We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
225
51
18
3
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
51
18
3
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waves restaurant full kitchen washer and dryer himalayan salt mineral pool le bouchon dean martin butler service two bedroom suite master bath hobie cat ride poolside grill ocean front laundry room manicured grounds dining table dinner reservations
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

My family’s first time to Jamaica. We were so impressed with the property, but mostly impressed with the level of service we received from our butlers, Dean and Ronald. And a special thanks to Samara, who was the most pleasant, and helpful server I’ve ever met serving guests on the beach! Great job! We will be back.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank W F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KemishaSimpson, Social Media Coordinator at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear W F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at our resort. We are happy to know that you had an overall wonderful stay at our resort and that for your family's first time in Jamaica, you chose to stay at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa. Thank you for choosing our resort for your family trip. We are thrilled to know that you were impressed with the level of service you received from your butlers Dean and Ronald and are also happy to know that you found our server Samara, the most pleasant, and helpful server you have ever met serving guests on the beach. Our associates are truly phenomenal and will go above and beyond to ensure that your experience at our resort is a memorable one. We will be sure to share your kind comments with them and congratulate them all on a job well done!

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa. We do look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Just got back from 6 nights at the Jewel Grande and we wish we were back! By far, the best all-inclusive we have ever stayed at in the Caribbean. Everything is top-notch! We booked standard rooms and were amazed when we walked into a 2 bedroom suite with 3 bathrooms, kitchen, living room, washer/dryer, and wrap around balcony that overlooked both the ocean and main swimming pool. The property is immaculate, the food and drinks were excellent, and the staff is amazing. Every single staff member we encountered throughout our stay greeted us with a smile and most of them knew us by name by the second or third day. My kids loved Racquel (who they visited several times a day at the ice cream shop) and Riccardo at the pool bar. My mother loved Elvin and she thinks he is the hardest worker on the beach!

We are pretty low maintenance when it comes to vacations and were unsure about the butler service before we got there but the butler service really sets the Jewel Grande apart from other all-inclusives. Ronald and Dean Martin were our dynamic duo butler team and they were superb! They were there to assist with anything and everything we needed to make our vacation more enjoyable and relaxing. Dean searched down my mother’s lost luggage with the airline and had it delivered to the hotel the same night. Both Dean and Ronald made sure our fridge was stocked every day with the drinks we liked. They quickly realized that my husband likes beer…a lot! We always had a shelf full of Red Stripe whenever we opened the fridge. My kids liked a specific juice and it was always stocked. We left for an early morning fishing trip one day before the restaurants were open for breakfast and they delivered a complete breakfast to our room the night before. And, Ronald, well…he’s the man!!! We joked that our wristbands had GPS trackers in them because he always knew where to find us to make sure we had everything we needed for the day. He made all of our dinner reservations (which I always find to be a daunting task when staying at other all inclusives), booked any day trips we wanted to go on, picked up and delivered sugar cane to my mother on the beach, got my kids coconut jelly, got my husband the “real deal” jerk chicken and pork from Scotchie’s, always had a cabana set up for us on the beach, and the list goes on and on. We were completely spoiled by Ronald and Dean’s hospitality and loved every minute of it!

Two things we thought needed some work were the wait time for your meal at the steak restaurant (but the meal was fantastic so I guess it was worth the wait) and the lack of nightly entertainment. We chalked both up to being new and still figuring things out. We hope we will still be able to afford the Jewel Grande after the secret of how great this all inclusive is gets out!!!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ltosca33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KemishaSimpson, Social Media Coordinator at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear Itosca33,

It was indeed a great pleasure hosting you and your family at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa. Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at our resort with us and we are delighted to know that you found our resort to be by far the best all inclusive you have ever stayed at in the Caribbean. We are happy to know that you were pleased with your 2 bedroom 3 bathroom suite and found our property immaculate, food and drinks excellent and staff amazing. We are happy to know that you very much enjoyed the services provided by our associates. Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa truly has extraordinary associates who aim to provide top-knotch service to our guests and we are happy to know that our associates went above and beyond to ensure you and your family had a wonderful time during your visit with us. We are indeed delighted to know that your butlers, Ronald and Dean took really good care of you all. Eventhough, your family is pretty low maintenance as you stated in your review, the service your butlers Ronald and Dean provided, allowed you to set our resort apart from other all inclusive. Ronald and Dean are true gems, we will be sure to share your kind comments with them as well as all our other associates who assisted in making your stay a memorable, one such as Raquel, Riccardo and Elvin. They are all exceptional and we will be sure to congratulate them all on a job well done.

We also appreciate and have noted your comments on our wait time for meals at our Steakhouse needing some work and the lack of entertainment at our resort. We are truly sorry that you had to wait for some time for your meal at our restaurant and will pass on your comments to our Management Team for corrective action to be taken. We would like you to know as well that we are improving in our entertainment area as we have our beach/pool party, Movie night, DJ-Disco on various nights, as well as Cabaret, Pianist, Guitarist, Violinist performances.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa and for your high recommendation. We do look forward to hosting you and your family once again in the near future for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

we spent a week at this all inclusive. Every thing was wonderful. the staff was fantastic.
we would especially like to mention our butlers Ryan and Davian. Our waiter Gregory.
Front desk Asari and David. the hotel was 15 minutes from the airport. Check in was a breeze. Our room was like an apartment. we especially liked having a washer an dryer.The food was excellent and we were able to get our food made to our liking by the chefs. The beach was very nice and there were a line of cabanas on the beach. The best part was the excellently trained staff. this is definitely a place to go back to.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank star8542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KemishaSimpson, Social Media Coordinator at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear star8542,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at our resort. Thank you as well for choosing to stay at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa. It was a delight having you here with us and we are happy to know that everything was wonderful and that you were pleased with your room, the food our chef prepared just for you, our beach and the washer and dryer in your room.

We are also excited to know that the best part of your stay was our "excellently trained staff." Our associates are indeed exceptional, and we are thrilled to know that your butlers, Ryan and Davian, your waiter Gregory, and all our other associates you encountered during your stay with us, provided you with excellent service and assisted in making your stay with us a wonderful one.

We appreciate all your kind remarks on our resort and associates. We certainly look forward to hosting you again in the near future for another wonderful stay!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Stayed at the Jewel Grande for 6 nights with our three kids and we could not be happier with the level of service and the upscale feel of this resort. It recently opened so it is still being developed in some respects (limited day programming and entertainment at night, and some spaces are under construction). However, on the plus side there were not many people, so it felt very peaceful and exclusive, and thankfully did not have the party atmosphere we observed at the neighboring Hilton.
OVERALL VALUE: 4.7/5
STAFF/SERVICE: 5 of 5
FACILITIES/ROOMS/GROUNDS: 4.9 of 5
BEACH/WATERSPORTS: 4.6 of 5 (in combination with Hilton’s beach/waterslides)
FOOD: 4 of 5
GYM/SPA: 4.5
KIDS' ACTIVITIES 4.5 (with potential for 5 when fully operational with more activities)

BEACH/WATERSPORTS: They have kayaking, paddle-boarding and Hobie Cat catamarans (staff take you out). The beach is in a cove of sorts, so it’s very safe and great for very young kids but if you like wave-jumping and swimming in deeper water, you won’t get that, and you won’t be able to kayak far, especially if the water conditions are rough (evidently we came during a windy month). However, there is a complimentary shuttle to the Rose Hilton and the beach there is longer with better current for wave-jumping, although it is also very crowded and does not feel nearly as relaxing or luxurious as the Jewel Grande. The Hilton also has a lazy river and waterslides that our kids loved. Additionally, my husband went scuba-diving there early one morning and saw lots of sealife (stingray, lionfish, etc).

STAFF: The Jewel Grande staff are very friendly, courteous, and eager to be helpful. We especially appreciated Violet, one of the kids’ club staff who played with our kids at the water park for hours; Renae, the friendly concierge; and Orley, the chef at the Teppan grill, who was so much fun and made for the most memorable dinner we had all week. Our butlers, Kade and Mykon, consistently made themselves available to answer questions and help with reservations for excursions.

GROUNDS/ROOMS/LOCATION: The buildings, rooms, and grounds are updated, immaculate and well-appointed – we especially appreciated the plush robes and quality bedding. We initially had a two-bedroom suite which was spacious for our family of 5 (the sofa in the main room is a pull-out) and were in a room on the seventh floor closest to the freeway and could hear the road noise at night. Ingrid, the manager, was very kind and helpful, and after some confusion around finding another room, ultimately landed us in a much nicer space that was better shielded from the freeway noise.

FOOD: We ate most often at the buffet because of the selection, but also tried all the restaurants. The food is mostly solid with a few very good dishes and we appreciated the offerings of traditional Jamaican foods at each mealtime. At the restaurants you may have to wait a bit and if you’re a true high-end foodie you may be disappointed but overall it’s good and there is sufficient variety.

SPA/GYM: I went to four yoga classes and a spin class and had four different (visiting) instructors who varied in style. I wished they had run at least one spin class or another similarly rigorous class at least once per day, as it only happened once during the week and the rest weren’t especially challenging. LOVE the fresh juice/smoothie bar! We also used the weight room, mineral baths, sauna and steam room – all great. Didn’t get a treatment but the overall space is quite nice.

KIDS CLUB/ACTIVITIES: the teen room isn’t open yet, but our kids were happy with the outdoor pool and ping pong tables, the waterpark, and most importantly, the awesome staff who consistently sought out our kids and played with them for hours – you can tell they genuinely love being with kids – great hires!

Last, make sure you leave the resort and experience the real Jamaica. We did two excursions (Blue Hole/tubing the White River in Ocho Rios and Glistening Waters in Falmouth). One was with JamaicaTours (desk is in the lobby) and the other we set up ourselves via email/ text with Liberty Tours (ranked #1 on TripAdvisor). Unless you like big tour buses that stop at a bunch of resorts, definitely do a private tour with Liberty Tours - it's a personalized experience for a lower cost and our guide Ricardo was fantastic.

Room tip: Avoid the rooms with windows facing the freeway (any rooms ending in -01 I think) and being down lower may help reduce noise from the road.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank O5557TYjenniferf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KemishaSimpson, Social Media Coordinator at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear Jennifer F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It was truly a pleasure hosting you and your family, and we are very pleased to know that you all enjoyed your stay with us and are happy with the service you received. We are thrilled to have had you all with us for all of 6 nights and are delighted to know that our associates went above and beyond to ensure that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be happy to share all your kind comments with Renae, Violet, Orley, and your butlers Kade and Mykon, and congratulate them all on a job well done!

We have also noted your comments and ratings for the various areas on our resort and will most certainly pass them on to our Management Team to be addressed. Your review is important to us as it will help us improve guests experience.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa and for your high recommendation. Thank you also, for being understanding as we work on ensuring that our property is at its finest upon your return to us. We do look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort in the near future for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

What an awesome time we had. There were 10 of us travelling for a long weekend. We arrived at the hotel, checked in (were upgraded to a two-bedroom suite) and were introduced to our butlers, Ronald and Dean, who promptly took us up to our rooms. They were the butlers for all 10 of us, which made things extremely convenient.

We were able to secure dinner reservations at the resort for two of the three nights, and they made arrangements (transportation) for us to go to Scotchies - which was excellent. In addition, they arranged for a rafting trip at Martha Brae and it was a very cool experience!

Samara helped us out on the beach, she was amazing. Our drinks were always full and she ordered lunch for us everyday too!

We had a young lady celebrating her 18th birthday in our group - they went our of their way to decorate her room, and ensure that there was a celebration at dinner.

Ronald, Dean and Samara definitely helped to make our vacation amazing! Thank you!!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KemishaSimpson, Social Media Coordinator at Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear Jodi P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are excited to know that you had an awesome time at our resort and that a member of your group enjoyed her birthday celebration at our resort. We are thrilled to have had the opportunity to share in such a spectacular celebration with your group member's birthday and pleased to know everything was great. Our associates are truly gems as well ,and I am delighted to know that they made your vacation amazing. We will be sure to share your kind comments with Ronald, Dean and Samara and congratulate them on a job well done.

It was an honour having you all here with us. Thank you for making it Jewel Grande Montego Bay Resort and Spa. We look forward to your return in the near future for another wonderful stay!

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews