We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience - saw a wonderful range of marine wildlife”

Prince of Whales Whale Watching
Book In Advance
More Info
US$110.71*
and up
Victoria Whale Watching Adventure in a Zodiac...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Prince of Whales is the largest and most environmentally sustainable whale watching and eco-adventure company operating out of both Victoria and Vancouver. With a fleet of both open and semi-covered boats, we are perfectly able to match a tour to your desires! Join us out of Victoria for a fun and adventurous Zodiac tour or climb aboard the world-famous Ocean Magic II. Both of these tours operate for 3 hours. Want to see whale watch off the coast of Vancouver Island AND see the beautiful Butchart Gardens all in one day? Join us on our Ultimate Day Tour out of Vancouver or our Whales and Gardens Tour out of Victoria. We also offer float plane options allowing you to travel from Seattle or Vancouver to Victoria, saving you time and energy planning. We are happy to accommodate overnight visitors to Victoria.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took my parents to Victoria and really enjoyed the Prince of Whales Whale watching experience. We went on the smaller boat which was fantastic. Austen was our boat driver and he was an excellent guide around the area and Marine wildlife. We saw a Humpback whale, Bald eagles, Seals, Sea Lions and Cormorants. However Ollie the Sea Otter was the highlight. The company provides all the warm clothing which was wonderful.

Thank Katiebubbles1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taira P, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review Katiebubbles1999! Zodiacs are an extremely fun and thrilling way to get out on the water and enjoy the sights in the Salish Sea! And Austen has been such a wonderful addition to the Prince of Whales Whale Watching family - he is an enthusiastic guide who loves what he does and it shows in his tours.

Ollie is literally the only sea otter in the Salish Sea and we are elated to have him. He hangs out at Race Rocks in what we refer to as "the bachelor pad" since Race is mostly male sea lions. It's unfortunate he is the only one but we are happy to have him (Sea Otters were hunted to near local extinction in the early 1900's)! As an aside, Ollie the Otter has his own facebook page. You can check him out here: https://www.facebook.com/Ollieatrace/

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and invite you to join us again the next time you are in Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ocean magic"
in 103 reviews
"whale watching"
in 344 reviews
"zodiac trip"
in 34 reviews
"great trip"
in 84 reviews
"larger boat"
in 36 reviews
"captain jeff"
in 27 reviews
"survival suits"
in 18 reviews
"saw orcas"
in 44 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 27 reviews
"butchart gardens"
in 67 reviews
"top deck"
in 25 reviews
"boat ride"
in 41 reviews
"transient orcas"
in 38 reviews
"three hours"
in 38 reviews
"hour trip"
in 32 reviews
"race rocks"
in 34 reviews
"marine life"
in 43 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On April 26th we had a great experience on our whale watching tour and we didn’t even see whales! As per the company promise, we can return for free until we do see whales (awesome). Capt Bill tried hard to find whales with the assistance of Naturalists Jessica (who was fabulous), Valerie and Sean. We learned a lot of information, loved the whole experience.

Thank Hope9598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taira P, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and the five star rating Hope9598! There is so much to take in and enjoy in the Salish Sea, even when the whales decide to play hide and seek. There are days this happens and as you mentioned this is indeed why we put our whale sightings guarantee in place - so we can take you out and try again! Our crew work hard to educate guests on board and give them a comprehensive tour with or without whales - thank you for your wonderful attitude and enjoying the entire experience.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and invite you to join us again the next time you are in Victoria and take us up on our lifetime whale sightings guarantee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

quite cold and very loud. long trip, with a short glimpse of wildlife. not my idea of fun, but hey, to eachhis own, gl and gn,

Thank szs v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taira P, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience szsv! We are sorry to hear the tour did not live up to your expectation in spite of seeing wildlife - although given the brief review we are not clear what kind of wildlife you encountered. It can be a lot colder on the water, which we make sure we tell every guest before they embark on a tour and to ensure they are wearing appropriate layers and clothing - even in the summer months when it's hot in the harbour, temperatures drop dramatically on the water. On zodiac tours we provide a full mustang suit, with extra gloves and toques, and blankets. On our covered vessels we provide blankets, gloves and touques as well.

Our tours are 3 hours duration out of Victoria, which we are certain you would have been informed of at time of booking and at departure.

We are sorry to hear this is not your idea of fun - for many guests it is the highlight of their trip in Victoria. It is typically listed as one of the top 10 must do's when you are in Victoria as well.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your tour and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a spur of the moment decision for my wife and I when we decided to go whale watching today. The price was reasonable for the 3+ hour excursion and it was a beautiful day. Captain Bill welcomed everone aboard and introduced his crew. From the time we stepped onto the boat we were made to feel welcome, informed and appreciated. We were fortunate to spend an extended period of time with two pods of Orcas. Before the trip was over, one of the Orca’s came up to the side of the boat and surprised us all. Jennifer was an excellent guide and brought added value to our trip. We had an excellent time.

1  Thank RWBroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taira P, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and the five star rating RWBroo! Spontaneity can often lead to some exciting memories, which it sounds like you had when you chose to come out whale watching with us. Our captain and crew want guests to feel at home on board, and go the extra mile with making each tour special and memorable no matter what we see out on the water. Seeing killer whales is definitely a perk of going whale watching in the Salish Sea, especially when you have the opportunity to witness our local resident pods who call these waters home in the spring, summer and fall months.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and invite you to join us again the next time you are in Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great time. Saw a couple orcas and watched for a while. Lots of seals, eagles and great scenery!!

Thank dicder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taira P, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing Prince of Whales Whale Watching and for your five star review dicder! It sounds like you had an amazing day out on the water, with lots of variety in the sightings that day. Orca sightings definitely do not disappoint and add the element of awe and wonder to any tour.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and invite you to join us again the next time you are in Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prince of Whales Whale Watching also viewed

Vancouver Island, British Columbia
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Prince of Whales Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing