We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
345
106
33
37
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
106
33
37
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachboat tripbig househome away from homeheaven on earththe sir francis drakehousekeeping staffvirgin islandsanitaftaccommodationsbeachestortolacaribbeanporchbookscaves
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 538 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Joust got home from spending a week here through Huricane Irma , Sadly this Hotel has been totally destroyed. Throughout our stay the staff stayed throughout the Huricane, Hope you guys are safe and well and hope your able to rebuild

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
23  Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

This place is a must! We recently stayed in the big house for a family wedding and had a wonderful experience. I cannot say enough about the staff, who welcomed us like we were family. The rooms were spacious and well furnished with an unbelievable view of paradise. We had 17 people staying in the house but it never felt crowded and there was enough room to allow for plenty of space and privacy. My five year old daughter learned to snorkel on the beach just steps from our doorstep. The breakfasts are homemade, fresh, and among the most delicious we have ever had (and i can't say enough about the 'chef'--a wonderful woman who doted on my children and took great care in each plate she served). My husband enjoyed a massage and said it was one of the best!! The layout of the resort makes it perfect for any type of vacation--from the large family excursion to a more intimate couples experience. And i highly highly recommend "Big K" for transportation. Kelly was our driver for the week and he made the experience. From his welcome rum punch to the tour of the island where he searched high and low for fresh ripe mangoes on the island for my kids. when he wasn't able to pick my sister and i up when we decided to head home early from an excursion, he had another driver there waiting for us. I don't think he has a website but his number is 284-440-1013

Room Tip: loved the big house. the smaller apartment style options are really nice. the top ones offer a fabulous view and nice vaulted ceilings.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jossimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort R, Front Office Manager at Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and made the most of it. It was a pleasure having all of you stay with us, and hope to see you all again :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

3-generation downtime with a great view, beautiful beach, lovely villa (nicely furnished and very clean) and wonderful staff.

We only left the resort to go sailing. Ate a hearty breakfast every morning (with fresh mangoes from the tree at the resort!) and closed the day with a 3-course dinner. In between - paddles, lounging, and naps.

Everything we needed was right outside the patio door! If you don't want to drive on the left side of the road ask the staff to call you a taxi to go for a tour.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort R, General Manager at Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to have you do so again in the near future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We've been staying at Ft. Recovery every Spring since 2002. When we finally decided to get married, our dream was to get married on the beach with all of our family present. Anita and the staff helped to make our dream a reality.
Usually we stay in Penthouse 1, but we rented the Big House to accomadate our large family of 15. The Big House is one of the most beautiful beaches houses I've ever seen. The 8 bedrooms (4 of them with an ocean view) were very large and each had their own bathroom. There was plenty of room in the kitchen and livingroom
for all of us.
We were married on the beach and the reception was held on the large porch of the Big House. Ann worked all day to transform the porch into an elegant dining area complete with exquisite flowers everywhere. Lanterns hung from trees gave it a fairy tale look when the sun went down. Having the fort as a backdrop added a sense of history. Mike and Anita spent alot of time on the menu which was prepared by the Ft. Recovery staff and we received lots of compliments on the food. My bouquet was made by Ivet, another Ft. Recovery staff person. I'm so glad we got alot of pictures of it, because I wasn't able to bring it home.
We will never be able to thank Anita enough for all she did to make our wedding perfect. Staying at Ft. Recovery has always felt like coming home to us, and we are already looking forward to returning next March.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but our favorite is Penthouse 1.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank countrygirlkyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort R, General Manager at Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

We truly enjoyed making your stay and wedding one to remember. Looking forward to you guys coming back again in March :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Fort Recovery was a great place for my annual mother/son trip. The staff was very friendly, and the room set up allowed for one person to sleep while another was awake. We made our breakfast every day in the unit, which was cleaned daily.... my son enjoyed sitting on the back deck reading his book while watching the boats, birds, weather go by. Quiet and peaceful.... just what we were looking for. The location was perfect... close to the ferry, a great bakery, a little supermarket, just over the mountain (and what fun we had driving) to beautiful beaches. My only regret is we didn't have more time to hang out on the property and enjoy what it had to offer, we were too busy exploring!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garetanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort R, Front Office Manager at Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you very much for your review and am glad to hear you and your son made the most of your time here and on Tortola. We hope to see you both again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews