We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
343
37
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
37
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soper's hole our honeymoon every morning rental car west end ferry small resort private beach full kitchen two bedroom villa air conditioned norman island the sir francis drake piece of heaven grocery shopping breathtaking views snorkel equipment dinner reservations
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

I know Tortola just got hit pretty hard with a hurricane and one of my first thoughts is that I hope Peter and Frenchman's is ok. I've never enjoyed talking to a hotel manager as much as Peter. My wife and I looked forward to the amazing continental breakfasts... seriously, best breakfast ever, of all time for both the incredible food and the amazing and friendly company.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank spdrprime .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We had a wonderful time during our 4 1/2 day stay at the Frenchmans. Peter and his staff are very helpful, courteous and friendly. You need a 4WD vehicle to get around the island reliably.
A storm disrupted our stay towards the end, and through it all, the Frenchmans staff were very helpful and patient despite cellular, internet and road travel disruptions. The villas are luxurious, spacious and very well maintained.
The views from the villa are breathtaking.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ThiruA41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

The staff was amazing and helpful! When our luggage was lost on the way they provided with some toiletries and sleep clothes AND helped us locate the bags and made sure that they got to us. The rooms were beautiful. Very comfortable and homey. The views were spectacular. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on the island.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brooklynmontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We were on and around the Islands for a month in August. This was our third resort/locale. Our only one on Tortola. Their motto is peace and serenity and they met their goal. We were greeted promptly and our bags taken to our room. Peter the Hotel GM met with us and invited us to a wine reception that evening with all the other guests. It was very nice to get to meet everyone. It made us feel safe and welcome. The property has 8 villas but you would think you're the only one on the beach. It's very private and serene. They have snorkeling, kayaking and pool side service.Peter was a great source for information on where to buy things, where to eat, he got us a rental car in minutes. He has a wonderful personality and a great source of useful information about the Island. Our stay could not have been better. Our villa was delightful, clean, stocked, had a TV with Netflix, and the bed was very comfortable and all the hot water you could ask for. The location is great because you can easily get to Road Town in 15 minutes by car and to the North side in about the same time. This puts other beaches and restaurants into play very easily. You're also right next to Sopper's hole for quick provisions and light shopping. Peter, thanks for turning my wife onto the Virgin Jasper which is local and only available here on Tortola. We found the jewelry store on Old Main just like you said. She wore it out tonight and she is delighted and can't wait to show her friends back home. Thanks again for all your valuable and honest insights - we will be back.

Room Tip: They are all good, Passion Fruit had swing chairs in addition to lounge chairs.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Big storm hit just before we arrived. Lots of damage to the island's infrastructure. This resort kept the generators going and provided us with a lovely stay in spite of the obstacles. Go and enjoy the seclusion with easy access to other islands from the west End ferry.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank bean13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews