We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
253
194
85
25
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
194
85
25
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charming hotel st thomas beautiful view small hotel water pressure sitting area stayed here for one night nice pool virgin islands king bed rented a car adam hill taxi caribbean bay charter
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Despite the damage from the past two category 5 Hurricanes that hit St. Thomas, this hotel and Bar/restaurant is a gem! The food, drinks and atmosphere is romantic and sincere! The views are beautiful and the customer service is stellar. Everyone at Thai establishment is very nice and friendly. I just wish the person our trip would have booked a bigger room but my husband and I made I work! Other than that it is beautiful and a recommendation for anyone looking for a good view and food!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We only stayed here for one night after our sailing holiday - sadly. The Mafolie is a lovely, pretty, quirky, friendly boutique hotel, clinging high up the hillside with spectacular views over Charlotte Amalie and the enormous bay. They have done a great job getting everything back up and running after the hurricanes and there was no noticeable inconveniences from any post storm damage that remained to be completed. If you are looking for Marriott-style perfection then perhaps this isn't the place for you (for instance in our Deluxe room there was a little bit of flaking plaster on one of the walls - post storm damage - but it didn't worry us at all), but if you are looking for a hotel with bags of personality then this is perfect. All the staff, from Elise in reception to Paul (?) the barman who made me the best rum punch I have had in six months in the Caribbean, to the larger than life lady who served the breakfast were all very friendly indeed. What a lovely place!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

This incredible little hotel overlooking the Harbor side of St. Thomas is your own little piece of paradise. We had a beautiful suite room 108 (ask for this room if you get a suite—we upgraded and I’m STOKED we did!). My jaw dropped as we opened the door to our room, sofa, fridge, large King bed with a “canopy” which also was our incredibly effective mosquito net. The balcony was the best part. The view itself is worth the cost of the hotel room, waking up to the harbor views was the perfect way to start the day.

Room came with complimentary breakfast and the sweetest server, Miss Ella! The view from the restaurant is even more stunning than the view from the room which I didn’t think possible. Beautiful food, breeze, and people.

Thanks to our friend Paul for making sure we had an incredible stay and for all the great recommendations! He took great care of us.

I cannot recommend this place enough! Stay here!! It’s worth it every penny!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

The Mafolie Hotel is a small hotel with great people. The breakfast and dinner is wonderful and the people you meet here are awesome. These are hard working people who just survived two terrible hurricanes. If you are someone who wants your butt kissed because you think you are "somebody" than go someplace else. If you want to feel the heartbeat of the island and it's great people than this is the place for you. Come here and enjoy all the beauty and support the great people.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We loved the Breakfast with lots of options. From Cereal to made to order Omlets. Most beautiful view from the Terrace. Make sure you sit upfront and it will have a nice breeze. Dinner was delightful. We had Fish with Mango several times. Service was fantastic.
The Pool is fabulous with a great view to the Bay, Cruise ships arrive daily.
Our room was a bit noisy, trucks arriving early in the am. Make sure you get a room away from the road.
Be aware that you cannot walk around on this Island, lots of Taxi fares or rent a car.
Take the Ferry to St John, only a few dollars and Trunk Bay Beach is absolutely breath taking.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GutEssen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews