We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
151
265
100
54
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
265
100
54
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedcaribbean fish marketcowpet bayfull kitchenstudio kingyacht clubrented a carsmall fridgethe ritz carltonst thomaspool barcasual restaurantgranite countertopsgreat poolwater toysgrocery storevirgin islands
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I am fortunate enough to live near one of the most beautiful white sandy beaches in the world, but the magnificently clear water and colorful sea life took my breath away. Snorkeling a few feet from the shore, we saw starfish, Rays and sea urchins.
The condo we stayed in was lovely! The salt water pool was very nice to swim in and beautifully landscaped. Was a bit nervous of all the iguanas around, especially under the lounge chairs.
The restaurant on site served fabulous food. Mr. Big Life served us one night. The bar near the pool was fun too. Everything, beach included, was just a short walk away. Because it is during hurricane season there wasn't many people there. Not a problem for me. Hated to leave when the week was over.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melid4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We are Worldmark timeshare owners and have wanted to travel to the caribbean but hadn't seen an opening until recently, a search revealed a week available in September and we jumped on it!
We didn't realize that September is the end of the peak hurricane season, therefore a "slow or off-peak" time for the island. This meant it was quiet and not busy, which we enjoyed! It also meant that some businesses/services were not open or available, but it did not interfere with our enjoyment.
We rented a car but you should be an experienced driver as the island is mountainous and has narrow roads with a lot of steep and hairpin turns, and you drive on the left side of the road! The resort is about a 45 minute drive from the airport and you should be prepared to watch your road signs and use your GPS/Google maps.
Our condo was very clean and nicely appointed. It was at the top/back of the property so our view of the water was mostly obstructed but we did have a slice of the beautiful blue as we enjoyed coffee on our balcony. We also had to climb a LOT of stairs to return to our condo after using the pool, beach or restaurant.
Be prepared to spend more on meals here, weather groceries or eating out. It's an island so everything costs more to be transported there.
The location is close to the Red Hook marina and shopping area. Sunset was about 6:45pm this time of the year and we chose not to drive after dark most of the time.
The condo's appear to have lock-out options and this was a negative for us. We could hear our neighbors sneezing, coughing and moving things around the room, especially the chairs at the table scraping the floors. Doesn't give a great sense of privacy and also disturbing for sleep schedules. The Murphy bed was comfortable but it would have been nice to have a separate couch since we opted to leave our murphy bed out instead of folding it up every morning.
The wi-fi was terrible and we always had to step out on the balcony or go to the office/pool area for service.
Overall, this is a nice resort and a good location and we would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Request a condo higher up or in the building closer to water!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thank for your review Deb M. We are excited to hear you had a nice stay at our property. We are happy you were satisfied with your accommodations. Thanks for your positive mentions of our resort's amenities and grounds, as well as onsite activities. We are sincerely sorry for any inconvenience you had with the wifi services as well as with noise disturbance from neighbors and how this impacted your stay. Overall, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and made the best out of it.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Scarlette
Owner Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

My husband & i stayed here to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. We arrived early and they checked us in as soon as possible. The room was very nice. Definitely not what we were expecting after reading the reviews. We had an awesome view. Our room number was 241Z. We did not have a full kitchen. Our room was equipped with a fridge microwave & king size bed. The adjoining room 240Z where our friends stayed, contained full kitchen & a queen size murphy bed. The staff was very friendly, the pool and hot tub was great & it was an overall wonderful experience. The only downside side to it is travel. They offer free shuttle to the local grocery store the first day. I would suggest renting a car, because taxi to answer from is very expensive. The restaurants on site were great as well. Micheal from guest services was a wonderful help with suggestions & discounts on island ventures. Sebastian was suggested by Micheal as well for the island tour & it was great. He showed/informed us about all of the history of the island. We will definitely come back again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lutasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarletteOwnerCare, Owner Care at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Thanks for your visit Lutasha W. We are pleased to hear you chose our location for such a celebratory occasion. We are thrilled to hear you had a fantastic lodging experience at our property. We are happy you were satisfied with your unit and the accommodations it provided.Thank you for your positive comments Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant.

Thanks for your review.

Scarlette
Owner Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We stayed here a week, our room had 2 full size beds and a fridge, coffee maker, sink, plates, fork, knives and spoons. Our bathroom was huge. The beds were really comfortable as where the pillows. The air conditioner was set at 73 degrees the whole time. We stayed in building X on the 3rd floor. Our view was fabulous. Both restaurants on the property were excellent as was there service there. Chris at Sangria's was always friendly and professional. At Caribbean Fish Market, we had a server who sang all the time. He called himself Mr. Big Life. He was very funny and provided great service too. I liked that they offered golf cart pick up and return so you didnt have to walk up all the stairs to the room. My only complaint would be that the walls were very thin, we could hear the peoples conversations in the next room if our tv was off. The other thing is that the Lobby was not open 24/7. If you had a problem after 9 on the weekday no one was there and after 11 on the weekends.

Room Tip: If you don't like to walk up a lot of stairs ask for a room on the bottom level
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slengyeljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToniOwnerCare, Owner Care at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Hello slengyeljr, we thank you for your review of our Elysian Beach Resort.

We are thankful for the opportunity to have been of service to you and your family. We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your vacation at our beautiful resort. We are delighted to hear your fully stocked and luxurious unit and its great view exceeded met your expectations. Our location close to local attractions and cuisine makes for a great home away from home for families of all sizes. We would be honored to receive you again in the future. Until then best of wishes to you and your family.

Again, we thank you for your review.

Adam
Owner Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The facilities were nice, the place we rented was a little small but we managed. The beach was just a short walk away and was actually nice. Not your typical resort beach. The pool was nice, DO NOT take a tour of the Margaritaville you will regret it. They say 90 min, but it takes at least 4 hours, however the Coki beach a walk away was rather fun! The food is average but over average price, and the roads are tremendously bad.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ToniOwnerCare, Owner Care at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Hello Daniel B, we appreciate your review.

Thank you for spending your vacation at our resort. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you loved our onsite amenities and location to the beaches. Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you all return.

Again, we thank you for your review.

Toni
Owner Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews