We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same good service and beautiful food.....”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Back again to this lovely spot and this great pub; very traditional but what a ,menu there is so much to chose from and it is all cooked beautifully.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 679AHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2018

Arrived 10 mins early, and show to our table. Very little room between tables, we were told our drinks order would be taken at the table, had to wait sometime before anyone arrived to take the order.
Food order taken and starters arrived . We then had a long wait before our main course arrived, told that the veg and chips were double servings, but were quite small.
Told that steaks could not be cooked blue, so had to accept med-rare, one guest as for med-rare but it was over cooked. This was pointed out when paying bill, but staff not interested. Had to go to the bar to get 2nd round of drinks, no member of staff asked if the meal was ok.
We used to like this pub, but standards have dropped, that visit may be the last.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank philb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Seemed under staffed , service was so slow, not what we are used to, kind of lost the will to complain as it took so long to complete the meal... First visit, ( and last) hate pubs that are 90% food, and only 10% for the local drinker

Bit of a rant....but can imagine a time when it was a real pub.. like so many pubs, all about being gastro .....i know times change but seems a shame when a local sells its soul

Date of visit: September 2018
3  Thank SuzTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

The Anchor Inn is conveniently placed on the main road running through Burton Bradstock, and there is a car park behind the pub. We received a friendly welcome, the service was good, and the food was delicious.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dick200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Can’t comment on the food or drink because we waited 15 minutes to be served . It wasn’t busy either .We walked out and went to the three horseshoes .
Great service in there .
Avoid

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Pagey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

Burton Bradstock, Bridport
Burton Bradstock, Bridport
 
West Bay, Bridport
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing