We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,061)
Filter reviews
2,061 results
Traveller rating
1,238
474
191
78
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,238
474
191
78
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloud barflow riderresort creditawe spawater journeykonoko fallsmomo restaurantvacation plannersla gondolagondola restaurantpresidential suiteclub noirpublic relationspalace membersdiamond conciergepier seafoodpalace elite
Filter
Updating list...
1,062 - 1,067 of 2,061 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Beautiful resort that I think takes the best aspects of the other palace resorts and puts them together flawlessly.
The bay is great for swimming, wonderful beach access, beautiful ocean views. The marina staff are fantastic. We had very nice sails at least once daily. The paddle boards are fun and all the equipment is well kept.
The gym is great, has spin bikes, very nice cardio equipment, and a good workout space for those who don't necessarily want to use machines. The gym staff was great and I did several one on one workouts with them which were killer.
The spa is absolutely a masterpiece. The design is breathtaking and very much worth the time to take the water journey or at least show up early and use the facilities. Seriously the most beautiful spa I've ever been in. The therapists are fantastic, all my treatments were personalized and made this vacation so much more relaxing.
The food is great. I was happy to see local dishes at all meals in the buffet.
Overall just a great experience. The staff is wonderful and really a fun crew.
Only negatives in my mind were the lack of hot water in our shower (it never got over moderately warm) and the cruise ships in the bay, but not a big deal in the grand scheme of things.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank runawayponies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Dear runawayponies,

Thank you for giving the Moon Palace Jamaica Grande family the pleasure of hosting your recent vacation experience. We are delighted to learn our beautiful resort and wonderful team contributed to you having an amazing vacation.

Our wonderful team awaits having the pleasure of hosting you at our masterpiece of a Resort to more breathtaking vacation experiences.

Warm regards,

Kemarlo Clarke
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Shuttle ride from Montego Bay Airport took about 1-1/2 hours. First impressions of resort were very positive, and nothing changed that perception during a 7-day stay. Room was basic with OK view (didn't book a premium ocean-view room). The exceptional features were the restaurants (especially La Gondola) included in the all-inclusive fee, and the service of the employees. The entire staff was fantastic in their dedication to fine service. But the ultimate in fine service came when my wife lost her diamond wedding ring in the spa during hydrotherapy treatment. She didn't realize her ring slipped off until later in the day. When we reported the loss to security, an impressive investigation ensued, with numerous personnel updating us on the search over a 24 hour period. We left the resort without the ring being recovered, but to our amazement, Kenisha Newsone of the Public Relations department called us a week later to tell us the ring had been found and that they were working on setting up delivery to us in the USA. Kneisha helped us through the process of getting a courier service and insuring the return of the ring through numerous phone calls and emails. Thank you so much, Kenisha!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank adventurerBWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Dear adventureBWL,

The Moon Palace Jamaica Grande family highly appreciates the confidence had in selecting our Resort to host your recent vacation. Thank you for sharing an overview of your experience with the TripAdvisor community we are elated to learn the fantastic services extended by our team contributed to you having an amazing vacation. Kenisha has been specially commended for her exceptional service in following up with and ensuring that your wedding ring was retrieved and safely returned.

We do look forward to having the distinct pleasure of hosting you again for more spectacular vacation experiences.

Warm regards,

Kemarlo Clarke
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

A newer resort for the Cancun-based Palace folks, opening January 2016. Mostly Mexican management and sales, but the locals who work here have been well trained on the Palace brand. The spa facilities are top notch. There's a wide variety of excursions offered, including swimming with dolphins on site. Food quality and beverages were top notch for an all inclusive setting. We had to request a "jacuzzi" room, since our initial room, in one of the two original buildings purchased and renovated by Palace, was smaller and with a very small patio unlike what we're used to in the other half-dozen or so properties where we've vacationed.

The property is situated on the main cove in Ocho Rios where cruise ships dock almost daily during the high season, so wave lovers will be disappointed. But the beach accommodates walk, and the beverage service by staff like Omario (saving to continue and complete his college education after completing associate's degree on full athletic scholarship) makes beachgoing a pleasure.

A variety of restaurant choices and attentive staff make dining enjoyable. While the buffet in the Buccaneer was more than adequate, and our frequent server Serena made us happy to be seated at one of her tables, lunch alternatives serves at Pier * seafood restaurant were a pleasant diversion during our 8-day stay. Additional choices in the Gourmet food court off the main lobby, from freshly made to order sushi to the French boulangerie to the pannini's and pizza, coffees and sweets made it impossible to be hungry.

The Lobby Bar is well appointed with a great outdoor rooftop area that has a great view of the area at night. The Loud Bar has a great staff and nightly live music by Grande Ingredients, a terrific whole catalog reggae band. Disco Noir for late night dancing is another evening option, as is the piano bar located next to the Gourmet food court. Nightly entertainment in the show room is a great way to kick off an evening after dinner.

A short, safe walk into town will provide more local flavor and shopping opportunities.
As long time members of Palace Resorts, we looked forward to seeing their newest offering. We were not disappointed, to say the least.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front with jacuzzi in Building 1.Larger than rooms in Building 2, The balcony space is larger and more comfortable.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear Roger B,

The Moon Palace Jamaica Grande team is delighted to have had the pleasure of hosting your recent vacation experience. As we remain committed to hosting all our guests to the most memorable awe inclusive vacations we are appreciative of your TripAdvisor review which showcases the enjoyable dining experiences had, our great facilities and team as well as the array of amenities and activities extended to facilitate your total satisfaction.

Our family looks forward to having the privilege of hosting you again where it will be our pleasure to exceed all your vacation expectations with our signature services, amenities and facilities.

Warm regards,

Kemarlo Clarke
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

my husband and I went to Moon Palace, Jamaica grand, the first week in January. very pretty , view is excellent, weather was in the high 80's, not crowded at all,(which we like)
very clean, and the service is excellent. our favorite restaurant is the seafood off the beach, Quran(Kemar Brown) was one of the many extraordinary server,his appearance was so nice, and his smile went on for miles.I would go back to visit him.also in the seafood was(Kofia,Kayla ,Lauren and Omar) excellent service.Just wanted to say thank you to them. If you have any questions you can go up to guest service, and ask them anything and they will help you,Zanderine Williams was my favorite, she was very helpful.this resort has entertainment every night, my self I liked to hang out in the loud bar with the bartender (Dameon) His drinks were very good, also the resort has a piano bar(Jermaine) very pleasant. spent a lot of my time at the lobby bar(Rayon) very friendly. if you didn't want to eat in the restaurant,there is a snack grill,a lot of food to pick from,(Sequioa)very nice.Jason Morgan had taken care of us for breakfast, very polite and friendly and good. the steak house was amazing,(Fitzroy) the server was amazing, the japanese was fun with kung fu panda, ask for him. we used the spa, very relaxing, thanks Crystal Kerryann and Simone, and Jari.Excellent service, also I wanted to thank Karl Stanley (bell Captain) awesome guy, the resort has plenty of excursions, if you don't know what excursion to go on, i recommend Dunn's river falls, rooms were nice, room service everyday, and you can call to the united states for free, i would come back here again,

Room Tip: try to get the highest floor for a better view
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Dear linny m,

The Moon Palace Jamaica Grande team would like to express our deepest gratitude to you for the confidence exuded in making our Resort you vacation destination. We are delighted that you decided to share the wonderful vacation had with the TripAdvisor community with highlights of our beauty, the excellent service received as well as our well kempt Resort. All team members mentioned for their outstanding efforts have been specially commended.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to having the opportunity to host you again to more spectacular awe inclusive vacation.

Warm regards,

Kemarlo Clarke
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

My husband and I spend an amazing week at Moon Palace Jamaica Grande to celebrate our 25 wedding anniversary, and we couldn't have made a better choice!

From the moment we arrived at the resort, we received a warm welcome from Stephany, who has us checked in and on our way to our room in no time! Once we unpacked, it was down to the pool for the beginning of what was to be an amazing week.

The resort was beautiful, of course, but what really set our experience apart was the staff...they were truly wonderful! Some of the wonderful people we met throughout the week that made our stay so special were wine sommelier Jason, who took the time to seek us out wherever we were dining each evening to ensure that we were being taken care of and always had a wonderful wine pairing with our meal. Also, his assistant Paul as well as Odain and Rohan who took wonderful care of us at a cocktail party we attended the first evening we were there.

We ate breakfast every day at Buccaneer Reef, where Rodaine took excellent care of us. We made sure to sit in his section every morning, where he always had a café mocha waiting when we returned from the buffet! He was definitely one of our favorites!

Our favorite restaurant was La Gondola, we ate there several times during our stay. The service we received was amazing...Gary, Judith, Keniah, Timarr, Sheldon and reChef Derrick made each evening there truly memorable!

Many days were spend by the pool where Nikki made sure we had everything we needed! She was amazing...so kind. We really appreciated all that she did for us.
The entertainment staff was wonderful...Simone and Shadoy and the entire team! And the bartenders...I can't say enough! We also spent an amazing day at the spa with therapists Melissa and Terri- who I would highly recommend!

There were many activities and tours that we participated in while on our vacation...dolphin swim, sunset cruise, Konoko Falls, water bikes- all wonderful! I just wish we would have had more time!

Although we will not be able to return to Jamaica Grande until early 2019, we plan to spend two weeks enjoying the resorts and island....and hopefully see many of our friends again!

Stayed: October 2016
2  Thank lisabug08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemarlo C, Manager at Moon Palace Jamaica, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Dear lisabug08,

Creating the most amazing awe filled vacation experiences is the continuous aim of the Moon Palace Jamaica Grande team, as such we are elated to learn that an amazing week was had whilst you stayed with us. Thank you for giving us the pleasure of hosting your special 25th wedding anniversary milestone celebrations. Your comments on our beautiful resort, excellent service as well as the general feedback on your stay is much appreciated. Special commendations have been extended to all team members mentioned for their excellent efforts in creating such memorable experience.

Your friends and family here at Moon Palace Jamaica Grande look forward to your return for more awe inspiring vacations.

Warm regards,

Kemarlo Clarke
Manager
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews