We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Mayan Puerto Penasco
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Penasco Del Sol Hotel(Puerto Penasco)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonoran Spa Resort(Puerto Penasco)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Playa Bonita Hotel(Puerto Penasco)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Blanca Golf Villas(Puerto Penasco)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Shores Resort(Puerto Penasco)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Senorial(Puerto Penasco)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
9
8
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
8
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolone bedroom suitefun activitiesthe beach is nicegrand mayangolf courselazy riverin townrocky pointsquadbellmantubsaccommodationsrefrigeratormilesphoenixmaid
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

The Grand Mayan and Mayan Palace are one big complex. It’s a long drive from there into Puerto Penasco. There is no little grocery/snack shop at Grand Mayan, so pick up some bread or pastries in town. You’re stuck eating all meals in the restaurants. The lazy river isn’t heated, and much too cold to use. While we were there, a couple of brave Canadians tried the lazy river but even they gave up quickly. You’re supposed to get your beach towels from the towel kiosk by the pools. Only problem is, it was a LONG walk through the pool area, over a bridge, to get to the kiosk. And on-going construction meant Grand Mayan guests had to walk the long way around the pool area to get to the restaurants which were at Mayan Palace. We had family staying In Puerto Penasco. They had nicer accommodations, good restaurant and bar access, and 1/3 the cost.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vidanta V, Manager at The Grand Mayan Puerto Penasco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear Judith D :
We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with us your impression about your stay with us.

We regret that your stay was different from what you had expected. Our goal is to make each one of our guests’ vacations relaxing and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their vacation. With that in mind, your feedback will be shared with all the appropriate areas. Comments like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance.

Your feedback is always welcomed.

Sincerely,

The Grand Mayan Puerto Peñasco Management.







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

This is a small Vidanta property south of Puerto Penasco. We flew into Phoenix and took a shuttle to the resort (4 hours). This resort has the best golf course of any Vidanta properties with many holes played along the beach or to the beach. The beach is a huge, long stretch of sand filled with sea shells. We walked for 6 miles along the beach looking at sea shells and enjoying the low tide. This resort will grow some with repeat visitors and with the addition of a Grand Luxxe being built now, but this will always be a small, quiet, resort away from the tourist in town. It costs $50 round trip in a taxi to get to town and the town is not that much and not that much fun. Security for the resort is a big plus.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Miles of beach and ocean to walk on and collect shells. And LOTS of pools to enjoy! Great food here and in town. Views of ocean and sunsets were Awesome. Staff VERY nice and glad to help with activities and tours. Easy drive from Phoenix.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jackdietzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Property was very clean, pools were very heated to accommodate cooler temperatures outside, staff was cheerful and friendly as always. We've been coming to the Mayan Palace for 10 years now. The only thing I would change is the buffet. Offer more universal foods along with authentic Mexican foods to accommodate all types of cultures...an ice cream soft serve machine would go over very well. The changes made to the main restaurant of only serving buffet was a shock, no one told us those changes when we checked in. I see why they are doing that but I think that will turn customers away. We love going here and can't wait to go again in October for Fall Break! Our kids just love the resort!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank angelarehbein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

First of all, if you live in the eastern part of the country it's expensive to get there.
You must fly into AZ and drive to the resort. Be prepared to pay for Mexican auto insurance on top of regular insurance. Also, watch your speed in Mexico. . .especially in the city. Not what we expected but it was nice. Probably would not go back because of transportation.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank oradeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews