We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Prince of Whales Whale Watching tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales Whale Watching
from US$89.39
More Info
from US$109.48
More Info
from US$89.39
More Info
from US$109.48
More Info
Reviews (2,156)
Filter reviews
1,956 results
Traveller rating
1,563
230
59
55
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,563
230
59
55
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean magic whale watching zodiac trip great trip larger boat saw orcas captain jeff survival suits top deck butchart gardens recommend this trip transient orcas hour trip race rocks boat ride marine life three hours
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 1,956 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

On April 26th we had a great experience on our whale watching tour and we didn’t even see whales! As per the company promise, we can return for free until we do see whales (awesome). Capt Bill tried hard to find whales with the assistance of Naturalists Jessica (who was fabulous), Valerie and Sean. We learned a lot of information, loved the whole experience.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Hope9598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taira P, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you for your review and the five star rating Hope9598! There is so much to take in and enjoy in the Salish Sea, even when the whales decide to play hide and seek. There are days this happens and as you mentioned this is indeed why we put our whale sightings guarantee in place - so we can take you out and try again! Our crew work hard to educate guests on board and give them a comprehensive tour with or without whales - thank you for your wonderful attitude and enjoying the entire experience.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and invite you to join us again the next time you are in Victoria and take us up on our lifetime whale sightings guarantee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

quite cold and very loud. long trip, with a short glimpse of wildlife. not my idea of fun, but hey, to eachhis own, gl and gn,

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank szs v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taira P, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience szsv! We are sorry to hear the tour did not live up to your expectation in spite of seeing wildlife - although given the brief review we are not clear what kind of wildlife you encountered. It can be a lot colder on the water, which we make sure we tell every guest before they embark on a tour and to ensure they are wearing appropriate layers and clothing - even in the summer months when it's hot in the harbour, temperatures drop dramatically on the water. On zodiac tours we provide a full mustang suit, with extra gloves and toques, and blankets. On our covered vessels we provide blankets, gloves and touques as well.

Our tours are 3 hours duration out of Victoria, which we are certain you would have been informed of at time of booking and at departure.

We are sorry to hear this is not your idea of fun - for many guests it is the highlight of their trip in Victoria. It is typically listed as one of the top 10 must do's when you are in Victoria as well.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your tour and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

It was a spur of the moment decision for my wife and I when we decided to go whale watching today. The price was reasonable for the 3+ hour excursion and it was a beautiful day. Captain Bill welcomed everone aboard and introduced his crew. From the time we stepped onto the boat we were made to feel welcome, informed and appreciated. We were fortunate to spend an extended period of time with two pods of Orcas. Before the trip was over, one of the Orca’s came up to the side of the boat and surprised us all. Jennifer was an excellent guide and brought added value to our trip. We had an excellent time.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Rwbroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taira P, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you for your review and the five star rating RWBroo! Spontaneity can often lead to some exciting memories, which it sounds like you had when you chose to come out whale watching with us. Our captain and crew want guests to feel at home on board, and go the extra mile with making each tour special and memorable no matter what we see out on the water. Seeing killer whales is definitely a perk of going whale watching in the Salish Sea, especially when you have the opportunity to witness our local resident pods who call these waters home in the spring, summer and fall months.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and invite you to join us again the next time you are in Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Had a great time. Saw a couple orcas and watched for a while. Lots of seals, eagles and great scenery!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank dicder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taira P, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for choosing Prince of Whales Whale Watching and for your five star review dicder! It sounds like you had an amazing day out on the water, with lots of variety in the sightings that day. Orca sightings definitely do not disappoint and add the element of awe and wonder to any tour.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and invite you to join us again the next time you are in Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

This trip is well worth the money just for the fun! The crew are great really attentive and informative. They really do their very best to find whales and we were lucky as they soon found a Humpback for us to see. Unfortunately I filmed this sighting in video so cannot upload it. We did see Sealions too on the way back. It really is worth it just for the boat trip and the fabulous views!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank bill04kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taira P, Online Reputation Manager at Prince of Whales Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for your review and the five star rating bill04kelly! Our crew work hard to make sure you have a great time on the water and leave you with a memorable experience. Humpbacks have only started revisiting our waters over the past 20 years as they were hunted to near extinction in the early 1900's, so it is truly an awe-inspiring experience to witness them in the Salish Sea. We agree that the views can't be beat which is one of the reasons we love what we do!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and invite you to join us again the next time you are in Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews