We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Orega

Orega
Ranked #1 of 71 Restaurants in Gustavia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$108
Description: The OREGA Team has come together to create an exceptional dining experience, which combines authentic, quality ingredients with impeccable service in a comfortable and inviting atmosphere. OREGA creates a fusion experience with Japanese and French cuisine that offers both classic and unique dishes exquisitely prepared and presented for your dining pleasure. Our team is passionate about cooking artistry and will assuredly make you fall in love with OREGA L'équipe OREGA s'est réunie afin de créer une expérience gastronomique exceptionnelle, qui combine l'authenticité du lieu, des ingrédients de qualité avec un service chaleureux et professionnel. OREGA invite à découvrir la fusion entre la cuisine japonaise et française qui propose des plats à la fois classiques et uniques, préparés et présentés pour votre plus grand plaisir.
Restaurant details
Description: The OREGA Team has come together to create an exceptional dining experience, which combines authentic, quality ingredients with impeccable service in a comfortable and inviting atmosphere. OREGA creates a fusion experience with Japanese and French cuisine that offers both classic and unique dishes exquisitely prepared and presented for your dining pleasure. Our team is passionate about cooking artistry and will assuredly make you fall in love with OREGA L'équipe OREGA s'est réunie afin de créer une expérience gastronomique exceptionnelle, qui combine l'authenticité du lieu, des ingrédients de qualité avec un service chaleureux et professionnel. OREGA invite à découvrir la fusion entre la cuisine japonaise et française qui propose des plats à la fois classiques et uniques, préparés et présentés pour votre plus grand plaisir.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We spent 8 nights on St Barth's in February. Orega was our absolute favorite meal. Extremely warm welcome , very attentive and friendly service, chic ambiance, unique & fabulous food as well as dessert (don't miss the chocolate bomb) to the freely flowing after dinner chocolate shots, everything was perfection. We have already booked our return for February 2019. It was so good, we will probably dine here twice next year!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NYBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Responsable relations publiques at Orega, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear NYBeachLover,

Thank for your very nice review. We are thrilled to hear that everything went smoothly and that you enjoyed our Japanese Fusion dishes.
Don't hesitate to contact us prior your next trip on the island we will make sure to accommodate you best.

Thanks again,

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2018

Welcome was exceptional, decor perfect, team all gorgeous. Most importantly drinks and food were delicious!!! By far the most sophisticated and best food offering on the island. No detail is overlooked from the serving pieces to the exquisite plating of food and libations.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GordonHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Responsable relations publiques at Orega, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear GordonHH,

Thank you for taking the time to write this kind review.
We work effortlessly everyday to offer you an unique Japanese Fusion experience and we are delighted you enjoyed it as it should be.
Thanks again and don't hesitate to visit us on another night as we have daily specials off menu.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Real fine dining.The food is fusion...there is a Japanese and a French chef. Wonderful, interesting food, nice staff and beautiful decor. It's located where the old La Sapottier restaurant was. Completely worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlexRutenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Responsable relations publiques at Orega, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear AlexRutenberg,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are delighted to know that you appreciated our Japanese Fusion experience.
Thank you for the recommendation.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

After coming to this piece of paradise for many years I wish we found this restaurant sooner! This was far the best Japanese restaurant we have every been too. The food was just incredible. The staff was attentive and friendly (and beautiful) and the restaurant just had a great vibe to it. Enjoyed every minute of the experience. I highly recommend the lobster ravioli in lobster broth. Make no mistake this is not an American/Italian heavy ravioli, it was just amazing. My husband had the sushi platter and he loved it. Go you will love it

Thank MaryElizabeth1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Responsable relations publiques at Orega, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear MaryElizabeth1983,

Thank for take the time to share your experience of Orega.
Thank you so much for your nice review, we are delighted to hear that you loved our Japanese Fusion cuisine and our cosy atmosphere.
You know what they say, better late than never ;) , we will happily welcome you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

We booked this restaurant in 2017 but when we came with our group, the restaurant was closed. They had not bothered to contact us even though they had our contact information. Granted they had an unexpected issue (sewage problems) but still, how difficult would it have been to call our number and notify us. They were pretty pretentious and rude (the blond guy especially) so I was not eager to give them a second chance this year. Given that St Barths went thorough a very rough time recently due to the terrible damage that hurricane Irma caused we kept our yearly reservation to visit this beautiful place and show support. All of the restaurants and shops that were able to be open were extremely grateful, appreciative and attentive but not Orega. At my husband’s encouragement, we made an in-person reservation again this year. We showed up tonight only to find a familiar unpleasant site... closed!!
There are so many GREAT, FRIENDLY and appreciative businesses and restaurants in St. Barths so, frankly, it would be a shame to give your time and money to this place. Absolutely DO NOT recommend this place! Go to Shellona for lunch which always delivers, Tamarin, Black Ginger, L’Esprit, Vietnam, L’ Entreacte, L’Isoleta and our new favorite L’Isola (great cocktails made by Dario, fabulous meal, fun time and friendly service!).

2  Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan L, Public Relations Manager at Orega, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Dear Martha F,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We truly regret to hear that you haven’t been able to appreciate our Japanese Fusion experience.
Regarding your first attempt to visit us we are not sure to recall exactly what happens as like you said it happened last year anyhow if we did fail to reach you back at this time we are sincerely sorry about the inconvenience.
We truly are appreciative of your support and regret you haven’t been able to visit us again this year.
However we are very confused on how you could have found our doors closed knowing that we haven’t closed once since our reopening mid December.
If we are forced to close for unexpected reasons like sewages problems or strong swell like this week we are making sure to put a note on the door and reach to existing bookings.
Still we do not understand how you could have booked a table with us on a day we are usually closed. Surely it must have been a misunderstanding as we always warned all hotels, rental agencies, concierges and are very active across social medias platforms to inform our friends, partners and customers of our latest news and events, like the fact that we are now open Tuesdays and closed Sundays since our reopening after Hurricane Irma.
Once again we sincerely regret you haven’t been able to visit us. If perhaps you change your mind and decide otherwise we will be happy to welcome you at Orega.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orega also viewed

Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Grande Saline, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
St. Jean, St. Barthelemy
 
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
Gustavia, St. Barthelemy
 

Been to Orega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing