We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to stay”
Review of Turks Head Inne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Turks Head Inne
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cockburn Town
Reviewed 1 June 2017

we thorough enjoyed our short stay at the Turks Head Inne. The hotel is small, quaint and very distinguished with nice personalized service. The food was exceptional and highly recommend the restaurant if you are not staying at the Inne.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beachbum212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2017

I recently traveled to Grand Turk (May 4-9). I traveled alone and really enjoyed my stay at Turks Head Inne. The staff was really friendly, as well as the owner. Everyone was eager to help and made me feel very comfortable. I stayed in one of the luxury suites (#1). The balcony was lovely and the antique touches of the room were really nice. There was plenty of space, especially in the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. The Inne is extremely close to the beach, other bars and restaurants, and town. The museum, the Queen's prison, and other local shops were a short walk away. It's a very good location. The onsite restaurant (open Thurs-Sat) was delicious. I ate there twice during my stay and would've eaten there again if they were open. I found the continental breakfast to be a nice touch. You have your choice of yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, bagels, toast, fruit, coffee and tea. They also provide beach towels, chairs, beach mats, coolers, umbrellas, beach bags and other fun beach stuff like boogie boards and I think snorkel gear. That was really convenient. I plan to return and highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Grand Turk.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Diandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

It is difficult to describe with justice the lovely blend of modern and vintage style at the Inne. The historic elements drew us to Turks Head Inne (and we were not disappointed) but the fresh and modern aspects of the rooms offered a comfort level that exceeded our expectations. Patricia and Rahul have exquisite taste. It was so interesting to chat with them and hear about the journey to where they are now with the Inne and their ongoing vision for the property. It is very exciting!

As our hosts, they offered insightful advice, entertained us with good stories, and always made us feel comfortable and at home.

We stayed in Room 1 upstairs with the balcony. It is very well appointed – the bedroom is gorgeous old world tropical and the large bathroom makes good use of space as a super modern wet room with beautiful tiles & colors and lots of storage. The attention to detail is impressive - from the gorgeous antiques; the luxurious linens, pillows, towels & robes; ceiling fans & AC; tasteful island art; and the lovely sconces; a large bottle of water every day; to little things such as handheld makeup/shaving mirrors & toiletries.

Susie is so kind and was very patient with us as we pulled ourselves out of bed each morning - later than most - before heading to the breathtakingly gorgeous water each day so she could tidy up our room. The beds/linens/towels were absolutely divine. Daily, we were torn between luxuriating in the cool comfort of the A/C in bed or putting on our suits and rushing headlong into the cool beautiful sea. Well, the sea won each day but not without ponder!

When we returned from the blissful water daily, we would wash the salt off in the outdoor shower and hang out in the comfy chairs on the balcony with a refreshing cocktail and read before deciding where to go for lunch. It was pure relaxation.

We did not rent a vehicle of any kind because the Inne is in very close proximity to everything in town and the scenery is quite pleasant while strolling on Duke and Front Streets with a lot of interesting historic buildings set amongst the tropical foliage (and a donkey here and there). Another reason that we didn't rent is because we met Jack, owner of Four Corners Taxi, at the airport upon arrival and, just like that, we had a new friend. It almost seemed like he anticipated our needs. He would touch base with us regularly by phone to see if we needed a lift. He was looking out for us and gave us a big comfort level.

Another new friend is Franky - our captain! Patricia and Rahul set us up with him and we spent a lot of time cruising around the sea in his Sea Fox - snorkeling all over the place - cruising over to Gibbs Cay one day; Salt Cay the next day. On Salt Cay, we had lunch at the marina - deliciously fresh fish sandwiches and conch fritters - and then explored in a golf cart. The roads are rough and we preferred being in the water. If you go - you must head for the tidal pool past the school and just float - we didn't even make it to the north shore beaches. The coral is in good shape all over. Franky also makes a classic rum punch.

Food. When the Turks Head Inne kitchen is open (Wed - Sat evenings), you will not want to go anywhere else. Rahul is a renowned chef (everyone on the island knows him and lauds his talent). He has hired some promising young people that are learning about business and hospitality from a master. Anything that comes out of the kitchen is outstanding. The Caesar Salad made us swoon!

The outdoor Good Vibes bar and the courtyard of the Inne are converted to a perfectly lit al fresco dining room. Everything, from the food, drinks, and staff, is creative and delightful. It is a nice meeting place, too - locals & other island visitors.

Just a short walk from home base, The Sandbar was a regular hangout (shrimp quesadillas=yum) and proved to be a fun place to see new island friends. The island liquor store is just down the alley from the Inne - very convenient.

Turks Head Inne used to have a popular pizza business but it is closed right now - hopefully just a temporary hiatus because of an equipment problem. Jack drove us to a pizza place called Annette's (reviewed separately) that was super good.

Breakfast is included in the room cost. It was enough for me (yogurt, bagels, & juice) but my husband prefers the option of eggs or other protein on occasion. All he had to do was ask and Susie whipped up a couple of omelets one morning.

Oh – did I mention how soft and beautiful the coral sand is?

We were concerned about cruise ship people taking over the island but they basically stay at the terminal area or are confined to their tours, etc. so it proved not to be an issue at all but clearly is a big boost to the island’s economy.

We wanted for very little during our holiday on Grand Turk, thanks to our decision to stay at the Turks Head Inne. The only things on our wish list are:

1. A small refrigerator in the room for drinks, cheese, etc. – especially for days when the restaurant is not open. They gave us a cooler & access to ice, which worked just fine for our needs.
2. Possibly a small fresh water pool or just a plunge pool. It seems strange, just coming from a day in the sea, but it would be nice to cool off in fresh water after the sea and before lunch or dinner.

Patricia & Rahul did mention to us that these elements may be part of their vision.

Whatever transpires, we are thrilled with our choice of lodging and are looking forward to our next holiday on Grand Turk, where we will, once again, stay at the fabulous Turks Head Inne.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Came here with my husband and two friends for a 3 night stay. We opted for Grand Turk as it is not at all touristy and you get an authentic Caribbean experience (rather than the luxury manmade resorts of Provo).

Our garden rooms were small but perfectly formed. Too small for a week long stay (my husband and I were on top of each other and not in a good way) but fine for a few days and a good night's sleep. Very modern, lots of towels (inc beach towels), decent storage space and good wet room with air con. The building itself is really lovely and apparently the oldest on the island.

The hosts and their housekeeper, Susie, were wonderful. So accommodating; nothing was too much trouble. A trip to Gibbs Cay to swim with the stingrays was arranged for us with ease and you are treated as friends.

We were bitterly disappointed that our trip did not coordinate with the bar and restaurant being open. Apparently the food here is great, but we did not get to sample it. I would imagine in peak opening times this place is a lot of fun.

The breakfast is very basic so we did eat out one day to have some hot food. If you are fine with toast, waffles, bagels, yoghurt and fruit then you won't mind but I like protein in the morning and much less carbs.

Grand Turk is a very simple but beautiful place - the beaches are exquisite and unspoiled. Would recomment the Turks Head Inne as a sleeping base. If we return we will stay here again.

Thanks!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kas25Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turksheadinne1, Manager at Turks Head Inne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Hi Kas25Kent,
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our economy rooms are a tight fit and may be more suitable for single travelers. Our luxury and executive rooms are about 3 times the size and are much more spacious. In season, we do plan on extending our restaurant hours and replacing our complimentary continental breakfast with an a la carte menu which will provide several more options. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

We just stayed 3 nights at the Turks head inne, we absolutely loved it. If we ever go back to Grand Turk will stay here again. They treated us like family from the moment we walked in. We met blue the dog, who is the absolute sweetest. Trish gave us a nice tour of the hotel and showed us what to do. Rahul is so friendly, we told him he wanted to see whales and he immediately called Franky and set us on on a private charter (we didn't see whales but had a great time none the less). The kitchen and bar are closed Sunday-Tuesday, we got there on Saturday and were able to eat there one time. It was to die for! We shared the charcuterie plate, Caesar salad and the tuna. The Caesar salad had homemade croutons on it and the dressing was amazing. The tuna was cooked absolutely perfectly. Highly recommend eating here! Joel made delicious drinks! Everything about this stay was perfect. We even changed our flight out and they had no problem letting us do late checkout. The beach is a very close walk, actually there are a lot of places close by to walk to which was nice.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turksheadinne1, Manager at Turks Head Inne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Katie, so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to one day have only repeat guests and wish that all our guests feel at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockburn Town
0.4 km away
Osprey Beach Hotel
Osprey Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Grand Turk
280 reviews
39.1 km away
East Bay Resort
East Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in South Caicos
206 reviews
2.0 km away
Bohio Dive Resort
Bohio Dive Resort
#1 of 2 in Cockburn Town
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Salt Raker Inn
Salt Raker Inn
#4 of 4 in Cockburn Town
44 reviews
37.2 km away
Sailrock Resort
Sailrock Resort
#2 of 3 in South Caicos
52 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Turk Inn
Grand Turk Inn
#2 of 4 in Cockburn Town
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turks Head Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turks Head Inne

Address: Duke Street, Cockburn Town TKCA 1ZZ, Grand Turk
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Grand Turk > Cockburn Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cockburn Town
Price Range: HK$1,039 - HK$3,928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turks Head Inne 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turks Head Inne is located on the idyllic, peaceful, tree-shaded Duke Street steps from the beach. The Island offers a unique experience rich in history, built 185 years ago the Turks Head Inne has been recently renovated and offers redesigned en suite rooms with a mixture of period style furnishings and all modern amenities. Our attentive, highly trained staff will ensure your stay is smooth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Turks Head Inne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing