We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whitbarrow
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Another Place, The Lake(Watermillock)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Lake(Glenridding)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
523
265
61
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
523
265
61
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake districtcrazy golftime shareswimming poolleisure facilitiesduck pondon site restaurantguest relationsholiday villagenorthern lakesmain buildinglovely poolself cateringsteam roomreception staffbunk bedsgames room
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 873 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good overall, nicely kept grounds and the ducks were a plus for me. We had a Kirkstone so can only assess this accommodation. All other houses looked nice and would have like to have seen the interiors in order to make a different choice next time.

Room Tip: Take extra towels, we had a three bedroom house for two of us so not a problem for us as we had the use of all the towels.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnsheilat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, General Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay with us. It is great to see that you loved all aspects of your stay and that you found your Kirkstone Cottage to be a great base for you throughout your holiday in the Lakes. The ducks are certainly a firm favourite with our guests and they do love to meet their new friends each week, who never fail to spoil them rotten. Thank you again for your kind feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a short break and we couldn’t have had better. Room and areas all pristine. Breakfast was very good lots to choose from with plenty of tea/coffee. Dinner at night was also very good - couldn’t fault it

Room Tip: Room 215 was lovely and had the sun on the balcony in the afternoon
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pamhogg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, General Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at Whitbarrow. It is great to see that you found your accommodation to be an ideal home from home and that you also enjoyed a lovely meal in our Eden Bar and Restaurant. Thank you again for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A wonderful location for exploring the Lakes. Resort was clean and lovely setting. We ate in the restaurant as the food was excellent, varied and a good price. The leisure facilities were excellent especially the lovely warm pool and very good jacuzzi. Also steam room and sauna. Very clean facilities. The resort was clean and well kept.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jeanberry09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, General Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at Whitbarrow. It is wonderful to see that you loved all aspects of your stay and that you particularly enjoyed relaxing in our onsite leisure facilities. Thank you again for your kind feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

excellent service, staff amazing, beautiful setting and cottage well equipped and very comfortable.
facilities are very good and not too crowded. Restaurant staff were amazing and so friendly and helpful with my disabled son with quirky food requirements. The food was delicious and well portioned. A good holiday all round

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annevirgo164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, General Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at Whitbarrow. It is wonderful to see that you loved all aspects of your stay and that you found the team to be friendly and helpful throughout. Thank you again for your kind feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to Whitbarrow again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Another excellent week spent at this lovely Village tucked between Penrith and Keswick Spent the week in a lovely lodge with our own hot tub! even the weather was kind.Lots of lovely improvements in the gardens and grounds and the Eden Bar is now looking superb.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzyq6047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie K, General Manager at Whitbarrow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review following your most recent stay at Whitbarrow. It is great to see that you and your friends thoroughly enjoyed your break In the Lakes and I do hope you managed to relax in your private hot tub during your stay. Thank you again for your kind feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews