We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
74
16
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
74
16
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free soft drinks nearby clinic free shuttle usb ports great location hand soap bus station stay there again seater sofa room space kansai airport family room within mins walking distance boutique hotel massage chair excellent hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2020 via mobile

We recently stayed here in Family Room 2 with 2 adults and 2 teenagers. The room is spacious with two large king beds, a couch and a bigger than normal hotel fridge (even had a freezer drawer). The foyer is lovely with free drinks all day/night and an area to sit and eat (they do not serve food though - you need to bring your own). There is a 24hr laundry and so many USB ports in the room I’m not sure anyone would ever travel with enough devices to used them all.

The location is fantastic - a quick walk from namba station (use exit 26) which has subway, JR and Kansai airport train stations. It’s also located right next to Dotonbori with tonnes of restaurants and street food options available.

If you’re a lover of soft beds you might be out of luck. The beds were firm, but still comfortable.

Would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Almost forgot - they also have free massage chairs in the foyer and a pool table.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Crocusflower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigthyEight H, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2020

Greetings from Hotel 88
Thank you for having a good evaluation. We are making an effort every day to be able to offer cozy space. We are looking forward to seeing you again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2019

I spent four days in Osaka for hols and found the 88 Hotel very pleasant. The location is excellent both for getting to and from the airport (Namba station) as well as the subway, which I used all the time in Osaka. The staff was pleasant and helpful with directions and on the day I left drove me from the hotel to Namba to get the train to the airport. The room was very clean and quiet. In the room I was not aware of anyone else, and while the room looked on to the street below, I never heard any street noise. At check-in I was told there is a bar service area with drinks. I only had a coffee there the first morning, but it was rather weak so I opted in the future to go out to the street and find a place. Definitely a good place to stay.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigthyEight H, Front Desk at Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2019

Dear Doug,

Thank you very much for you kind words. We're pleased you found the location excellent in terms of travel and happy to hear that you found the lift to the station beneficial. We're glad you found the room to your liking and of an adequate size. Thank you also for enjoying our drinks bar and exploring the surrounding shops. We hope you found a nice cafe or restaurant to relax in. If you ever decide to go back to Osaka in the near future, do consider staying with us again!

Warmest Regards,

Hotel 88 SHinsaibashi
Duncan Gallienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2019 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi for 4 nights in Nov 2019. It was a cute boutique hotel! Room was spacious with a queen-sized bed and a super single bed which is very comfortable for the 3 of us. Also has a 3-seater sofa, a good sized fridge and a rectangular table. Location was perfect. 3 Mins walk from exit 25 of Namba station. But it's all steps. Exit 24 has an escalator if you have luggages. Family Mart and 7-eleven along the route to hotel. Good to get snacks and ramen for midnight suppers on the way home. Hotel provides hot n cold beverages in the pantry area. Loved the green tea latte! Hotel also provides a free shuttle to Namba station upon checkout but it starts only from 8am. So for those who have an early flight out, you need to make your own way to Namba station to take the Nankai train back to Kansai airport. Nankai train runs regularly at 20mins interval and costs 920yen per way. Cheapest option to airport which takes around 50mins. Namba station has many underground shops and is the interchange for many lines. Very convenient as a base for Osaka sightseeing and also to the outskirts. Would highly recommend a stay there!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank happytraveller215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigthyEight H, Front Desk at Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Dear Happytraveller215,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We really appreciate your comments on the finer details of your stay. We're pleased that you found the location convenient in the city and that transportation was sufficiently close. Thank you also for your comments on the room you stayed in. It makes us happy that you enjoyed all that was included and that your stay with us was a comfortable one. We hope you would consider staying with us once more if you decide to visit Osaka again in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi
Duncan Gallienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2019 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights recently. Great location close to trains and subway also close to night life of Osaka. Staff went out of there way to help even giving us a lift to station with baggage to catch the airport train. Highly recommend

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank katie3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigthyEight H, Front Desk at Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Dear Katie,

Thank you for your feedback. We're pleased that you found transportation services to be sufficiently close to the hotel. We understand the importance for our guests to be able to move around the city with ease. It was our pleasure to assist you with catching a train to the airport. We take pride in being able to assist our guests toward their next destination. We hope that you would consider staying with us again if you decide to come back to Osaka in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi
Duncan Gallienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2019

I stayed in a corner twin room (annex) for 6 nights during my stay in Osaka- a perfect size for 2 person, space sufficient for 2 mid-size luggages. The room equipped with very basic, but very thoughtful and useful things for traveller, e.g., USB multi-port charger, many hangers, hand soap, humidifier, water, slippers, wall sensor lamp, etc. Room is very clean, bed is hard enough and very comfortable with 2 high pillow for each bed.

Location of the hotel is extremely convenient, within 5 minutes walk to Dotonburi River Walk, Shinsaibashi Shopping Street, and Namba metro station. It's tucked in one corner of Dotonburi, away from the crowd and noises, which is perfect for rest and relax.

The staff is very helpful and polite. I would like to specially thank the owner, Ms Xu (the chief Manager) and her staff Mr Duncan and Mr Lee for their help and arrangement to the nearby clinic when my son fell sick. The owner make an extra effort to specially send us to the clinic and arrange Duncan and Ms Xu to be our translator. This is something that really warm my heart. If you need translation in Chinese, you can approach Ms Xu; if you need English translation, approach Mr Duncan, both of them are very helpful.

I will definitely stay in this hotel, if I'm travelling to Osaka in the future.

Thank you for making our stay a memorable one.

Room tip: Corner unit are slightly bigger space.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephkhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EigthyEight H, フロント at Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Dear Mr. Khoo,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We really appreciate that you you enjoyed your room and that the available features provided were suited to your needs. We're glad that the hotel's location is to your liking and that it is close enough to points of interest.

It was our pleasure to help you during the time your son was unwell. We understand that encountering a problem such as sickness during your travels can be distressing, especially when immersed in a unfamiliar environment. Both I and Ms Xu, as well as the rest of the staff, are pleased that you felt comfortable during this time and we appreciate your recommendation. We hope that all is well with your son and that you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Please stay with us again if you decided to visit Osaka in the future!

Warmest Regards,

Duncan
Hotel88 Shinsaibashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews