We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
149
78
15
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
78
15
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurrounding mountainsbreakfast and dinnervalle d'aostaaosta valleybasebalconynumberendmenuroadparkwalks
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Gioacchino and Bruno are the quintessential host - discreet, warm and very attentive.
The location is simply the BEST location in Valle d'Aosta.
The food is to die for (arrive hungry for dinner... antipasto, primo, secondo, dessert ... a feast of good food).
Not luxurious but very clean. Get a room with balcony mountain side and you will never want to leave!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Daniela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

We were undecided until the last minute because the weather was meant to be very bad all week. We decided to go anyway and stayed for 5 nights in a half board basis. Once arrived, Bruno, the hotel co-owner, gave us a very warm welcome and told us they were at our disposal. On top of it, virtually everyone else had cancelled because of the weather so we pretty much had the hotel for ourselves. We couldn't have been happier: Bruno was incredibly kind and helpful all round - from accommodating our dietary needs (they were fantastic in catering for us, with tasty and varied food, ample portions, impeccable service, and the lots of tea we asked for!), to giving great advice on which hikes to go onto, full flexibility on meal times and check out time etc.
Gioacchino, the other co-owner, was also incredibly helpful, as were Sofia at the restaurant and Marco the chef. Such a great bunch of people.
The room was comfortable and the location just perfect, right in the middle of the Gran Paradiso national park. 5 days of bliss, and the weather was actually fine!
We were absolutely taken aback by such courtesy - we left with a hug like long-time friends. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Tough to rate...it's a 3* hotel in a 5* location...

This hotel is literally at the end of the road in the park. The views from our room... 14... Were gorgeous... We watched the light change in the white mountains and the ibex and chamois graze from our little balcony. You are in the park and there are many trails all around.

The woman who serves breakfast ( lots of choices, and beautiful sweets, but not much proteins...) spoke almost no English, but was very kind and efficient.

Our room was not large, but was very clean. There was quite a lot of noise from upstairs rooms...heavy walker or maybe maintenance?

There was no heat or hot water the last day and night... These things happen and we understand. The water there runs from clear to quite brown....we were told not to drink it, but bottles were never left in our room...we needed to drink quite a lot because of long hikes and the altitude. On checkout, we were charged for only some of the water...?? So bring a lot of water if you come.

BTW...it snowed a good 6+ inches on our last night, but the drive down was no problem at all.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

I love Pont Valsavarenche since the first time: 1980
The Hotel is more recent, and offers a perfect balance between quality and price.
You can feel at home, enjoy a friendly but professional atmosphere, very good cuisine. Recommended in all seasons, the last time of my stay was in January, but also in summer and fall in previous years.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
Thank aval55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

Our room, number 22, was on the top floor and had a balcony and the most amazing view of the valley and glacier. The shower is tiny, but the room was very comfortable. The cost of the room was very reasonable, and the dinners were very good, very gourmet. Breakfast was good, too, with a very nice man serving you the coffee drink of your choice. I didn't see any internet terminal in the hotel, but I did see a sign in Italian advertising internet usage at a local library down the valley. Most of the trails in the area are quite steep, climbing about 2500 feet, but there was one easier trail number 4 about 10 minutes down the road, a closed road that passed through a tunnel (good idea to bring a flashlight for this) that had beautiful mountain views, marmots, and still lots of flowers in bloom in mid-September. I read that the bus from Aosta stops coming to the hotel on September 8. This is just such a pretty valley to explore, with almost no development, just hiking trails and this hotel and adjacent campground. My only complaint was that we were not told that the adjacent small store, the rifugio 10 minutes away, and the Vittorio Emmanuele rifugio up the trail would close on September 15. There were no signs saying this. Luckily, we had bought cheese and bread at the store the day before so we had things to eat for lunch (the hotel lunch room only served drinks and pastries on September 15). This was such a nice, peaceful place to relax after the crowds of the Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gioacchino-Bruno, Proprietario at Hotel Gran Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about your experience in our hotel. We are delighted to read that you have appreciated the room, the food and the staff.
Valsavarenche is ideal for nature and mountains lovers and also for everyone who wants to see wild animals, in every season. It's common to meet them, very closely.
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews