We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
108
43
16
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
43
16
10
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here Aug 2013 as a base for my sister's wedding. The place itself is a bit remote, no cabs etc (must hire car if you visit!) but as such you really appreciate the rustic, rural charm of the area. The hotel is immediately lovely, the old white painted buildings just ooze old fashioned charm. Inside, a modest concierge and dining area and lovely stone area with pergola outdoors. The wonderful chef Luigi and his team of waiting staff are really friendly and attentive, and though the menu is the same every night, its always delightful and plenty!! The breakfast isn't extensive but at the time we went, hot and dry, the simple cereals, cakes, breads, cheese and fruit were absolutely sufficient for us. The only criticism I have is that if travelling with young children this isn't the most child friendly of hotels..the staff are great and do their best to adapt but essentially this isn't a hotel that caters to children. We found the pool a bit far from our rooms, so running back for forgotten trunks or snacks tedious and in the end carried everything with us which meant always carrying a load!! That being said, it is a lovely clean pool when you get there and no sunbed hogs -hooray!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yummyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our room in a trulli was beautifully furnished and clean but the hotel was deserted and lacked any atmosphere. We had the swimming pool and breakfast restaurant to ourselves which were delightful locations but lacked fellow guests. There is no restaurant on site but the one recommended by Gino 5 minutes drive away was good value for money. We were disappointed that use of the hot tub was extra.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieofDartmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We arrived for our overnight stay after cycling 85kms from Matera in 34C. Gino, the wonderfully friendly manager welcomed us as heroes and gave us cold drinks. His English is perfect and he said we would be very happy to relax here! We stayed in a trullo and loved the cool dark room. Great to see a jug with organic tea bags offered! The swimming pool is wonderful and there are many loungers and plenty of shade. As the masseria doesn't offer an evening meal Gino suggested we dine at a pizzeria 2kms away and that he would drive us! Wow. As it happened, a young Swiss couple, who were guests, were going to the same restaurant so offered to take us in their car which was very kind. Cannot remember the name of the restaurant but it served excellent pizzas to us all. Gino said we could have early breakfast to get on the road to cycle to Porto Cesareo. The breakfast is served in a very interesting room with olive press and milling stones? The food was delicious with normal Italian fare. The lovely waitress made us tasty omelettes. Grazie Gino and your staff. You really know now to welcome guests and make them feel special!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the trulli!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a difficult review to write. We really liked our room (two beautiful trulli) and the masseria's set-up more generally. However, one of the main reasons we chose to stay here was that it is supposed to have a very good restaurant (see other reviews). But when we checked in (on 22 September) and asked about dinner we were told that the restaurant had closed for the season earlier that day. We were very surprised and disappointed about this. While we had not asked in advance, it had not crossed our minds that the restaurant would be closed in September and there was no suggestion on the website that this would be the case. We didn't really want to be driving out on minor roads every evening to find a restaurant and to not be able to drink and so we reluctantly checked out after two nights having booked four. To be fair to the hotel, they were very good about this.

One other criticism, though, was that the breakfast was very cake-heavy, even for Italy! We would have been very pleased to have been served them for afternoon tea but not for breakfast. On the first day, the only other options were some bread and jam, a bowl of grapes and a bit of meat and cheese. On the second day some cereal and nice juices appeared but it still was not a great spread, even for a small hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DB_n_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

A beautiful location is a less frequently travelled part of Italy that is well worth a visit. The staff are very friendly and capable (and working on their English skills). Stayed in one of the Trulli rooms, truly a unique experience. The highlight however were the meals and dining service. The dining room staff were extremely professional and attentive even when the restaurant was busy. Chef Luigi has an uncanny intuition as to his patrons tastes and desires. He cares passionately about his food and the satisfaction of his customers. The dishes use local and seasonal ingredients that make the meals as interesting as they are flavourful. We enjoyed the dining experience immensely, among the best we have had in Italy.

The masseria is in a convenient location but a car is almost essential to use the masseria as a base for exploring. The only suggestion for improvement would be some patio chairs and tables in the courtyard area near the rooms.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank JMLT_NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews