of us at Super 8 endeavor to do all we can to ensure that every guest feels welcomed and receives services that is friendly attentive and timely.. It is always our personal endeavor to ensure that non of our guest leave unhappy. We try our best to train our people to highest possible level of efficiency and our ultimate goal is guest satisfaction. We will once again ensure that more training is imparted to our staff. I do sincerely hope you will will not allow this to mar your opinion of the hotel and give us another chance to show case our hospitality.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Management Super 8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2021

We are passing through Town after a few days on the road stop to get this hotel the floor was sticky worst of all when we went to have a shower in the morning we had no hot water so we had to leave again with no shower

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bobatkin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant General Manager, Other at Super 8 by Wyndham Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a feedback about our property. We have taken a careful note of your feedback on rooms. We would like to inform you that your experience was certainly not reflection of our usual standard. We have shared your feedback with concerned department and corrective measures have been taken to ensure that the same does not get repeated. We are in process of upgrading our product and would like to assure you that you will find a better product offering in your future stay with us.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,

Managment Super 8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews