We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
You might not leave.

There are so many great beaches along the Bay of Conception to camp at that you can spend a whole... read more

Reviewed 28 December 2022
William M
,
Modesto, California
Beautiful but digging out!

Beautiful bay but recent storms bought way too much rain - rocks and mud have devastated most of... read more

Reviewed 3 October 2022
iamacdntraveller
,
Vancouver, Canada
via mobile
Read all 142 reviews
  
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
120
18
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
120
18
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paradise on earth beautiful bay selling water conception beaches camp sea cortez rocks desert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2015

There is not one but at least a dozen soft white sand beaches along the Bahía Concepcion which is one of the most beautiful sceneries in Baja California over the Sea of Cortés. You can swim surrounded by fish and pelicans that suddenly drop over the water of the catch of the day. Some of the beaches are right beside the highway and are fine, some other are a bit further and are better. The views over the bay when you arrive from Loreto are wonderful on a sunny day. The bay shows various colours of water, from deep blue to turquoise. To enter some of the beaches you have to pay a small fee.

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank Gumucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2014

I was fortunate enough to see this place in 1968 when it was unspoiled. It is still beautiful but is now strewn with camp and RV site. Still an amazing body of water.

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank Papafish92037
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2014

Jacques said it was the richest marine environment anywhere. It was-until opened up to Japanese fishermen. They were thrown out and the bay is coming back and is well worth exploration. Take the opportunity to swim with whale sharks (harmless)! Great fishing - trophy fishery in summer months. Lots and lots of history and beautiful scenery. See the second of the California missions, the old prison (now a museum) and ancient cave paintings in the local area.

Date of experience: August 2014
3  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2014

On our flight to Loreto, we met a wonderful woman named Shirley who has lived at Posada on Bahia Concepcion for about 30 years. On her invitation, we stopped by to see her and the community. WOW! We passed several beaches on the way north from Loreto that looked heavenly, but Posada is extraordinary. There are 3 natural hot springs on the property and about 64 homes which vary from humble to hotel-like. The bay is perfect for kayaking and fishing. The evening we visited, there was a slight breeze which rippled the water. "Too windy", said Shirley. "We don't go out unless it's glassy!"

Posada offers some RV spots and the "Hostel" is sometimes available [best to call ahead to make sure the owner is there!]....but if you're looking for a place to retire or spend the winters, this spot has a lot to offer! There were several homes for sale in May, 2014 and the prices were very affordable. [There is a monthly fee for generator power, sewage pumping and cable TV].

Date of experience: May 2014
9  Thank edog1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Bahia Conception is the perfect microcosm of Baja. Remote, stunningly beautiful, small burghs of Mexican's and Gringos with cool bars and restaurants, and amazing water sports. If you only go to one place in search of the real Baja, Bahia Concepcion is what you're searching for.

Date of experience: May 2014
1  Thank GrantNeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews