We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,755)
Filter reviews
5,755 results
Traveller rating
3,651
1,507
443
106
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,651
1,507
443
106
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jazz bar diamond club el caribe butler service seafood big alex a la carte restaurants tex mex hour bistro buffet restaurant the caribbean restaurant cuban sandwich ice cream parlour beach restaurant personal butler main bar foam party
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 5,755 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

My partner and i have just returned from this hotel after a 2 week stay.Overall we had a wonderful time, the staff here go the extra mile to ensure your holiday is a good experience.Our junior suite was very comfortable and the maid service was excellent, the grounds were lovely and beach was divine.The buffet however was not up to the same standards though, meats were overcooked and often only lukewarm the vegetables mainly undercooked and also lukewarm at best, the variety of salad on offer was terrible and at peak times you could could spend 5 minutes just trying to find a plate to eat off which invariably would be cold when you did find one.Overall a great holiday destination with poor food.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sanders0n40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto A, General Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear sanders0n40,

Thank you very much for your preference in Royalton Hicacos, we highly appreciate your visit.

Allow me to let you know that we work very hard in order to always exceed your expectations and I am truly happy to know that we have achieve this by providing you with attention to detail, unique service, and staff members that are truly dedicated to serving.

Please accept our sincere apologies if by any reason the food did not meet your expectations. Know that we will be very attentive to your next visit; I am sure that our executive chef will be glad to prepare special dishes for your enjoyment.

I look forward for to another opportunity to welcome you.

Sincerely,

Ernesto Andrades
General Manager at Royalton Hicacos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

The location of the hotel is one of the best in Varadero with an exceptionally beautiful and long beach. Probably only in the Maldives you can get the similar experience.
The hotel itself is a really nice Caribbean design with spacious, comfortable rooms. Plenty of different restaurants, cigar bar, jazz bar, ice cream shop. The garden and the swimming pools are stunning! There are lots of different great entertainments and events during the day. The big lobby bar is a perfect place to have your special cocktails, rum and of course your cigar. Some of the bands playing there at evening are exceptionally good!
Truly amazing and extremely helpful staff throughout the hotel!!
Mariela the Front Office Manager and Saskia the Room Divison Manager are the masters of the hospitality, their professionalism make you feel looked after on the highest level and gives the guarantee that your holiday is in the best ever hands! Angel who is part of the great butler team can sorts you out all of your needs and any kind of special request. His personality and smile makes your day just simply perfect. Cheily from the bar is just simply amazing and unbelievably polite! If you’re having muscle problems or just your body needs a really good massage, there is a super professional masseur, Lilien!! I arrived to the hotel with a serious shoulder pain (suffering from that already more than a month, trying previously acupuncture, other treatments) and she completely sorted out with two massage sessions!! Big special thank you again for her!!!
The list of the names can be endless but in this way would like to say thank you for everyone to make me special there and to turn my holiday into an amazing experience.
Thank you again Royalton Hicacos, well done and keep doing this way!!

Do not forget to take cash with you because no ATM machine near by!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank CSABA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto A, General Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018


Dear CSABA67,

Please receive warm greetings from all of our staff at Royalton Hicacos.

Allow me to thank you for your kind review. This is highly important to us.

I am happy to know you are satisfied with the fantastic service provided. Please know that our goal is to exceed your expectations by providing you an oustanding service and pleasing your needs by being very attentive towards them.

I will be sure to recognize Mariela, Saskia, Angel, Cheily and Lilien for an outstanding service. I am sure they will be proud to know that their hard work is appreciated.

We all look forward to welcome you, once again, to create more unforgettable experiences.

Best Regards,

Ernesto Andrades
General Manager at Royalton Hicacos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

A beautiful hotel. Very relaxing with beautiful staff. Would highly recommend but the food is a bit hit and miss. It is not great but ok. Would like to go again but hope they do improve in respect of the food. The entertainment during the day and during the night was out of this world. Very different. On a Thursday they had a foam pool party which was really fun. The pools are incredible and the beach is out of this world. It was like being in paradise.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank channerlindabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto A, General Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Receive a trendy regard from Royalton Hicacos,

Our principal objective is to make an unforgettable experience the vacation of our visitors and we are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay at Royalton Hicacos.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our facilities and services offered to you by our staff were to your fullest satisfaction.
We are sincerely looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in our resort and assure you that you will enjoy even superior services and facilities on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ernesto Andrades
General Manager at Royalton Hicacos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Just returned from veradero Cuba we had a great time the royalton hicacos is a lovely hotel friendly helpful staff nothing is too much trouble the only downside was the buffet restaurant the food wasn’t hot and the same every day also the Mediterranean restaurant the food was ok at least it was hot but they are continually pestering you while eating and even giving you surveys to fill in not what you want when your eating all the other restaurants was good never heard anyone complain about them .the grounds are kept clean and tidy all in all a good hotel

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto A, General Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear Carol P,

We really appreciate to receive your feedback about your stay at Royalton Hicacos for us is really important our guests opinions we will improve the excellence in our service in order to provide the best quality to you.

It would be a pleasure to show you how we can change our facilities and offer you a more enjoyable holidays. If you give us the chance on your next visit to Varadero.

With my best greetings and regards,

Ernesto Andrades
General Manager at Royalton Hicacos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

My wife and I stayed here in September. The hotel overall is good but is let down by the restaurants which have inconstant service and food quality. We found that you can have a good meal one night and order the same meal in the same restaurant a few nights later and its cooked bad or arrives cold.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank colingoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto A, General Manager at Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear colingoona,

Thank you very much for your preference in Royalton Hicacos, we highly appreciate your visit.

Please accept our sincere apologies if by any reason the food did not meet your expectations. Know that we will be very attentive to your next visit; I am sure that our executive chef will be glad to prepare special dishes for your enjoyment.

Know that your comments are highly important to us in order to improve in every single aspect.

I look forward for to another opportunity to welcome you.

Sincerely,

Ernesto Andrades
General Manager at Royalton Hicacos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews