We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest reef n the world!!”

Bonaire National Marine Park
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Kralendijk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular area that boasts countless dive sites, many reachable from shore, and more than 70 sites with boat moorings.
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We come here every May for a few weeks and then go in November to other islands. We are here right now and a woman told me she was a Hawaii snob so she didn’t love Bonaire. Of course she was here on a cruise ship, polluting the environment so good for her. If you care about the earth and the reef come here. It is heaven.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"shore diving"
in 140 reviews
"dive sites"
in 113 reviews
"fish"
in 195 reviews
"great diving"
in 47 reviews
"divers and snorkelers"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful reefs"
in 16 reviews
"entry exit"
in 11 reviews
"hilma hooker"
in 19 reviews
"clear water"
in 15 reviews
"the entire island"
in 15 reviews
"sea life"
in 35 reviews
"pickup truck"
in 10 reviews
"salt pier"
in 25 reviews
"underwater world"
in 10 reviews
"west side"
in 10 reviews
"buddy dive"
in 10 reviews
"octopus"
in 21 reviews
Filter

70 - 74 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2018

The park has one large dirt road in poor condition. There are places to see the shore and swim. A few lakes have beautiful pink flamingos but the cactus is so thick it is impossible to get off the road and right of way areas. Much of the shore line is vertical and beach entry is limited. The diving is good and your annual dive pass will get you into the park free. There is a nice museum of the history of Bonaire and the park at the entry. It is a day trip as the drive around is one way and can take several hours.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank 779travelguy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

The water is so clear you can see forever and we had our best snorkelling here. We visited Coco beach and the waters surrounding Bonaire form part of the official Bonaire National Marine Park and while this beach area is quite small it does have some coral mixed in with the sand.

I would recommend wearing swim shoes and have a stock of small bills to pay for any beverages and food you may require. We used an underwater camera and got some great shots.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank joy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We've seen changes in the reefs and the island over the past 9 years we've visited. Nevertheless, it's still one of the best diving & snorkeling destinations in the Caribbean.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank anegada2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018

It's wonderful to step right outside of your hotel/condo, don equipment anytime of night and day to dive and/or snorkel. At times the visibility can be up to 80 feet! Make sure to buy a national park tag good for a year ($10 snorkeling/swimming $30 diving). A small price to pay for such beauty!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank lonah457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonaire National Marine Park also viewed

 

Been to Bonaire National Marine Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing