We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (737)
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveller rating
222
291
118
65
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
291
118
65
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long bay smugglers cove swim up bar rum punch virgin gorda road town elite island resorts all inclusive plan soft sand laid back all inclusive option body surfing room safe off season ocean front sugar mill sound of the waves
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 737 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Our family stayed at the Long Bay Beach Club in two beach cabanas at the end of May into early June. We highly recommend it for anyone looking for a low-key beach vacation. This is not a Sandals, there are not a lot of activities--but the beach is roomy, the water is warm and there are plenty of beach chairs.

The food at the hotel is very good and we thought the all-inclusive was a good deal, especially when you consider drinks and three meals a day. Do try the Roti for lunch --it was excellent.

The staff was friendly and answered all our questions. They were consistently gracious and warm check-in to check-out. The chef Miriam cooked fish that my husband caught, and I've never had a better tuna marinade in my life.

Hints for a Tortola stay:
1. Use Native Son Ferry instead of Smith's. Smith's was unreliable and canceled its services at the last minute.

2. If taking the ferry from St Thomas, don't go to Red Hook. The ferry in Charlotte Amalie is very close to the airport. At this location, Native Son has ferries to both the West End and Roadtown.

3. If you are staying in a hotel on the west end of Tortola, take the ferry to West End, not Roadtown. This takes less time and the taxi to the hotel will be cheaper.

4. If you are planning to book a rental car -- the roads outside town are steep, narrow and have some blind switchbacks where you have to honk to make sure anyone coming in the other direction knows you're there.

5. Water shoes are a must for the beaches on Tortola. Even the beaches that people claim are not rocky, have some rocks. Don't let the rocks scare anyone off-- they are interspersed with areas of smooth bottom. It's not all rocks.

6. All businesses on Tortola (except banking) are locally run. There are no hotel chains here and maybe that's why it's so low key. We really liked that about it.

7. Many of the staff at Long Bay have signature drinks-- it was great to have the VI Surprise or Stacey's Wednesday secret.

8. The masseuse at the spa was fantastic!! I only got a facial, but I felt so pampered when I left.

9. We thought the all-inclusive was a bargain. We had almost all our meals there and lots of drinks. The lobster dinner had a surcharge, but that's understandable.

10. The hotel was not crowded as it was off-season, that made it particularly nice as the beach is very roomy. This is a great place for a summer trip as it is on the breezy side of the island (also the dryer side).

Our only, albeit minor, complaint was that the bed was firmer than we would like, but we slept like babies after all the sun and swimming.

Many thanks also to Carlotta who handled our son's wedding!!!! She is wonderful to work with.

Room Tip: We had the beach cabanas which were older, but right on the beach!! If you want more modern, book one of the other rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

This was my third time to long bay and loved the room we booked this time. Beach front suite....two steps out back door and on a fabulous beach. I would recommend a room on bottom floor so you can walk right out on the beach. I had read so many negative comments about the beds etc but ours were fine. Sure maybe the rooms could use some updating but where can you get beach front room sleeps four with a kitchen for $350 or less a night! Check in was easy and staff friendly...we only ate breakfast and it was just fine...fresh fruit is great and the banana bread sooo yummy. I wouldn't recommend tropical fusion next door food was just ok. The beach is so nice ..it's a nice walk to smugglers cove but there are no chairs on that beach . I would recommend having dinner at D Coal Pot...great food and a new place called Jeans about a half mile from sugar mill front desk didn't even know about it. I would also recommend the Aristocrat for a snorkel trip Peter and Jody are the best. Wifi is spotty and taxis are pricey.

Room Tip: Beachfront suite
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mwaight5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Long Bay is an amazing Caribbean beach hideout with access to all Tortola has to offer. Beach is truly one of the best. We had no trouble seeing the rocks in the crystal clear water and finding a nice clear spot to float around with a cold beverage. Every night we saw sea turtles at sunset though I don't know if this is a common occurrence. On a clear night the stars from the beach are awe inspiring. Our second floor room (deluxe) was large with high ceiling and huge doors with screens that turn the room into an open air lounge. Nothing like falling asleep to the waves crashing and echoing into your room. Room had all the expected amenities including a small fridge. We placed an order with the Riteway in Roadtown and had our "supplies" waiting for us in our room on arrival. Food was delicious for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Switch it up one night and go next door to Passions for a real treat! Walk to Smugglers for a change of beach scenery. Last but not least the staff here is great. Thank you Lesley for assisting us so often during or stay it was a pleasure.

All this being said this is not the hotel for everyone. If you need plush 5 star surroundings or are afraid of stepping on a rock in the ocean or can't bear to see a paint chip or bit of rust this may not be your perfect hotel. If you are looking to get away from it all and enjoy beautiful surroundings in an amazing destination and taste the real Caribbean please visit Long Bay our new home away from home in Tortola.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MikeLBNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

We loved the LBBC. If you want to wake to the Ocean, see perfect sand between your feet and swim in perfect clear warm seas then this bay in BVI is perfect. You can walk out for what seems like forever and the sunsets are amazing.

The staff at LBBC are top notch. Are few name badges had gone astray but the smiles are all you need to start a conversation and know the staff genuinely want to look after you. And don't be fooled by the open air grill. The Kitchen staff really know how to cook and the food is always delicious. Evenings are supervised by Denice who has a winning way but everyone from Lesley to Rick knows how to make your stay first class.

Rooms are clean and spacious and

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestAmbassador01, Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Dear Mike,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences at Long Bay Beach Club. We were gladdened to hear that you and your loved one were taken aback by our beautiful island home, and we are incredibly honored by your wonderful compliments toward our stunning beachfront, exquisite service, and delectable dining.

We thank you for your endearing recommendation, and we sincerely hope you join us in idyllic Tortola again soon.

Best regards,

Long Bay Beach Club, Tortola
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Long Bay Beach Club in Mid-May. It was our first time in the BVI, we flew into St Thomas and took a ferry to West End. The location of Long Bay is simply incredible. It runs right along a very beautiful stretch of white sand beaches and very clear Caribbean water. Check in was very easy and the front desk staff is friendly and willing to help plan your week. The beach itself as many others have mentioned is a little rocky but not as terrible as we were expecting(we brought water shoes but never used them). There are several locations along the beach with soft sand inlets that allow you to get out into the water. Water was clear and waves were weak allowing a great relaxing float. There is very good snorkeling down towards the far right side of the bay. (There is a small little cavern type structure in the rocks. Snorkel out around the rocks as if leaving Long Bay and you'll see many fish and sting ray) The pool does seem small by resort standards, it's the size of an average backyard pool. It is a nice change from the ocean and we enjoyed spending our afternoons around the pools in the cabanas and nice chairs. We stayed in a beachfront deluxe right off the water and on the second floor. We had no complaints at all about the room and even though it is outdated its very spacious with a large double sink bathroom and huge walk in tiled shower with a window to the ocean. The beds are hard but we both slept fine for the most part. We were on the All-Inclusive plan and enjoyed having breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the restaurant each day. The food was very good and much better than we were expecting. The staff was friendly but they are definitely on a certain type of island time. Do not expect to receive prompt service while dining, it was almost funny how slow the service would be in the restaurant. But, you're on vacation so watching the waves come in while waiting 5 minutes for a refill of water wasn't too bad. Tropical Fusion restaurant is right next door and has good food as well. We rented a car for a few days and drove to Sopers Hole(Pussers is great), drove around Road Town and to Brewers Bay, Cane Garden and Smugglers Cove. The roads are tight, steep, and curvy but just go slow and keep left and you'll have no problem getting around the island. We've been to several tropical locations including Hawaii, Bahamas, Mexico, St Thomas, Puerto Rico and we definitely will be coming back to Long Bay. The resort location is beautiful and the quiet laid back feel is unmatched. Yes, it certainly could use a few updates but with the location and views it offers those can and should be overlooked. Feel free to reach out to me if you have any other questions.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Blakeh9342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews