We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place and food! ”

Trujillos Cantina De Selva
Ranked #174 of 1,388 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: US$25 - US$76
Description: En Esencia todo está conectado. En Trujillos trabajamos fuerte para que todos tus sentidos se conecten al ritmo de la naturaleza. Ven a experimentar un lugar lleno de sabores, aromas, texturas y diseños. Un espacio unico con un ambiente magico que te hara sentir como en lo mas profundo de la madre naturaleza.
Restaurant details
Description: En Esencia todo está conectado. En Trujillos trabajamos fuerte para que todos tus sentidos se conecten al ritmo de la naturaleza. Ven a experimentar un lugar lleno de sabores, aromas, texturas y diseños. Un espacio unico con un ambiente magico que te hara sentir como en lo mas profundo de la madre naturaleza.
Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

We found this place on Yelp after searching for places to have dinner while in Playa. From the time we arrived to the time we left, everyone made it a great experience for us. We loved the vibe here and the food. Carlos served us and was fantastic!! We highly recommend the rib guacamole special and the Mexican corn- they were out of this world!!! We also were fortunate enough to meet the bartender Alex who came over and made special custom drinks for me as I was celebrating my birthday. He is a one of a kind bartender and we were sad that we wouldn't be here another night to come see them again. Definitely recommend trying out this place while in the area!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank danav986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trujillos Cantina De Selva, Director General at Trujillos Cantina De Selva, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review! We are very thankful of your comments and recommendations. Much appreciated. Looking forward to have you back soon!

Greetings from the Caribbean from all the Trujillos Cantina De Selva Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2021

I can't get enough of this place. We stopped by on a whim (so glad we did) our first trip to Playa and loved their cocktails. Part of the reason we came back to PDC a second time was because of this place. We missed the scenery, atmosphere, and hospitality. You're surrounded by lush trees and tropical plants. The lights are warm and spaced out giving the area a very romantic vibe, along with the local incense they burn. Service is incredibly attentive and they take covid measures seriously.

If you get a chance, have Gracia (or Grace) make your drinks. They're FANTASTIC! Their menu drinks are tasty, using fresh and local ingredients. We found this place to make one of the best old fashions in town. My go to was getting a whisky sour, Gracia made it perfectly.

The food is delicious, I recommend the rock shrimp. A bowl filled with the freshest shrimp tossed in a delightful spicy sauce. They have a nice selection of appetizers, salads, and main courses. Try to save room for desert if you can!

Tip: The upper level restaurant is open Thu-Sun. Make a reservation and request the table in the corner overlooking the restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pokeychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trujillos Cantina De Selva, Director General at Trujillos Cantina De Selva, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much Kile for your review! We are very thankful of your comments and recommendations. Much appreciated. Looking forward to have you back soon!

Greetings from the Caribbean from all the Trujillos Cantina De Selva Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021 via mobile

Incredible atmosphere, unique decor and great food. Stumbled upon this place and feeling blessed we did so!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank brianne92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trujillos Cantina De Selva, Director General at Trujillos Cantina De Selva, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much Brianna F for your review! We are very thankful of your comments and recommendations. Much appreciated. Looking forward to have you back soon!

Greetings from the Caribbean from all the Trujillos Cantina De Selva Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

Fantastic mixologist our mixo was Grace tell her your flavor liking and presto done... But all their mixologist is freaking awesome.. I believe the head Mixo is Alex Sanchez.. wow blown away drinks fantastic!!

The vibe chill and DJ plays chilled house music Ibiza style and food amazing.. they server food on a chard wood plank.. food is reasonably priced.. Grilled Octopus, Ribeye tostada, Tempura Rock Shrimp, and the short ribs appetizer - All of it was Bomb..

Service is very attentive.. Covid regulations - temperatures check and hand sanitizers before entering..

Been here three times in during our 7 days stay Playa and will definitely coming back one more time before we head back to the states..

Tip: come around 7:00 pm to 8:30 ish if you want to sit at the bar..

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank 5765Laaalaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trujillos Cantina De Selva, Director General at Trujillos Cantina De Selva, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much 5765Laala for your review! We are very thankful of your comments and recommendations. Much appreciated. Looking forward to have you back soon!

Greetings from the Caribbean from all the Trujillos Cantina De Selva Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2020

Dinning here was an experience, the copal (local incense) scent was a great to stimulate senses and enjoy dinner. The cocktails prepared with local ingredients and the forest feeling ambience rounded it up.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank JAV060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trujillos Cantina De Selva, Director General at Trujillos Cantina De Selva, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much JAV060 for your review! We are very thankful of your comments and recommendations. Much appreciated. Looking forward to have you back soon!

Greetings from the Caribbean from all the Trujillos Cantina De Selva Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trujillos Cantina De Selva also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Trujillos Cantina De Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.