We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary environment”
Review of Overends Kitchen

Overends Kitchen
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Dundrum
Description: Our dining experience at Airfield is inspired by the visionary Overend Sisters and the 38 acre farm that they entrusted us with to produce honest, great tasting food. We believe the best food is wholesome, seasonal and sustainably produced. Our ingredients are thoughtfully sourced with milk, meat, fruit, veg and eggs coming from Airfield and nearby producers we know and trust. Overends is a place where we connect land and table, farmer and eater in an environment that is casual and engaging. We work with the seasons so our menu may differ slightly. A unique rural dining experience in an urban location……we look forward to your visit!
Restaurant details
Description: Our dining experience at Airfield is inspired by the visionary Overend Sisters and the 38 acre farm that they entrusted us with to produce honest, great tasting food. We believe the best food is wholesome, seasonal and sustainably produced. Our ingredients are thoughtfully sourced with milk, meat, fruit, veg and eggs coming from Airfield and nearby producers we know and trust. Overends is a place where we connect land and table, farmer and eater in an environment that is casual and engaging. We work with the seasons so our menu may differ slightly. A unique rural dining experience in an urban location……we look forward to your visit!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Eating in this restaurant today - sitting outside between the pond and the poppies - was a very good experience. We shared a cookie, so we were given a huge one! The tea was high quality too.

Thank G and B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airfield E, Digital Marketing Executive at Overends Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi G and B R,

We really appreciate your lovely feedback on your experience in Overends Kitchen, it really is lovely out on the decking when the sun shines.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Regards,
RAchel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2018

We had not been back to the restaurant for nearly a year after a fairly disastrous visit last summer with our grandson, but as we were passing by and it was lunchtime, I suggested that we give it another go (without a toddler in tow!).

We found a table with no trouble and my husband went to the counter to order. Fifteen minutes later he arrived back with my pot of tea, his glass of wine and the number for our food order. He said the queue was chaotic: he had ordered a dessert as well but it was omitted from the bill when he went to pay, and he didn't feel like rejoining the queue to correct it.

I understand the ethos of the menu being based on home-grown or locally available ingredients, but I found it a bit restrictive. My husband was delighted to see hake on offer, which he found very tasty; I opted for the pulled lamb sandwich, which came with a side salad - and on a hot plate!! The salad (which I think was tiny pieces of cauliflower and couscous) had a copious amount of dressing, which had spread all over the plate, making the bread rather soggy and hard to hold. The bread itself is lovely, if you don't mind white rather than brown, but it is very thickly cut (and filling!)and I brought the second half home with me.

I don't think we'd go there for lunch again - maybe tea or coffee with a piece of cake or a scone - but I felt the food was overpriced and the experience is no longer as enjoyable as it was before it became self-service (yes, I know why it changed, before anyone tells me!). I'll just enjoy the gardens in future......

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Northbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airfield E, Digital Marketing Executive at Overends Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Northbrook,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent visit to Overends Kitchen. I appreciate your return after a year, and we are continually looking for feedback from our customers so we really appreciate this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the kitchen for coffee and scones (or even a dessert) in the near future.

Regards,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We originally came with the intention of walking the Airfield Estate, as it was raining we decided to grab a bite and wait out the rain. So, thankful that we did! This place was out of this world! We were welcomed like family by “Trice”, short for Patricia. She helped us navigate the ordering process and made wonderful conversation throughout!The space is beautiful and open, and has amazing natural light; which was evident even on this rainy day! The food was beyond belief! We had the Eggs Florentine and it was the best we had every tasted! All of the locally sourced ingredients complimented each other and were a delight to the senses! We had a scone with jam as well and it was equally as fresh and tasty as our meal! We managed to walk the estate during a lull in the rain, and decided to have a light lunch before taking the train back into the city. Lunch was equally as amazing as breakfast! After deciding that we couldn’t stay here all day, we grabbed some snacks, and left with big hugs from Patricia! We promised we would come back before flying back home, and we did. We made the trip, with much better weather this time, and had another amazing dining experience! I cannot say enough good things about the food, the staff and especially Patricia! The Airfield Estate is a wonderful visit for all ages, but do not leave without visiting this place!

1  Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airfield E, Digital Marketing Executive at Overends Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hi Sean D,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Overends Kitchen, we are delighted to hear that you had such a brilliant experience on both occasions that you visited.

We ensure to work with local, seasonal and sustainable produce which will be from our own farm and gardens or trusted local suppliers which is great to hear that you noticed.

I hope you had a lovely trip to Dublin and we would love to have you back here again some day.

Regards,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

We are longtime visitors to Overends. We always go there when shopping in Dundrum. We had been of the opinion that it wasn’t what it used to be but we still went back but on Sunday it was back to the old days. We had a delicious Roast Chicken lunch and bought some fantastic cheese, chocolate & bread to take home. The service was good - hopefully they can keep it up and train the new members of staff.

1  Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airfield E, Digital Marketing Executive at Overends Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Clare E,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review about your most recent visit to Overends Kitchen. It's great to hear that you have stuck with us through our transition to a self serve style kitchen and come back to see what we have created. Our roast chicken lunch is certainly a delicious treat to enjoy a break from the shopping in the town centre!

I hope to see you back again soon.

Regards,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Visited with two friends on a Sat morning and although there are a lot of family groups and the noise level is a little higher than other brunch venues and the service is part self service part table the food is worth it all. We tried 3 different dishes and none of us wanted to share each dish was so great. The quality of the ingredients is top class possibly the best in Dublin.

1  Thank Anna048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airfield E, Digital Marketing Executive at Overends Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Anna048,

We really appreciate your great review of the brunch you enjoyed on Saturday with your friends! What a compliment that none of you wanted to share your dishes because you were enjoying them so much.. we do put a lot of effort into sourcing the best and the most seasonal ingredients so your comment on that means a lot.

Look forward to seeing you back with us again.

Regards,
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Overends Kitchen also viewed

Dundrum, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dundrum, County Dublin
 

Been to Overends Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing