We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Las Brisas Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$115
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Huatulco(Huatulco)
US$183
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Park Royal Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$311
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Binniguenda All Inclusive(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quinta Bella Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princess Mayev Hotel(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
US$49
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenas del Pacifico(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,650)
Filter reviews
4,650 results
Traveller rating
3,197
1,011
321
86
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,197
1,011
321
86
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky barcin cinmarket cafebarefoot grillspice restaurantfrench restaurantswim up roomcastaways restaurantpreferred clubswim up barfrosted glasssugar reefocean viewhydrotherapy circuitcoco cafequiet poolcoarse sand
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 4,650 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was me and my husbands first trip to Huatacalo. We are members and have traveled to a number of other resorts. This is on the top of our favorites list! The entertainment team, especially Sandra, Victor, and Jorge were fabulous! I was also impressed with Isamaul at the swim up bar that always remembered our drinks and thouroughly enjoyed the company and education about mexcal shared by Daniel and Ingrid in the lobby bar. Staff was friendly throughout the resort and always willing to assist with any needs (even blending my protein shake each morning by the smoothie station- I forgot my favorite shake makers name) Rooms were great although we were out in building 6 to start and were honored with our request to change. I agree with some posts about preferred status at this resort compared to others- check in, preferred lounge, and overall attentiveness was not up to par with other resorts that we’ve been to but staff like Janessa (e-concerirge) made up for any short comings! We are looking forward to returning to this resort!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank dturco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, General Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Appreciable dturco,

Receive a warm greeting from your friends and family at Secrets Huatulco Resory & Spa. We would like to thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us through our Trip Adisor account as well as for preferring Secrets Huatulco as your holiday destination, it was a pleasure to host you!

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one and that you were highly satisfied with our service. We have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. Your kind comments will serve as inspiration for our team to continue working with passion and deliver to all our valuable guest the best of experiences. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

Thank you for your preference, it has been our pleasure to attend you in Secrets Huatulco and we hope to see you again in your home away from home in a not so distant future.

Best regards,

Angelica Angon
General Manager
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can not say enough good things about this resort. The location is beautiful, the rooms are clean and all have great views. Everything we ate was fabulous!! The staff is extremely friendly, and treated us like family. Definitely recommend this hotel for your next vacation.

Room Tip: You can not get a bad room at this hotel. All of the rooms have amazing views
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank krogge79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, General Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Appreciable krogge79,

Greetings from Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa! While it was our pleasure to host you during your vacation we would like to thank you for taking the time in sharing your wonderful experience with us through our Trip Advisor account.

We are glad to read that your stay was a most pleasant one and that you were very satisfied with the cleanliness our your suite and amazing view of the Conejos bay. It is always so wonderful to read how our staff contribute in making our guests have the most perfect vacation.

Thank you preferring Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa as your holiday destiantion! It will be our great pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards,

Angelica Angon
General Manager
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I just returned from a 7 night stay at Secrets Huatulco. I really wanted to rate it higher than 3 stars but 4 just seemed too high. This was our first stay at Secrets Huatulco but we have previously stayed at Secrets Vallarta, Secrets Silver Sands twice, Now Amber, and Dreams Riviera Cancun twice. We had very high hopes as we love this chain of resorts. We booked a preferred club swim out suite as we always try to stay in a swim-out. Preferred club here gets you next to nothing. The Preferred club lounge is a tiny little room that I mistook for an office. A mini fridge and some higher end bottles of booze so you can pour yourself a drink and some snacks. Very disappointing. Our room was tired and the shower had a wooden floor that just seemed so unsanitary. The view was fantastic though. We loved that as we were in building 5 overlooking the infinity pool and the ocean was just beyond. Pool side service was amazing. Karen was always there with a smile and our drinks were never empty. Karen was by far the highlight of our trip. She worked so hard in the heat and was always smiling. If we were in any other building like 6 that overlooks the swim-up bar we would have been disappointed I believe. The restaurants were average with the Japanese being our personal favorite. Nothing bad at any of them just nothing really special. Our favorite meals were always lunch at the pool bar. Great burgers and fries if you want some comfort food. We found that the common areas were uninviting and dirty. The sky bar had great views but you never really felt that you wanted to spend time there. They should really look into better seating areas. Dirty, uncomfortable, oversized couches just doesn’t appeal to us. This was the first resort where we didn’t want to go anywhere for a before supper or after supper drink. We are also used to cold cans of beer being available in tubs of ice around the pool or from wait staff but not here. Your only choice of beer is draft. They do have a couple bottles of Bud Lite in the Preferred Lounge / tiny little self serve office if you want to take the elevator up there. We found the staff to be very pleasant and they always greeted you with a smile. Maybe our expectations were too high but I just felt the resort was average. Nothing really bad but nothing really great either. Also as usual the weekends get really busy with locals and the service seems to diminish for those couple days. We spent the most we ever had out of all our vacations at this chain and it would rate our least favorite.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank pokes4lee-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, General Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Appreciable pokes4lee-ann,

While extending you a warm regard, I would like to thank you for choosing Secrets Huatulco Resort and Spa as your holiday destination, as well as for the time you have invested in sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know you enjoyed our beautiful facilities, grounds and the outstanding service provided by Karen who made your vacation wonderful. We appreciate your honest feedback as it will certainly help us improve in the mentioned areas as we are always thriving to offer the most wonderful vacation to all our valued guests.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Best regards,

Angelica Angon
General Manager
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Huatulco is very beautiful. The weather is always hot and sunny. The food is alright, not the best, but not the worst. The restaurants are edible but the ones I suggest you do try for dinner are:
Spice/ Bordeaux/ Cataways and Oceana. The rest I feel you can trully avoid. Breakfast and lunch I reccomend the buffet. Entertainment is alright, they play archery, aqua aerobics, pool volleyball, soccer and paddle board. The music definetly needs improvement. The night time entertainment is alright but short. Desire nightclub is a ghost town. The average age here is 45+ but the odd younger couples are here too. A special shout out goes to:
Sandra in the entertainment
Eric at Bordeaux
Fillipe & Christina at Spice
If your looking for hot beautiful relaxation and phenomenal views this is the place for you.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, General Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Appreciable Mike C,

We would like to thank you for selecting Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa as your holiday destination as well as the time in sharing your experience with us through our Trip Advisor account.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the wonderful weather Huatulco has to offer. Thank you for highlighting the services from Sandra, Erick, Felipe and Christina who contributed in making your stay perfectl. We greatly appreciate all of your kind and positive feedback as we always like to strive for more, your comments are a great input to continue working in designated areas so we may always complete our goal of an exceptional vacation.

It was a great pleasure to host you in this beautiful destination as it will be our pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.

Best regards,

Angelica Angon
General Manager
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently had a wonderful vacation at the Secrets resort in Huatulco, Mexico. We had a great time. Just after arriving at the airport on our drive to the resort we experienced a large protest which blocked the road. We had to get out of the bus and walk across the protest line. Hundreds of vehicles were unable to move. We were tired and cranky from our travels. However when we learned why the local people were protesting we were 100% on their side and we hope their ongoing problems can be resolved. Our vacation was fabulous. There is great snorkeling to the left of the resort. We saw many species. Most of the restaurants were excellent. We loved the filet mignon at the French and Italian restaurants. The bars were good although most did not have the high end stock we had expected. A couple of the smaller bars did. The service was good and the resort was clean. We will definitely return. We would especially like to thank Roberto, Alexandro and Sandra who ran the entertainment and activies. They work so hard. Roberto could be seen in the Skybar running Karaoke and many other things, introducing tours for the birdwatching, running the evening entertainment etc. He is very very hard working as were the other entertainment and activity staff. A special call out to the wonderful Cesar who we saw working at the lounge bar and the Skybar. He is a lovely, intelligent person who made us feel so welcome and appreciated. There were so many other wonderful people who work at the resort but those are the names I can remember. We can't wait to return !!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank DougDoug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, General Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Appreciable DougDoug H,

On behalf of the entire team of Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on TripAdvisor, regarding your last stay in Huatulco.

We are happy to know that your experience at Secrets Huatulco was excellent and that you enjoyed your stay with us for the amazing attention and quality of the services that were provided to you during your vacation. It is great to know that our staff contributed to make your stay extra special and delighted to know how much you enjoyed our luxuries facilities and al la Carte restaurants. I will be glad to share your message with the entertainment team and entire staff at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa who I am sure will be happy to know that you have remembered them.

We are sorry to hear your first few minutes into this beautiful destination we not pleasant but the amazing services and your experience at our hotel made up for it.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Angelica Angon
General Manager
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews