We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
32
63
38
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
63
38
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hip strip pork pie with flat screen tv only stayed one night clean pool daily breakfast busy road gloucester avenue doctors cave short stay public beach beds were comfortable jamaican dishes restaurant staff margaritaville continental mobay
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

The hotel is a convenient overnight stay to and from the airport. I'm sure it would also be appropriate for a vacation in Montego Bay, as well, but I only stayed one night. The whole staff was excellent, especially the manager Kay. She went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and readily sorted out a booking issue with our credit card. The rooms, we had two- a superior King and two double beds- were clean, nicely decorated and spacious. The air condition was cool and quiet. Bathroom was small but shower had good pressure and temperature. The provided rubber mats in the shower are not optional, as I almost found out, the hard way. There was a small but clean pool in the back. The included breakfast was very good and even my picky kids enjoyed it. WiFi was excellent. No coffee or tea in room but they do have a refrigerator and a microwave. As well as a safe.
The hotel is located on a very busy road that is a little difficult to walk along because the sidewalk is very narrow and sometimes parked cars block your way, forcing you further into the street. Parking at the hotel may also be an issue since there are very few spots. That being said, the location has a lot to offer, with Margaritaville down the street, beach across the street and lots of restaurants, bars and stores in either direction. There are no elevators but do believe they have first floor rooms. We were very comfortable and would gladly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Natlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We stayed in Altamont West for 2 days (Family of 4). Quite good choice for a few days. They have a pool that is cleaned daily, breakfast can be chosen between Jamaican and Continental. Rooms are rather clean. Overall, staff is friendly, sometimes show more attention to their mobile than to guests. Bit bizarr if you ask a question and the person at the reception stares into the cellphone (I assume the information in there must have been extremely important!). Apart from that it's a nice place in the Hip Strip.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

I stayed at Altamont West Hotel in July and was very pleased of my stay there.All the staff are great,they great you with a smile upon arrival,during your stay and when you are leaving. Room are clean,comfy and a quiet and relaxing hotel. Anyone want a nice, quiet and relaxing place to stay, check them out. Price is right. Ms Tate.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ruantwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We stayed at the Altamont West for a week and we could not be more pleased with the decision to stay here. The staff was warm, friendly and had no problem answering any questions that we had. The continental breakfast was made to order which was a nice change from most hotels offering buffet-style breakfasts. The "Pork Pit" is a nearby must eat. The hotel was within walking distance to Doctors Cave beach and Margaritaville which was cool. Only reason I would not give this hotel five stars is because we kept having to get the room key reset which got quite annoying after a few days.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and the view from the balcony was excellent.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanisha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed our last two nights in MoBay at the Altamont West and were pleasantly surprised with the property. Everyone was very warm and welcoming, and Sheldon was wonderful and happily brought our suitcases up to the 3rd floor room for us and then showed us around. The room had a very comfortable king bed and was very clean. The property is so colorful and decorated so well. The free breakfast was wonderful, and the coffee was so good! The pool was very clean and we really enjoyed hanging out there. We also appreciated that they have security posted outside the entrance and the guards were so nice.

Tips:

If you access the free beach across the street, expect to get harassed for money while at the beach - it’s worth it to walk a few blocks down to Doctors Cave beach and pay to access it. For two of us with an umbrella and chairs was around $36/day - totally worth it for a beautiful beach!

You HAVE to eat at the Pork Pit while staying at the Altamont at least once! Amazing jerk, and I also loved their rice and peas.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisAltamonts, Manager at Altamont West Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018


Thanks you for choosing us and happy that we were able to enhance the Jamaica experience. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews