We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (737)
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveller rating
222
291
118
65
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
291
118
65
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long bay beach beach front smugglers cove beachfront deluxe virgin gorda road town all inclusive plan lobster norman island day sail soper's hole cabana resort caribbean beaches villa bvi
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 737 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Came here on a timeshare swap with a bit of skepticism from some previous reviews. Left here with only Good Vibes. Very pleasant staff, helpful in every way. Beach area is long and reasonably well kept as are the grounds. Our room(512) was excellent.Comfortable King bed, sitting area, kitchen, and bath were all very clean. AC worked perfectly as this is a very humid island with mosquitoes during rainy periods. The restaurant is not as good as the dining near by. The drive to the West End is an adventure as is Any drive on Tortola. If you've not been here before and rent a car, come in daylight. And plot your drive by landmarks not road signs, there are none(or very few) Otherwise take a taxi! I've driven on many islands including British left side islands but this is truly an adventure. Up and down mountains, thru revines, with many switchback turns.
All that said, I recommend Tortola in general, and Long Bay Beach club in particular.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martingiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We stayed here for three days following a few days in St. Thomas and a week in St. John. The beach here is beautiful but as others have said, it is a bit rough for swimming and snorkeling and there are a lot of rocks making entry difficult - definitely wear reef shoes if you want to wade out. If you just want to relax on the beach, this is a great place because the view is great, the sea birds are fun to watch, and it is not crowded at all. The beach is long enough for satisfying walks.

We had a beach front room (not a cabana) and it was fine - the view was blocked a bit by the dune but the beach was about 50 feet away. The room itself was okay with a nice walk-in shower and the usual amenities including a refrigerator. The A/C unit was welcome but loud - it could drown out the sound of the surf. The issue with the room was, as others have noted, the bed. As ill conceived as it can be. First the end posts are shin height and covered by the bedspread so as you walk around the bed you either bark your shins (me) or stub your toes (my wife) on the stupid thing. Okay, so we put shoes around them to make sure we didn't do that again. But as others said, the beds are hard. Not firm, hard. Like sleeping on a carpeted floor. No give to them, no real softness. It made for pretty miserable nights.

The food at the 1748 restaurant was quite good. Almost everything we had was well prepared and presented. Seems like some nights are ala carte and some are fixed price with limited choices, but the prices seemed in alignment with a resort.

What brings this place down (besides the beds) is the service. It is okay, but one just gets the impression that the staff would rather you not be there. They were polite and service was not slow, but they just didn't seem to want to be there and just seemed to be going through the motions rather than really caring about the customers. For instance, one evening they turned on the big screen TV that adjacent to the restaurant. I guess they sometimes have movie night, but this was during dinner and I got the impression that some of the staff were just bored and wanted to watch TV. Strange.

I understand from one of the locals that this resort has gone through some major changes (separating from the villas) and changes of management. I hope they can find their footing because this could be a really great place if they get some energy into it. And a strong leader - though the reception people were nice, there was no strong personality welcoming you. I suggest they find someone to be the resort host who can interact more with the guests and make this a happier place. And buy some new beds!

Two more things: 1: Bring plenty of bug spray. 2: Take the walk (25 min) or drive over to Smugglers Cove. The hotel doesn't mention it, but it is a GREAT beach - sandy entry in the middle with great snorkeling on either side. Great food and drinks provided by Nigel.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Telletdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for joining us in lovely Tortola this holiday season! At Long Bay Beach Club, it is our mission to provide our guests with exceptional Caribbean getaways, and we were very pleased to hear that you were impressed with our beautiful beachfront and savory meals. However, we sincerely apologize for any discomfort you experienced. At Long Bay Beach Club, we take great pride in our resort upkeep, and we will certainly evaluate any need for future enhancements.

We thank you for your imperative feedback, and we sincerely hope you grant us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to guest satisfaction in the future.

Best regards,

Long Bay Beach Club, Tortola
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

The pictures look great on all websites but the actual place is not any where near as nice. In fact the rooms are pretty gross. We wouldn't walk on the floors without flip flops on. The bed felt like we were sleeping on a piece of plywood. The shower was old and outdated as were the floors, blinds, safe, etc. We were in a cabana and could hear lots of noise from the adjoining room. Kids were jumping around in the room and our bed was shaking. The employees, however, could not have been nicer. Their customer service was excellent. This is not a 5-star hotel.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sbn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time review our resort. At Long Bay Beach Club, our guest feedback is of utmost importance to us, as we strongly feel each and every review helps us better our overall customer experience. We were disheartened to hear that you were disappointed in your beachfront accommodation, specifically in regards to our decor and bedding. We will certainly investigate these matters further and address any needed replacements or repairs.

We thank you for your candid assessment, and we certainly hope you grant us another opportunity to provide you with an ideal holiday experience in the future.

Best regards,

Long Bay Beach Club, Tortola
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Loved this resort, you really have to stay here to appreciate it. Rooms are gorgeous, very well appointed, very spacious, large balconies and all oceanfront. Some balconies connect which is great if traveling with friends or family. I really felt like I'd found my own little spot in paradise, no feeling of tourism, just beautiful beach, palm trees, peace and quiet. Staff are exceptional, very attentive, service is very efficient and friendly. We stayed early season so not sure how the entertainment is in the evening during the season but it looks like they do have local entertainment come in.

Room tip: All rooms have great views!
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank luv2explore2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

I am very late writing this review (we visited in September 2008), but have never forgotten about our fantastic vacation. The long arduous trip from Europe is worth every minute of airplane discomfort. The location is fantastic. Located on a quiet peaceful part of the island. Perfect to do nothing except relax and recharge. The food was great. The resort is well looked after and I can highly recommend splashing out on a beach front bungalow. When we were there internet access and cell/mobile phone signal was practically non-existent, but that proved to be a blessing as far as I am concerned

Room tip: Try splash out on a beach front bungalow if possible
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mietek771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort! It is always a great pleasure to hear from our guests - no matter how much time has passed! We are truly touched your holiday has resonated with you after all these years, and we cannot thank you enough for your wonderful compliments toward our stunning location, tranquil atmosphere, and delectable dining.

On behalf of our staff and management team, thank you very much for your incredible support! We sincerely hope join us for an even more enjoyable holiday adventure in the future!

Best regards,

Long Bay Beach Club, Tortola
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews