We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,298)
Filter reviews
1,298 results
Traveller rating
426
379
231
126
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
379
231
126
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all inclusive package japanese restaurant swim up bar bumper boats sushi manor house omelet station wraps top shelf ocean view the general manager bring water shoes bad reviews the pool and beach area thursday night sea urchins our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
640 - 645 of 1,298 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We just spent a week at Sugar Bay and will definitely come back. We selected the hotel based on the photos of the water views and the all inclusive option so we wouldn't have to worry about trying to find places to eat and get around. I purchased a partial ocean view and when checking in I asked for an upgrade which the clerk gladly obliged. When we got to the room, the view was absolutely spectacular. The way the hotel is positioned on a hilltop in a semi circle your view feels isolated with noting but water and mountains in front of you. The hotel does have some exterior wear and tear common to all beach front resorts, but all the interior spaces were crisp and clean. Our room was very modern and new looking. During the first couple of days the resort was practically empty which was a little concerning, however we learned that a huge wedding party of 90 guests were coming a little later in the week.
The all inclusive package is a must here. We thought the food was very good. Lots of average and negative food reviews, but we tried everything and liked it all. All the buffets offered plenty of grilled and healthy options. All had cooked to order stations. Portion control and sticking with the freshly prepared things are the key rather than heavy saucy dishes. The Asian restaurant was just what you would expect at any typical Japanese steakhouse. We sat at the hibachi table and had a great time laughing at the corny jokes with all the other guests. The Italian place was an upscale change of pace and we enjoyed it as well. They do rotate the nights these are open, but they have a daily schedule at the front desk and it wasn't really an issue. The service gets mixed reviews, however we quickly figured out that these island folks are just some laaaiiiid back people. They are very proud ladies too. So the southerners like us were more successful. Start with a smile and a good morning or hello and you'll have a friend. The pool is exactly as described. Complaints about the bar are nit picky. They had three or four beers (no fruity IPAs). Liquor drinks were all poured as a doubles and had a good mid-to-top shelf selection. Pretty loud late in the day when those around the swim up pool bar get pickled. Join in the fun or you can always move to the beach or a quite spot. We loved the weirdness of the chicken, ducks and iguanas wandering around. But may not be for everyone. Ignore them and they leave you alone. Don't feed them or they will be pesky. The beach is gorgeous with lots of chairs and shade. Very rocky in some places. Pick up free snorkel gear at the pool and can see lots of fish and coral right off the beach. Kayaks and paddle boards included as well. We went over to St. John on the Tropic Tours full day island trip. A little pricey at 130 pp but they pick up at the hotel, ferry you to St. John, then put you on a safari style truck and gave us an excellent total island tour with an wonderful lunch and 3 hour stop at incredible Trunk Bay beach which is ranked one of the top beaches in the world. We found this tour to be worth every penny. Some people we talked to opted for the catamaran booze cruise style trip and loved it as well.
I couldn't imagine renting a car and attempting to drive over there. Taxis at the resort are a snap of the finger away and its about $30 for two people to the airport. it was $10 for two to the Red Hood ferry terminal. We went back to St. John another day on the public ferry ($14 round trip each) and walked to the National Park trail head which is less than a block away. From there its about a 1 mile walk on a well maintained park trail to Solomon Beach which has a remote and isolated feeling. Perfect white sand, turquoise water and palm trees just like a corona commercial. Walk a little further to Honeymoon beach which has facilities and a little beach bar. Other than the two trips to St. John, we never left the resort. Weather was 85 degrees every day. There was always a breeze and in the shade it was very pleasant. The hotel is preparing for a re-branding in the fall according to management and one would expect continued improvements and renovations.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Missionary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Dear Missionary B,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us at Sugar Bay Resort and Spa! The all-inclusive package we offer, is a great value for guests looking for an island get away and we are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable vacation here. We have shared your praise of the hotel and all departments with the team, and appreciate feedback such as yours to let us know of how we are doing.

It was a pleasure hosting you for your recent vacation and we look forward to having you again for your next trip to St. Thomas.

On behalf of Abdel Zouari, General Manager

Berneta Asato
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Sugar Bay Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed facing the ocean and was absolutely beautiful! When arriving always begin with Good morning , Good afternoon Ect. Goes a long way :) The pool area was great for the kids and the beach area was nice . Rent a boat for the day with friends to hit the BVI , you won't regret it . St. John is a must see with the most beautiful beaches. If you rent a jeep you can take the car barge . Much cheaper than taxis! Food all exclusive so I would say just OK :) But some people were raving about a pizza joint down the road that delivers "Señor Pizza" and I must say they were fast and fantastic !:) Now go enjoy the islands Mon ;)

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Kdude1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2016

Dear Kdude1973,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review! We appreciate having such great feedback about our Entertainment/Pool department and will definitely share this praise with the team. The unobstructed ocean views from our property are indeed fabulous and our close proximity to the Red Hook ferry to get to St. John and BVI are very convenient for guests staying with us to easily take day trips to neighboring islands.

We'd like to thank you for choosing Sugar Bar Resort and Spa for your recent vacation to St. Thomas and we hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future!

On behalf of Abdel Zouari, General Manager

Berneta Asato
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Sugar Bay Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

I booked the all-inclusive package at Sugar Bay Resort for my family of 5 (ages 12, 17, 18). Everyone had a great time.

FOOD: The food was amazing. We did not miss a single breakfast, lunch, or dinner during our stay. Breakfast is served, buffet-style, in the main restaurant behind the lobby, complete with an omelet bar. You may eat inside or outside. The terrace view is beautiful. Lunch is served down by the pool/beach area. You can chose from the buffet-style restaurant and the outside food kiosk, that serves burgers, wraps, and hot dogs. I fell in love with the wraps on our first day, so we never even tried the pool-side restaurant. For dinner, two out of three restaurants behind the lobby were open at a time. The choices were Japanese, Italian, or buffet-style. We ate dinner at all three of them and loved every bite.
A big plus for me, was the availability of water bottles at every bar counter in the resort. We did not have to pay extra for the water bottles, nor were we limited to a certain number per person. Furthermore, housekeeping kept our mini-fridge stocked with water bottles every day.
Hint: Reservations were only required if you wanted to sit at the Hibachi grill table at the Japanese restaurant. Those reservations were made at the restaurant after 6PM in person or over the phone.

ROOM: We booked the "garden" view, but were upgraded to "partial-ocean" view, free-of-charge. The rooms were beautiful, clean, and well-maintained. Again, I have the greatest appreciation for housekeeping, for keeping us supplied with water bottles.
I really loved the toiletries provided in the room. The body lotion was heavenly. The kids' room even had a little bottle of SPF 15 sunscreen.
Hint: Bring your own conditioner. (This hint really applies to every hotel everywhere)

POOLS: The pools were perfect. Three large, connecting pools, with an island of palm trees in the center, means no matter the time, you always have shade in some part of the pool area. Water toys were provided. One pool has the swim-up bar and the waterfall grotto, another was more shallow (3ft max. depth, I think) and warmer (might be the kiddie pool), and the third had a volleyball net across the pool, as well as a small basketball hoop, and lots of varied balls floating around. There is also a huge hot-tub next to the three pools, which gets very hot. The cocktails from the bar were great. Try the bushwhacker! Not in the mood for alcohol? Try a fruity virgin drink, like strawberry/banana. I'm sure all hours are seasonal, but during our stay, the swim-up bar was open from noon until 6PM, and the pool hours were 8AM-8PM.
Hint: If those hours seem early to you, keep in mind that the island is not exactly known for its nightlife. Also, things (sand fleas/mosquitos) start biting after sundown, so people don't usually want to stay near the beach/pool after that.

BEACH: The beach is small and a bit rocky, but the water is clear and great for snorkeling. Once you're in the water, touch nothing; not with your hands, not with your feet (beware of fire coral, sea urchins, etc.). I could nitpick the size and rockiness of the beach, but the truth is, not all resorts on the island even have their own beach, but also, three pools and a huge hot-tub make up for any flaws. The beaches on this side of the island are the prettiest, so though this one is small, the water is clearer than any beach on the south side of the island.
Hint: If you have a rental car (or take a taxi/shuttle), you should visit the two nearby beaches: Coki Beach (5 min. drive) and Lindquist Beach (also known as Smith Bay, 3 min. drive). Both have white sands and crystal-clear water. The first is very touristy, and the other a well-kept secret. You won't find finer beaches on this island.

STAFF: The staff were welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The locals may be a bit direct/honest, but they don't mean to be rude. Try not to compare them to other service standards you may be used to. They made every attempt to make us comfortable.

ISLAND TIME: This can be frustrating for fast-paced people, but island-wide you should expect everything to move just a little slower than you're used to. Try not to fight it. You're in paradise. There's no need to rush.
Because of island time, we prefer not to schedule anything, unless we have to (dive trip, ferry schedule, etc.), while we're in St. Thomas. Having a rental car helps us stay flexible.

LOCATION: Sugar Bay Resort's location on the north side of the island, means it's farther from the airport and the cruise port shopping area, but the north side of the island has the best beaches, and it's closer to the Red Hook ferry.

ANIMALS: In three trips to St. Thomas we have not stayed at a resort that did not have cats, iguanas, and chickens running around in some areas. I have read bad reviews about these animals, and can't relate to them. If you eat lunch near the pool/beach, and the iguanas/chickens/ducks want your lunch, you can either eat inside or you can ignore them. I haven't been attacked by one yet. And it's not like the place is overrun by animals. The cats here were actually really shy. We only saw two of them laying on the stairs to the pool occasionally. I always bring my daughter's allergy medicine, because of the cats, but she didn't need them at this resort. The animals are simply part of the island's charm.
HINT: Keep your camera ready. The iguanas like to pose.

STAIRS: The steps to the pool/beach area, while numerous, should not be a problem for a healthy person. If you find yourself unwilling/unable to conquer the hike up, there is a shuttle that will take you from the pool/beach area to the lobby, and back.

CRUISE SHIPS: Upon arrival, ask a staff member in the lobby for the cruise ship schedule during your stay. This information is printed in the local newspaper. Knowing how many cruise ships to expect in one day, is how you should schedule your activities. No cruise ship in port means many souvenir shops, especially all of the shops at the cruise port shopping mall, will be closed, water activities (jet-ski, kayaks, etc.) at some beaches may be unavailable. No ship means you can go to the most beautiful beaches, such as Coki Beach, Magen's Bay, etc., and have the beach mostly to yourself, especially before noon. One or two cruise ships in port means the souvenir shops will be open, and you can shop to your heart's content. Shopping at the cruise port is fun. Duty free alcohol, tobacco, and jewelry, as well as great souvenirs can be found here. There's also a post office among the stores, so you can mail that post card you just bought to your loved-ones back home while you shop. Three and more ships means your fighting crowds in many places, and you should just enjoy your all-inclusive resort for the day. I've heard of eight to ten cruise ship days shutting down traffic, but I've never seen that myself.
HINT: Do your research about what you are allowed to take back home, before you go shopping. Since the rules might change, I'll give no details here, but you might find yourself pleasantly surprised at how much tobacco and alcohol you can take back home with you.

TOWEL CARDS: Sigh. No one likes dealing with towel cards. I wish this would go away everywhere. But, since people like to steal towels from hotels, the rest of us must endure this practice. During our stay we have left beach towels at the pool, we have had housekeeping take up beach towels, while cleaning the room, and there was no way the kids were going to keep up with which towel was theirs. Fortunately this was not a problem at check-out, and I am thankful for that.

VALUE: Food is expensive on the island, so the all-inclusive price worked for my family. I thought the value was great for the amazing food, the water bottles stocked in the mini-fridge, the yummy cocktails, the pretty rooms, the awesome views, the friendly service, the location and proximity to gorgeous beaches, the pools and beach access. We had our own snorkel gear, but the resort rents out the gear as well. I believe these are included in the all-inclusive package.

This was our third stay on St. Thomas as a family. Each trip was spent at a different resort. We have not stayed at a bad resort yet, but Sugar Bay Resort currently tops the other two for value, location, amenities, and food.
I would stay here again, provided nothing changed.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2016

Dear Sam N,

Thank you for taking the time to share and write this review! Your very detailed review will be shared with the team, and we appreciate your thoroughness in writing so comprehensively about our facility, services, and employees for other travelers to view. The all inclusive package we offer at Sugar Bay Resort and Spa, is a great value for families looking for an island get away and we are thrilled that your family had an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for selecting us for your family's recent vacation to St. Thomas. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to hosting you and your family again for your 4th vacation back to St. Thomas!

On behalf of Abdel Zouari, General Manager

Berneta Asato
Executive Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

I came to Sugar Bay with my fiancée for a five night stay. Prior to our arrival we read several reviews on TripAdvisor- some excellent, some terrible, some average. There is a reason for the disparity in reviews. Sugar Bay resort has several aspects that should be rated 5 stars, several areas that are 1 star, and several in between.

First, the positives. Sugar bay is in perhaps the most beautiful location I can imagine. Located on a mountain overlooking the Caribbean Sea- the views are spectacular. You have an excellent view of the Caribbean from almost everywhere on the resort. Our room was spacious, modern, and mostly clean upon arrival, with daily cleaning. The pool and beach area is not crowded and there are enough bars and bar tenders that I never had to wait long for a drink. The gym is more than adequate and again no crowds mean no wait. There are plenty of water sports (snorkeling, kayaking, paddle boarding) available for the guests to use. We also booked an all day excursion on the coconut (one of two boats which stay docked just off shore) and had an amazing time that day. I would highly recommend taking part in one of these sailing excursions. The entire resort is easily navigable by walking. There is a shuttle that runs from the lobby to the pool/beach area but we found it easy to walk the steps to the beach (102 in total).

The negatives can be mostly attributed to a lack of oversight and management, in my opinion. Although they have multiple restaurants listed, there are typically only 2 restaurants open per night, and it is difficult to know which ones they are. The food at the Asian restaurant was terrible- we stayed with the buffet after trying it once. The pool area is overrun with pesky animals. I tried to eat lunch pool side one day and was mobbed by a crowd of ducks, chickens, and seagulls. There are also a flock of seagulls which help themselves to the pool's waterfall feature for bathing. This water then flows into the pools. The bars are often out of many of the advertised drinks. The entire resort did not have bud light for our entire stay for example. The wines are extremely low quality, the beer selection is very limited (presidente, Miller lite, and Carib for our week), and the mixed drinks are preset and pretty weak. I found that ordering a "rum and diet" resulted in more liquor than any of the premixed cocktails. The pool water itself is dirty (likely due in part to the seagulls).

There are other parts of the resort that are average. The buffet dinner is really pretty average- adequate selection with average tasting food. The beach is average. The surf is very rocky and impossible to navigate without appropriate foot wear (boat shoes). The chairs are readily available and offer a variety of shade options. The staff is overall very average. I was expecting a very warm welcome, but I get the feeling most of the employees are clinically depressed and generally hate their jobs. I could break through by talking to them and making them laugh, but in general I get the feeling they view the guests of the sugar bay the same way I view the ducks and chickens begging for my lunch by the pool- a nuisance.

Overall, the sugar bay is an average resort with potential to be an amazing resort with the right management and leadership. The amazing, 5-star features are coupled with ridiculous 1-star atrocities and intermixed with a base of average features.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Dear Chris E,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We appreciate the thorough feedback regarding our hotel facility, services, and team members. We value feedback like this as it allows us to make changes and adjustments.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences here and for selecting us on your last trip to St. Thomas. We hope that we have the opportunity to host you again as we continue to improve on team member service and engagement.

On behalf of Abdel Zouari, General Manager

Berneta Asato
Executive Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

We visited St. Thomas earlier this month. We booked an all-inclusive package for 5 days at Sugar Bay. The resort was amazing! Every single employee we came in contact with was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and we had an amazing time! Great place for couples AND families. We will be returning!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get a room with an ocean view. Beautiful!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jennbbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berneta A, Manager at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Dear jennbbro,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are so delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We appreciate the feedback regarding our food & beverage department as well as hotel employees. We will share this positive praise with the team and we hope to serve you again in the near future!

It was a pleasure hosting you for your last vacation to St. Thomas and thank you for selecting us!

On behalf of Abdel Zouari, General Manager

Berneta Asato
Executive Assistant to the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews