We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort(South Coast)(Great Value!)
US$262
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emerald Beach Resort(Charlotte Amalie)
US$226
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olga's Fancy(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$145
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast(Charlotte Amalie)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$102
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Bunker Hill Hotel(Charlotte Amalie)
US$105
US$102
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove(Charlotte Amalie)
US$399
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
87
6
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
6
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding weekthe property managerprivate beachmagen's bayspa roompaddle boardsspectacular placewedding venueamazing weddingchef waynebridal partybeautiful estatewater toysa great vacationamazing viewsmonicavilla
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018

This was our second time staying at Sand Dollar. The first time was my daughter's wedding eight years ago. It was not only a gorgeous venue for her wedding, but the accommodations were perfect for our family. When we were looking for a venue for our 50th wedding anniversary celebration with our family, it was not surprising that the entire family wanted to go back to Sand Dollar. We just spent a week in May 2018 there with our children and grandchildren and it was nothing less than spectacular. Although the hurricanes caused much damage to the island, the Sand Dollar was still as beautiful as ever. We rented Little Sand Dollar and Sand Dollar Estate and it was perfect for our family of 23. We can't say enough about how the staff made our vacation week so relaxing. First of all, the common rooms were very tastefully and comfortably appointed, all the bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, the outside deck areas left lots of room for conversations, relaxing, and congregating before our meals each day. The grandchildren loved playing between the gorgeous beach and the pool. The amenities of the spa being located on site, gave us an opportunity for a spa day for the girls while the boys were picked up right from the beach for a fishing trip. We also had a local yoga instructor come and lead us in beach yoga two mornings. The owner, Suzanne was so nice to work with, and gave us a wealth of information before our visit. Andrina, our housekeeper was excellent, and even washed some of our clothes when the washer broke down. Mike, the manager responded to our needs immediately, and even arranged all of our transportation. And Chef Wayne cooked us amazing Caribbean meals every day, which all of us girls really appreciated!! We did not have to go shopping, or do the clean up! Truly an amazing, restful and relaxing way to celebrate with our family our milestone 50th wedding anniversary. This is a great spot to use as home base, with easy day travel to St. John's, as well as other excursions into the BVI. The island is slowing recovering, but there are still people out of work until some of the major hotels open back up. Their major economy is tourism, so spend your dollars and go to St. Thomas for your next trip. Sand Dollar is the perfect family vacation venue. It has it all ! And the locals will be so appreciative and welcoming for your business!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ruth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Where do I begin. First off this is one AMAZING estate. It was the perfect vacation and wedding of our dreams. Not only was the house and beach amazing, but the staff was INDREDIBLE. Mike the property manager was out of this world!!!! He helped us through out the week with anything we might need and his help on the wedding day was so greatly appreciated. He made us feel so incredibly welcomed at all times and always made sure we were enjoying the most of our vacation! He ran to the store when we were out of things and helped set up for our wedding and always with a smile on his face to help you! The house keeping staff as well was the same way! Always so nice and helpful and the rooms were always cleaned with fresh towels and toiletries. Chef Wayne did an excellent job on all dinners. The food was so good! My Wedding Dinner topped them all though and him and his staff were magnificent that night! This was a wonderful experience and my dream wedding as well as an epic vacation. We will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mmsr43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Sand Dollar Estate is by far one of the best rental homes our family has ever stayed at. We have stayed there 3 times previously and headed back there for 2 glorious weeks!

The staff is the best. Andrine, took care of all our housekeeping needs, Chef Wayne made the most spectacular food for breakfast, lunch and dinner and Mike, the property manager took care of all our requests with a smile on his face. We had the best massages from Glorianna, who came to the house and took care of everyone.

The home is equipped with everything you might need from kayaks to head to Magens Bay Beach to relaxing beach chairs on the homes private beach. Suzanne and Steve, the owners of the home have truly made this a dream vacation home. I would more that recommend staying here if you have a chance to make it to St. Thomas.
Lynn S.

Stayed: February 2018
2  Thank lynnsabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

This is our 4th time staying at Sand Dollar and it just seems to get better each time and we stayed TWO weeks! I was a little apprehensive about staying after the hurricane but he house and grounds are in perfect shape as always, and the private beach was wonderful.

Suzanne is a pure pleasure to deal with and the staff cannot be beat. Mike took care of our every need with numerous runs to the airport and stores (and even once to the emergency room late at night). He was so kind and helpful to everyone.

Chef Wayne was somehow able to accommodate everyone’s request and he worked 3 meals per day staying late to clean up. The food was awesome and presentation perfect.

We have been vacationing in the VI for over 20 years and usually stay on St John but there are no finer accommodations and staff in the Virgin Islands than at Sand Dollar. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

From the moment we arrived in St. Thomas, we were greeted by Mike from the property who shuttled us to the estate. There were snacks and fruit waiting for us prepared by Master Chef Wayne. Every day we looked forward to the amazing culinary dishes that used local ingredients to include fresh caught lobster!

Every room in the estate was fantastic with no detail overlooked. To add to the trip was that we had a private beach supplied with deck chairs, ocean kayaks, and a paddle board. We had daily turndown service and were always greeted with a smile and Caribbean hospitality.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Eloy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews