We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
251
79
16
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
79
16
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zipolite beach west end of the beach tuna whole week nice pool area great music a king size bed shower and toilet dirt road on site restaurant hot water seafood mosquito netting every morning nice place laid back yoga
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Really really good place go stay with your couple, room amazing, a doc with the nudist concept of the zone, private if you like so, depends on you, food above the average, good service, just the pool was under maintenance and nobody advice that, beach almost private, and you can buy really good stuff with local people that pass by

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TrailBlazer186817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

El Alquimista's location at the end of the beach is very quiet and relaxing. It is especially enjoyable during the day and it is an enjoyable and scenic walk to the center of town. At night we found it to be a big drawback as we did not want to walk the stretch of beach in total darkness so we had to resort to taking a taxi. We only ate at the on site restaurant once. It was good, but more expensive than some of the places in town.
The accommodations are very basic with no place to put your clothes and no chairs to sit on inside. The chairs outside are are not very comfortable. We made the mistake of sitting outside the first night and got a lot of insect bites. They do have hot water - VERY HOT! - so you need to be careful. For the price we paid we were disappointed with the room we had.
Overall we were happy with our stay and enjoyed the experience, but if we return to Zipolite we would pick a different hotel closer to the center of town.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 2fromBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Great place for disconnect from the world, great location by the beach with spectacular seafront with an amazing wave sound like a natural mantra wich lead you to an absolute stay of relax just a few hours of getting there.

Room tip: Ask for the new section rooms, they are just building them and they are amazing
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We stayed 4 nights in the room above the restaurant. Nice location at the end of the beach. Few people swim due to undercurrents but there is a small pool back out of the way that few ever use. Our room was large and basic with great views and thankfully air conditioning. There are no screens on the sliding doors and no ceiling fan; hence mosquito screening surrounding the bed. With sliding doors open to help cool your room you would be badly bitten by mosquitos. A/C therefore is a must. There is no enclosed closet or space to hang clothes, put away a suitcase, store personal belongings, etc. It is more like a big open book case. The bathroom sink has a copper pipe extending out the wall then one industrial shut off valve and a 90 degree copper elbow bending down to the sink. The end of the copper tube is crudely squeezed to limit flow. In other words there is no hot water period let alone a proper cold water tap for the bathroom sink. In the room here are two canvas sling chairs that one can normally buy for about $20 each. There is a large wooden "sofa" about 6 feet long and 30 inches deep, with a thin mattress, more for sleeping if one was desperate. It is not a sofa one can sit back on as it is too deep and too low. Unfortunately, on the Zipolite beach there is not anything better. This hotel is tired and desperately in need of updating and TLC. Our room was 1850 pesos a night!

Room tip: At least have air conditioning or bug spray.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my husband had the best massage ever here! We defenately recommend coming here, the service is friendly and the atmosphere is purely relaxing.You will love it, promise! They have good food and serve awesome alcoholic beverages. We can here for breakfast and stayed for longer then expected!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank v3r0n1ca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews