We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
142
63
11
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
63
11
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private club reading room empress hotel gentlemen's club billiard room blue jeans running shoes members club old world charm british columbia eggs benedict antique furniture king suite four poster bed inner harbor guest rooms modern amenities
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2018

The Union Club is a classic private club in the grandest sense and an oasis in the heart of Victoria. It is filled with history and grace. We called rather last minute for dinner reservations on a Saturday and were fortunate to get in. The food and service was excellent. After dinner our waiter, Mr. Robin, set us up with brandies by the fire in the library. A perfect way to end the night. Thanks to Jonathan as well for making the necessary arrangements with our affiliated club. We will be back!

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UCBC, Manager at Union Club of British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thank you for your favourable review, Kevin! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

The room is always great at the Union Club - very comfortable bed, clean and quiet. We especially appreciate the extra security at the door and the very convenient location right in the heart of the city. This hotel is always quiet, there are no children or large groups staying there. I must say we were a little disappointed that our not so low rate this time ($149.00 + parking $12.50 + tax) did not include breakfast. We find that having breakfast included in a room rate is something we look for when selecting hotels all over the world and we will probably look for when staying next in Victoria.

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Great location in downtown Victoria

Small Comfortable historic decor reminiscent of an old "Men's Club" which is exactly what it used to be

Dinner was a buffet style "British theme" - lots of selection and reasonably priced

Up and out early to catch a morning flight - coffee in hand

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank RiccardoMontabalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club of British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Richardthetravellguy,

Thank you for your wonderful review!
I'm glad to hear you found your stay at the Club comfortable, the location ideal, and the weekly Themed Buffet Night good value.
We hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Legendary Regards,

Alex Fischer-Jean
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

The Union Club has been our favourite place to stay when visiting Victoria!
We love everything about the Club…its location….the wonderful and included
al la carte breakfast…and the entire property is ‘Grand' inside and out!
The rooms are well appointed, and very comfortable. Classic Charm!
We are always warmly greeted by the Club’s highly professional staff.
On our last stay at the Union Club, we had the pleasure of meeting Jonathan at checkin.
He went above and beyond to make our stay special, and is a huge asset to the Club.
Thanks so much Jonathan for taking such good care of us!!
We look forward to our next stay!!

Room Tip: Every room is lovely!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 34961Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club of British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear 34961Chris,

Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review!
I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed the Club's grand ambiance, and rich classical history!
I will share your wonderful comments with Jonathan and my General Manager.
We look forward to graciously welcoming you back again soon!

Legendary regards,

Alex Fischer-Jean
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Just left, and I must say, I enjoyed it tremendously. The history of the building, and the age added to the charm. Went to visit family, who booked us into Union Club so we would be central and able to walk to museum, wharf, legislature building and cute little shops. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Tr1pTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UCBC, Front Office Manager at Union Club of British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Dear Tr1pTraveler,

Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review!
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Club on your recent visit to Victoria.
We wish you a safe trip home and look forward to graciously welcoming you back again soon!

Legendary Regards,

Alex Fischer-Jean
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews