We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable...”

Dalgarven House Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Kilwinning
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed overnight on business, the room was a little tired and could do with a deep clean but for somewhere cheap to stay at short notice it was fine. I didn’t use the pub in the evening but breakfast was great with large portions. Not bad at all!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank JD2678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

2nd time we've tried here and it's the last, service was good but food was terrible, soup tasted off, pastry in steak pie had hairs on it, the veg looked dried up as if it wasn't fresh, the chips were a disgrace as if they have been back heat, we did tell the waitress and manager when asked how food was, we didn't want a replacement dish and left one full plate and a half eaten one, when we went to pay manager gave me a full price bill, I had to tell her I would only be paying for one meal. Found that a bit of a cheek, so nope won't be back,

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volker and Alex... S, Owner at Dalgarven House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear David

i thank you for taking the time to write your review, you raised the issue with an hair on your steak pie pastry at the time but did not let us exchange your meals, after inspecting the other pastry lids in the kitchen, we realized that some bristles from the egg wash brush must have come loose, subsequently we changed our pastry brushes to silicone brushes which will never shed a bristle.
It is unfortunate that you did not give us the opportunity to exchange your meal and we accept your decision that you will want to give your business to an other establishment.

Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I attended a family celebration here. They obviously knew it was happening as it had been booked but they had hardly any staff on. One staff in the bar serving a party isn't enough. The price of the drinks was pretty steep top

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Maryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volker and Alex... S, Owner at Dalgarven House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Maryann

i thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback, unfortunately you did not mention when you attended your family celebration, since we host quite a number of events here at the hotel, it is difficult for me to investigate your comments, to see if we did not roster enough staff as you suggested or if staff possibly left their work stations.
We are a restaurant and hotel and our prices compare very favorably with our competitors but we are of course priced higher than pubs or similar in the local area.
We thrive to offer good value for money with all the services and goods we provide i was sorry to hear that you feel our driinks are too expensive.

Regards

Volker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic food, service excellent and prices very reasonable. Amazing lunch .
Staff friendly and helpful, can’t do enough for you. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank stephen652017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Burgh dinner.
Good choice on limited menu.
Meal well presented and tasty, staff friendly and happy to help.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volker and Alex... S, Manager at Dalgarven House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind review, it was a pleasure to have your group in for their January dinner, we tried to balance the choices for the dinner with the need to provide a efficient and timely service for your group of 80 guests,
Great to hear that all the planning fell into place and the dinner run very smoothly.
Regards
Volker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dalgarven House Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Kilwinning, North Ayrshire
Kilwinning, North Ayrshire
 
Kilwinning, North Ayrshire
Kilwinning, North Ayrshire
 
Irvine, North Ayrshire
Dalry, North Ayrshire
 

Been to Dalgarven House Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing