We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sun Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$510
US$467
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$664
US$632
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$712
US$568
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
US$783
US$723
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mezcal Hostel(Cancun)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mayan Monkey Hostel(Cancun)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$360
US$232
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$504
US$315
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$800
US$475
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$455
US$327
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,574)
Filter reviews
6,574 results
Traveller rating
4,812
1,243
361
101
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,812
1,243
361
101
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge leveloriental loungesteakel alamopablo winklerla trattoitalian restaurantlobby baralamo restaurantroom serviceconcierge dinnerour honeymoonchef's dinnerresort creditactivity poolfire showdinner on the beach
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 6,574 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I are just home 28/4/18. This holiday was for our honeymoon. With a full day of travelling and 10 hour flight it was 100% worth it.
We had an amazing holiday staying in the sun palace.
from walking through the door greeted my friendly staff, handed fresh flowers and drinks. Our room was beautiful. Big, bright, very clean and a stunning view of the ocean.
We loved the pool and the entertainment throughout the day with the pool staff, especially Jay (jayro) he always had a pleasant smile and made our days fun.
The pool snack bar was so yummy great menu and great food, we had a waiter from the pool called Daniel (Dany Joseph) he was so pleasant and couldnt do enough for us. We didn't have move the whole day, he brought lunch and snacks to us and any drink we wanted. These two guys made our holiday amazing. We loved seeing their faces and at the end of the holiday we were sad to say goodbye.

Hotel right on the beach and a stunning beach at that.

Every night we ate out at one of the four restaurants and we loved them all. Our favourite though was the Italian (room service was great too )
In the Italian we got great seats in the glass conservatory the food and service was fantastic a waiter called (Jussie) who sense of humour was brilliant, he was so attentive - there were also two other staff in the Italian who were so attentive and helpful and they were Ivan and Miguel.

We had a couples massage which was so great and relaxing that was an amazing way to end a brilliant holiday
All of the staff in this resort were amazing

I will highly recommend this hotel and we will miss those friendly faces! We will definitely be back hopefully sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jritchie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_At_HotelZone, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

There is no better way to let clear how much you enjoyed the experience than saying it made worth the whole trip which wasn't short at all. I know how tiring traveling can be... Airports, customs, connections, fly time. Even waiting for your luggage becomes a nightmare after all the previous ones. I am glad to read the whole experience made worth the time invested.

I am also happy to know you had a great culinary experience at La Tratto, our Italian restaurant. We work tirelessly to ensure not only the menu but also the service and attention you receive are up to your expectations. I will be happy to share your positive feedback with Jussif, Ivan, and Miguel.

Thank you for recommending us, your confidence is quite important to us as we look forward to welcoming you back again, as you mention, sooner than later.

All the best,
pwinkler@palaceresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel far exceeded our expectations - first class all round, food, accommodations, entertainment. First time we had been to all inclusive hotel and fully expected to be disappointed after recent first class cruises

Room Tip: get ab ocean balcony if possibln
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank neil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_At_HotelZone, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We appreciate your feedback and feel glad to know Sun Palace has met all of your expectations succesfully. It is our commitment to ensure you spend the most pleasant vacation experience, thank you for choosing us, we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Cordially,
pwinkler@palaceresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location was perfect, my boyfriend and I didn’t plan on leaving the resort and going in downtown - if that is your game plan, this place is perfect for you.

It’s away from the typical Cancun “party scene” but by no means, is this place a snoozefest. They have your typical pool activities like bingo, volleyball, paddle board yoga and water aerobics. They had karaoke, beach party, etc. This place seemed to have a more younger couple crowd which was nice.

Every single staff we encountered was super pleasant. Especially Daniel from the pool, he was such a delight. We only ever stayed at the main pool where the swim up bar is, most of the loungers were gone by 9am - there were a few couples that would reserve chairs by the pool, in the pool and on the beach which was a little excessive but for the most part there wasn’t too many loungers that were being reserved and unattended for long periods of time (which can happen at most resorts).

The food was good too, much better than other resorts that I have previously stayed at. The Thai and Steak were our favourites and so delicious.

The beach was beautiful, many loungers available and it was nice from time to time to go down into the ocean and play in the waves to cool down.

The room was super spacious and we had an ocean view, overlooking the main pool. Bed was comfortable and massive!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jsc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_At_HotelZone, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am pleasantly surprised to know you found our location pretty convenient. Although I agree with you when you say it is away from the "party scene" I would also like to agree that those interested in participating on it may also take advantage of the public bus system which is very efficient and economic.

Daniel is one of our most recognized collaborators. He receives plenty of positive feedback at TripAdvisor and we are proud to have him collaborating with us, helping us to reach all of our goals and accomplishing our patron's satisfaction.

Thank you so much for choosing Sun Palace, I hope to see you around once again soon.

Warm regards,
pwinkler@palaceresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We returned back here to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary between 28th March and Apr 6th 2018. ( we spent our honeymoon here as well) despite of the very long flight from Hungary. We had a wonderful stay here again. Everybody was very nice. The ocean was beautiful, we had a wonderful weather. We stayed there during the spring break therefore it wasn’t crowded at all. The selection for breakfast is incredible. The fruits, the cold food, pancakes, eggs, etc... I am sure everybody can choose something if hungry. We spent our days mainly on lounges by the sea. We didn’ t fancy to sit by the pool , but we saw there were plenty of free chairs there too. We tried El Alamo , the italian, the mexican and the grill restaurant for dinner. Our favourite was the grill. Nice cuts, salads, erc. Unfortunately, on our last 2 days it had been moved to the mexican restaurant, because there was maintenance work by the quiet pool including the grill. The steaks were not as good as it used to be , but they were still nice. ( missing the smoke taste) .
I can agree with some previous comments, the hotel is a bit outworn, but still very clean. We could even buy the hotel own fragrance in the form of home fragrance sticks for resort credit.
One evening returning back to our room after the dinner ( and the turn down service) we noticed the tap was dripping in the jacuzzi. It couldn’t have been repaired for 2 days so we have been moved to another room . ( the 3rd one, because the 2nd one has the same problem) They managed this in a very professional way.
Before our arrival we had a very thorugh e mail conversation regarding our stay. ( celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary). We were asked about the exact date at the check in as well. We celebrated our anniversary on our last night at the hotel. Unfortunately, on the exact date there wasn’t any surprise, not even a Happy anniversary sign as we could see on the Tripadvisor. Even the turn down service was missing. We dont want to be greedy just somehow we expected a bit surprise. But this was the only one negative thing during our stay. We can’t wait to go back this wonderful hotel again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Zita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_At_HotelZone, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your very kind comments with us. We are always eager to learn about our patron's experience and to know what can be done to improve, your feedback is greatly appreciated!

We are constantly improving, listening carefully our guest's comments and gathering as much information as we can. Information is a very powerful tool and we use it to improve and serve you better. We hope to welcome you back again soon, thank you for choosing Sun Palace.

All the best,
pwinkler@palaceresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a smaller resort than we had anticipated, but do not be disappointed by that! It is beautiful! Ocean was a bit rough 4 out of 5 days, but you could safely go in and swim. Pools were tranquil- daytime was relatively calm. Night life was more lively- we played poker every day at 6pm, had dinner and met up with new friends at the lobby bar for an evening of laughs, dancing and even karaoke! We ate at The Steak, Tratto and Oriental. You choose what you want grilled at The Steak- from different cuts of beef to chicken, seafood and fish. You can order sides- potato choices, rice, grilled veggies, etc and there is a salad bar to start. This is outside seating. It was great! Tratto is the Italian place with a dress code of long pants and collar shirt for men. It is modern Italian and the menu is extensive. Everything we ordered was also wonderful. This was indoor seating. Oriental was outside and very good too- sushi, Japanese and Thai inspired. Wine was Spanish and Chilean with a couple French- decent. Bar staff made all kinds of great drinks. Signature shot is the bumblebee- yum...
Customer service stands out above all else- all servers, bar tenders, room stewards- amazing- polite, accommodating and always looked happy! A huge shout out to

Room Tip: We had a standard junior suite ocean view. Was not worth the upgrade amount to us- was told you get better alcohol in your room (we never used it anyway), petit fours at night (we got them 2x), 'better beach location' (it is all good no matter what you pay) and maybe a couple of extra things that didn't matter to us either...
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_At_HotelZone, General Manager at Sun Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are pleased to learn you found everything you were looking for at Sun Palace. As you mention, I believe size doesn't matter when it comes to resorts. It is all matter of preferences of course, for all those who find attractive the idea of having everything close by and being surrounded by a relaxing atmosphere, Sun Palace is your best choice.

I am also happy to know all of our restaurants offered something interesting during your stay, we do our best to ensure all of our patrons have an amazing culinary experience, offering plenty of options as we understand we all have different likes and preferences.

Thank you for choosing us, please come back soon to Sun Palace, it will be a pleasure to host you again.

Best wishes,
pwinkler@palaceresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews