We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
149
230
90
41
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
230
90
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate islandferry ridemain islandfree for hotel guestsferry servicest croixwater ferrysmall storesmall islandchristiansted boardwalkbeach barbecuesmall kitchenettebar restaurantrestaurants and shopssea turtleshotel roomangry nates
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Decent food, Great snorkeling and Jets skiis. Island is small, Boat stop running at a certain time so you have to be back early which cuts you off from the night life. Beach is amazing!!! My favorite place on the island but I wouldn't stay here more than one night.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BabyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Hello BabyAnn,
Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Overall the Hotel on the Cay was a nice place to stay. It was pretty much what we had expected in terms of the rooms and overall condition of the hotel. It's older with some character and could use a few updates here and there.

The downsides for us were the pool seemed stagnant, like the small greenish ponds throughout the resort. Also there were no elevators, which in the heat made walking back to our room after being out and about very tiresome. We also only had our room cleaned one of the five days we stayed there, the other days we just ended up asking for our own towels.

The biggest drawback was the overall lack of hospitality at the hotel and frankly on the entire island. There is no concierge (other than the pushy lady in the gift shop area who was extremely rude) to help you plan anything or navigate anywhere. If you don't rent a car then don't bother coming to St. Croix (which nobody told us). You had to ask several questions to finally get a straight answer. The general attitude was that travelers here are returning customers and therefore "know the ropes" ...which was not the case.

I didn't expect the same kind of coddling that usually comes with a larger resort, but a few suggestions and tips (or even just a better welcome than wandering around the paths aimlessly to find the front office) would've been nice upon arrival.

Being close to downtown was extremely convenient and the shuttle was readily available, but we were trapped in a 4 block radius due to not knowing to rent a car. Overall it was just average. Not terrible, not amazing but we probably wouldn't return to St. Croix as a whole. If St. Croix is a place for you, however, then Hotel on the Cay has a great location and beach with great views of the harbor...just needs a little hospitality training for the staff to make it more welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear Jenni920,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Hotel on the Cay. Our guest’s comments give us important feedback on our performance and provide us with great ideas on how to improve our service. We hope that we have the opportunity to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

This was our second time staying at Hotel on the Cay. Both times our room had a fantastic view from our balcony. Was very relaxing sitting there and watching the boats sail by. Our rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The new doors were a very nice improvement. Contrary to some of the other reviews, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location is perfect, a short ferry ride and you're at the boardwalk where there are many great restaurants and shopping. The Avocado Pit is our favorite breakfast spot and we highly recommend it! Overall, it's a great place to stay, affordable, clean and a great location. Will absolutely be going back next spring!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sherpa562093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your latest experience at Hotel on the Cay. It is a true pleasure to know that your overall experience with us was enjoyable. I agree that our property offers a great location and the best views. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

I stayed here for close to a week in March of 2016. The best part of this hotel is the location as it's right in downtown Christiansted but it still boasts it's privacy as it's on it's own little "island" in the Harbor. It has it's own beach/pool/restaurant which is convenient. The rooms are decent, although only some of them have been updated, so it's hard to say which one you'll get! It is definitely not handicap accessible, so if you can't climb a good amount of stairs and in and out of a boat, it's definitely not for you! It's VERY easy to hear the tv or someone talking in the room next to you- so be aware!

During season there are family friendly activities at the beach bar, but things seemed to be randomly cancelled with no notice while we were there.

Everyone was friendly and it's a convenient and inexpensive place to stay. I would recommend, but just know you're not staying at a luxury hotel. If you want that- head to Carambola.

Room Tip: ask for an updated room with a view!
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear Erin F,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your latest experience at Hotel on the Cay. It is a true pleasure to know that your overall experience with us was enjoyable. I agree that our property offers a great location and the best views. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Great spot to vacation on STX. The hotel is on a small island just a short boat ride from the boardwalk in Christiansted.

The hotel itself is a bit scruffy but the staff was great. The suite we had was roomy and featured a kitchenette and bar area with bar stools and microwave. Also there was a toaster oven and a small refrigerator, perfect for snacks or preparing nibbles for gatherings.

The beach at Hotel on the Cay is wonderful. It has gentle sandy entry into sparkling Caribbean waters. We snorkeled every day and were treated to sea turtles, tropical fish and coral....all right at your fingertips just feet from your hotel room......

Our favorite boat taxi captain was Tammy-she is friendly and informative.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank pilotrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear pilotrog,
I am delighted to read that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one with so many positive things mentioned about the hotel & team in general. On behalf of all of us at Hotel on the Cay I'd like to thank you for your great feedback, we are glad we made your stay a memorable one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews