We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
399
121
37
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
121
37
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews truffle outdoor pool san maurizio michelin star beautiful hotel wine cellar michelin restaurant incredible views three nights a wonderful stay salt pools hill overlooking main building food and wine great restaurant living room junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

One of the best experiences , the place is out of this world , you feel the energy from hundreds of years , every piece is a story . The food was perfect and specially the white truffle , the wine very good

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EliasM1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

This place is a piece of paradise! The location is stunning, the staff very nice, the quality of the food and the wine exceptional and the on top of it all there is a nice spa! It shows that this is not part of a chain, but rather the hobby of an enthusiast from the Langhe region

We can’t wait to be back again soon!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cosmonaut11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Absolute paradise. Only stayed here one night and could imagine moving in for a month. So relaxing and tranquil - rooftop pool is a highlight as well as the spa including salt and magnesium pools! Rooms immaculate and stunning scenery. Perfection.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 54heatherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Recently we stayed here for three nights. We asked to see the more spacious San Luigi rooms and were allowed to stay in the Ruby room for one of our three nights. This was quite interesting. The room is spacious , three times the square footage of the Junior suites in the main hotel. In addition, there is a front patio and a rear patio with a hot tub. The rear patio seemed especially private and did have something of a view of the vineyards and lands below us. Inside was a love nest with all sorts of lighting that could be adjusted with modern switches that we found somewhat confusing to use. The shower in the master bedroom was tricky to operate with about eight different buttons that all caused different events to happen. The phones were a variation on a smart phone. There is a generous master bedroom, two bathrooms, a large sitting area with the desk, and yet another sitting area with a sofa and chairs.We could only stay here one night as the place was booked for the other two nights so then we moved to the main hotel and stayed in our junior suite. Despite a much more cramped space, we actually preferred the downsized Junior suite to the San Luigi Ruby room. Room 107 had a fabulous view. It was closer to the restaurants and to the spa. Oh yes the spa...... we spent several hours here enjoying the salt pool and the magnesium pool and the sauna in addition to the large indoor swimming pool. The spa attendants were extremely friendly, especially Alessandra, Who amazingly learned our names immediately along with our room number. We had a similar experience with the bartender who got to know us and made a good martini. Any downsides? Yes there were a few. The concierge could have been better. We were interested in making a luncheon reservation on a Sunday at an Osteria in Alba. Even though we spoke to the concierge several times about it, it never happened. She didn’t follow up on it, apparently being unable to book it, never informing us that it wasn’t going to work out, and she did not suggest any alternatives. Disappointing at a high-end place like this! The food/restaurants also could have been better. We gave a thumbs up to the breakfasts,thought the truffle bistro was decent but not great, and were seriously disappointed by the one star Michelin restaurant where we spent hundreds of euros for a mediocre meal. A final gripe: no wine glasses in any of the rooms. How strange for a wine centric hotel surrounded by vineyards!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MJH161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Stunning location, amazing views and the hotel was beautiful. Outside pool was great looking out over the mountains. Suite was fantastic with own private garden. Restaurant was excellent, as was wine & bar menu. Would go back in a heart beat... highly recommend if you are looking to enjoy a romantic get away.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews