We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
52
0
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
52
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grizzly bears bucket list his knowledge wildlife viewing their natural habitat magical experience neil zodiac seals inlet sedge blondie accommodation sightings bc harbour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2021

From the moment you arrive in this remote wilderness area you realize that you are truly in nature. Seeing bears up close and personal is never guaranteed, but on both of my visits I was able to photograph the natural, undisturbed behavior of multiple bears, Sedge, Dozer, Charlie, Blondie to name a few... Yes Jamie knows them all by sight and has a catalog to confirm who is who. Not only did we see bears but we also saw humpback, grey whales, seals, and thousands of eagles and other birds. The whales were kind enough to do a swim by the lodge. Having traveled to many parts of the world photographing animals this has been the best value for money I have ever found. If you are looking for 5 star luxury and guaranteed sightings I would recommend visiting a zoo in New York while staying at the Plaza... If you are looking for an authentic wilderness experience, this is your place...

Room tip: all are basic but surrounded by glorious wilderness views.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank photoo2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 January 2020

This was a trip of a lifetime.

We were lucky to snag one of the last tours available for the season, and we now know why these tours get booked up so far out in advance.

Simply put, the entire experience was magical and the half-day we spent in the Khutz was the highlight of our vacation. The incredible views we saw flying into, and out of, the sanctuary were worth the price of admission alone. We had been communicating with Jamie over email, and he wound up being our guide as well. What a guy! Super professional, knowledgable and passionate about the bears. He really cares about these beautiful animals and their habitat and shared so many stories with us.

The conditions weren't ideal the day we arrived. The salmon wasn't as abundant as it should have been at that point in the season so the bears were feeding elsewhere out of sight. Jamie, however, was determined to find them and didn't give up for one minute during our entire tour. He was working really, really hard. Looking through binoculars and scanning the shoreline for activity. We, along with the other guests on the boat, resigned ourselves to not seeing any bears that day, and honestly, if we hadn't it would have been an incredible experience. We were in one of the most remote locations in the world and aside from our boat, there wasn't a sign of humanity to be found. And that's when we spotted a bear. It was a four-year-old they've come to know as Alphie. Jamie, who seemed as excited as we were, positioned the boat right up on the shoreline and got us very close to the bear so we could quietly observe this beautiful creature feast on some clams.

It was incredible.

We then rode back to the lodge and ate a delicious meal. We interacted with the other guests who were staying at the lodge. It felt like a big happy family. Everyone was beaming exchanging experiences in the Khutz. It's a magical place and I'm so glad we were lucky enough to experience it.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank insufficient
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 September 2019

What a wonderful lodge in a very remote location. Megan is an exceptional lodge manager and guide and she also piloted the zodiac. Her friendly, helpful, courteous, patient, upbeat demeanour was present, continually. Both Megan and Jarren always did their best to get the zodiac in position for best photos of seals, eagles, shorebirds and the one grizzly. The initial registration and information was handled efficiently and Jamie's response to initial questions was very helpful.

The rest of the staff were all so very friendly and helpful including Neil, Jarren and Cat. Given the remote location the lodge/room was cosy, clean and comfortable. The bathroom in our building, spotless and the food, wine and happy hour was amazing!! We even hauled in our fresh seafood on one trip out in the zodiac.

The float plane ride in and out was absolutely calm and scenic, Joel was a great pilot! We are returning again next summer and this may very well become an annual trip!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naturepix57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 August 2019

This lodge is amazing. The service is impeccable, the food is some of the best I've ever had (and all the seafood was fresh caught), and the room was very comfortable and cozy. The staff goes out of their way to make sure everyone has everything they could need or want, including wine for evenings and a hot water bottle for bedtime.

We saw so much wildlife, from seals at the lodge to whales and grizzly bears from the zodiac. So many bald eagles too. It was incredible.

This place is very special and worth every penny. I would love to return in the future.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiltedaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 15 August 2019

There is nothing to be criticized. If you look for a close nature experience with a knowledgeable and experienced team ...this is it. Whales, bears, eagles, insights.... and much more. Jamie, Meghan and Neil, thank you for 3 wonderful days we will never forget.
The lodge itself is super comfortable, clean and very well maintained! Neil, great cooking and wonderful deserts every day!!!!

Hopefully we can be back sooner rather than later!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Blackforest1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews