We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grenada Co-Operative Nutmeg Association
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
58
96
22
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
96
22
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews informative tour related products short visit hard work minute stop photographs taken long hours smile on their faces various stages step back in time gift shop take photos tutti frutti a real eye opener great tour entry fee processing
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2014

We went to the Nutmeg Association whilst doing a tour of Grenada. What a totally fantastic experience it was. We would never have believed how the nutmeg was processed if we hadn't have seen it. The tour guide who took us round gave us a in depth knowledge of the full process. If you get the chance to go and take the tour I would most definitely recommend it.

Date of experience: October 2014
1  Thank Jessb2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2014

We visited the nutmeg proceeding plant in Gouyav, and it turned out to be one of the most interesting, informative and direct tours we participated in in Grenada.
The tour is very cheap, and not very long (but you have plenty of time to ask as many questions as you like and take as many photos). The tour lets you understand hands-on the various phases of nutmeg processing, which so central to Grenada. All of the job is carried out by local people, with almost no machines involved. Apart from understanding better this industry, you get a real feeling you help the community and that you money is directly helping the locals. Don't miss it!

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank Yochai B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Frank, our guide introduced himself and took us through the process, from taking receipt of the goods from the farmers, through the quality process and onto drying, washing the product, grinding (where applicable) to shelling, bagging and dispatch.

There is so much goes into this you take for granted the product we receive as the consumer. I will never look at Nutmeg and Mace in the same light again. I also learned that you can get 2 spices from the same plant with Mace being the outer skin and the nutmeg shell inside.

Frank was a very informative tour guide and this place is worth a visit especially if you are a foodie!

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank yorkshirebhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We have toured the nutmeg facilities in both Gouyave and Grenville. It was interesting to see how the nutmeg is processed. The tour guides are knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Unfortunately, for the Grenville tour there wasn't much nutmeg being processed and not too many nutmegs (we heard that Gouyave had similar inactivity on the same day but there was a lot going on and lots of nutmegs when we visited a month ago).

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank SV P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Took in this place as part of the Spice and Waterfalls tour offered during our cruise. The bus ride from St Georges along the coast to Goyave was great, as were the tour guide and driver. Once at the nutmeg cooperative plant it was neat to see all of the manual processing - also interesting to see bags of nutmeg labelled for shipping to various parts of the world, including Canada. Although there was a sign saying no photography a guy who walked us around the plant said to go ahead if we wanted to "coz the bossman ain't here today". Very friendly and informative folks including the ladies. Just this visit made the cost of the tour worth the money. Would recommend this tour since after the co-operative you travel to the Dougaldston Estate to see other spices and cocoa being processed, again in a labour intensive manner. Very very interesting. The waterfalls were a bit disappointing as were the "divers" who wanted to be paid to jump into the water - not very impressive having seen the divers at Acapulco and the falls at Niagara! However, the travel through the jungle was impressive - as was the old guy offering "something to brighten your day" - I just quit smoking so didn't partake!! Overall a very enjoyable way to spend 4 hours at a very reasonable cost.

Date of experience: April 2014
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews