We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
388
167
57
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
167
57
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shore diving dive staff cathy church dive shop great dive mermaid statue dive sites dive trip underwater photography morning boat grand cayman experienced divers dive locker rental gear diving package stingray city great place for divers
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All around great place to stay and dive. Everyone was super friendly and the dive masters and dive shop are super. The crews actively solicit carrying of your dive bags, BCDs, etc. They are all cheerful, provide great assistance on and off the boats, and professional.

Room Tip: Room was nice, functional, but nice. Air conditioner was great and much needed as several days the heat index was over 100 degrees.
Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Went in August for our anniversary on the week long dive package and loved it! The resort is casual and set up very nicely for diving. Office staffers were welcoming and gave us lots of information about the resort, local restaurants, things to see & do on the island, etc.

Our room was perfect for us. The first room we got only had to 2 double beds, but they gladly gave us a second room with 2 kings. First floor ocean view was perfect. We could walk out the back door and hang out on the porch to watch the incredible sunsets! Everything was clean, the a/c worked well, the bathroom was well-stocked and had plenty of hot water.

The restaurant is nice, although the food is only average. The included dive package breakfast was good with a lot of variety - perfect for a quick bite before diving. My Bar is also nice and always had plenty of folks to chat with even though it was the slow season.

The dive shop and crew are great! Super safe guides and boat crew! Great "towel briefings" and the guides had a good balance on dives of supervision and freedom. It was easy to tell the crew loves what they do and they really made the experience enjoyable! The boats were in solid shape and the fresh water shower and post-dive fruit is always a nice touch.

The only negative we found was the service at My Bar. It was noticeably slow, even when they weren't busy, and a couple of the servers/bartenders were not very friendly. Those were the same staffers that provided the slowest service.

All in all, Sunset House definitely gave us what we had expected and lived up to the reputation of being a first rate operation.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chuckakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma-Jane F, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Chuck
Thank you so much for this awesome review, we really appreciate you taking the time to post. It is great to read that you enjoyed your anniversary week diving with us. We will certainly address the service at MyBar, than you for mentioning this. We do hope to welcome you back to Sunset House again very soon.
Kind Regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Loved this place, great place for relaxing or playing in the water. Great food, although the prices are a little bit high for certain dishes. Loved the ocean view room and the choices for sitting when eating. WIFI is iffy in some places, but overall pretty good!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbey00abbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma-Jane F, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you Abbey00abbey for taking the time to leave this great review. We really do appreciate it. I am happy to read that you loved our Ocean View rooms, such a great place to watch our amazing sunsets. We are addressing the WIFI issues, and they should be rectified shortly. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sunset House.
Kind Regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely night out waiting for the sunset and enjoying good cocktails. Tried the famous cayman drink there and it was a great dessert cocktail! We didn't get the best seats in the house but still able to enjoy the view!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Adapol8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma-Jane F, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you Adapol8 for visiting Sunset House and enjoying our great cocktails at MyBar. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Just came back from 8 days at Sunset House and I loved it all ! The dive masters were fantastic and very knowledgeable. They were very helpful with setting up gear and showing us fantastic things underwater. The dive sites themselves were awesome, my favorites being La Mesa and Devils Grato.
The shore dives were better than I could have imagined. Being able to grab a tank and going out any time I wanted in the afternoon or evening was awesome. There was tons of beautiful reefs and great sea life.
I would strongly suggest getting a ocean view room, while the rooms were very basic, the view of the ocean was breathtaking.
When we were not diving, we spent the majority of our time at My Bar. The food, view, and atmosphere was fantastic !
For anyone heading to Grand Cayman, this place is a must to stay, and I can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma-Jane F, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello EricB
We are so happy to read that you loved staying at Sunset House and we are so lucky to have an amazing dive team here. MyBar is certainly a great place to hang out after your dives. We look forward to having you back diving with us very soon.
Kind Regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews