We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
74
16
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
74
16
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2019 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi for 4 nights in Nov 2019. It was a cute boutique hotel! Room was spacious with a queen-sized bed and a super single bed which is very comfortable for the 3 of us. Also has a 3-seater sofa, a good sized fridge and a rectangular table. Location was perfect. 3 Mins walk from exit 25 of Namba station. But it's all steps. Exit 24 has an escalator if you have luggages. Family Mart and 7-eleven along the route to hotel. Good to get snacks and ramen for midnight suppers on the way home. Hotel provides hot n cold beverages in the pantry area. Loved the green tea latte! Hotel also provides a free shuttle to Namba station upon checkout but it starts only from 8am. So for those who have an early flight out, you need to make your own way to Namba station to take the Nankai train back to Kansai airport. Nankai train runs regularly at 20mins interval and costs 920yen per way. Cheapest option to airport which takes around 50mins. Namba station has many underground shops and is the interchange for many lines. Very convenient as a base for Osaka sightseeing and also to the outskirts. Would highly recommend a stay there!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank happytraveller215
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EigthyEight H, Front Desk at Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Dear Happytraveller215,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We really appreciate your comments on the finer details of your stay. We're pleased that you found the location convenient in the city and that transportation was sufficiently close. Thank you also for your comments on the room you stayed in. It makes us happy that you enjoyed all that was included and that your stay with us was a comfortable one. We hope you would consider staying with us once more if you decide to visit Osaka again in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi
Duncan Gallienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2019 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights recently. Great location close to trains and subway also close to night life of Osaka. Staff went out of there way to help even giving us a lift to station with baggage to catch the airport train. Highly recommend

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank katie3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EigthyEight H, Front Desk at Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Dear Katie,

Thank you for your feedback. We're pleased that you found transportation services to be sufficiently close to the hotel. We understand the importance for our guests to be able to move around the city with ease. It was our pleasure to assist you with catching a train to the airport. We take pride in being able to assist our guests toward their next destination. We hope that you would consider staying with us again if you decide to come back to Osaka in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi
Duncan Gallienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2019

I stayed in a corner twin room (annex) for 6 nights during my stay in Osaka- a perfect size for 2 person, space sufficient for 2 mid-size luggages. The room equipped with very basic, but very thoughtful and useful things for traveller, e.g., USB multi-port charger, many hangers, hand soap, humidifier, water, slippers, wall sensor lamp, etc. Room is very clean, bed is hard enough and very comfortable with 2 high pillow for each bed.

Location of the hotel is extremely convenient, within 5 minutes walk to Dotonburi River Walk, Shinsaibashi Shopping Street, and Namba metro station. It's tucked in one corner of Dotonburi, away from the crowd and noises, which is perfect for rest and relax.

The staff is very helpful and polite. I would like to specially thank the owner, Ms Xu (the chief Manager) and her staff Mr Duncan and Mr Lee for their help and arrangement to the nearby clinic when my son fell sick. The owner make an extra effort to specially send us to the clinic and arrange Duncan and Ms Xu to be our translator. This is something that really warm my heart. If you need translation in Chinese, you can approach Ms Xu; if you need English translation, approach Mr Duncan, both of them are very helpful.

I will definitely stay in this hotel, if I'm travelling to Osaka in the future.

Thank you for making our stay a memorable one.

Room tip: Corner unit are slightly bigger space.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephkhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EigthyEight H, フロント at Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Dear Mr. Khoo,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We really appreciate that you you enjoyed your room and that the available features provided were suited to your needs. We're glad that the hotel's location is to your liking and that it is close enough to points of interest.

It was our pleasure to help you during the time your son was unwell. We understand that encountering a problem such as sickness during your travels can be distressing, especially when immersed in a unfamiliar environment. Both I and Ms Xu, as well as the rest of the staff, are pleased that you felt comfortable during this time and we appreciate your recommendation. We hope that all is well with your son and that you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Please stay with us again if you decided to visit Osaka in the future!

Warmest Regards,

Duncan
Hotel88 Shinsaibashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2019

If you wan to stay in Dōtonbori to shop and eat, just stay at this fabulous hotel! Tucked in one corner of Dōtonbori and within 5 mins walk to train - you can really walk back and drop your shopping stuff and go back Dōtonbori to eat and shop again. Lawson and 7-11 just 3 mins away.
1. Room is super spacious & feels really home- hangars on wall, hand soap, strong water, very clean everywhere, there's even branded humidifier in room! The bed is big and clean. Enough room to put 3 big luggage and still have room to walk around.
3. Staff - very polite and even offered us short ride to the OCAT when we have 5 bags
4. Hotel amenities - well stocked pantry with lotsa of water to choose at the lobby, though they recommend you not to bring the beverages back to room. of course the reason is to keep room clean. weighing scale for your luggage at the hotel entrance.

Room for improvement
1. no Eng channels, all are local channels and no subtitles. but then you can rest early.
2. room is not even floored - there's step to the bathroom and step to the room. so might not be convenient for elders

Room tip: choose higher floors for view
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonJYLoveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EigthyEight H, マネージャー at Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Dear Mr./Ms DonJY,

Thank you kindly for your pleasant and useful feedback. We're glad our location is to your satisfaction. We take pride in the quality and cleanliness of our rooms and that the size was to your liking. Thank you for enjoying our free drinks bar service and understanding how to use it. We want guests to be as comfortable as possible when using the lobby area. We appreciate suggestions for improvement. We're always looking to make the stay of our guests pleasant for all ages. If you do come back to Osaka, we'd be happy to have you stay with us again!

Yours sincerely,

Duncan Gallienne
Hotel88 Shinsaibashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2019

Clean and fresh hotel located in a fabulous spot with easy access to the enormous Namba Station for both JR and Metro trains - walking distance to Dotonbori eating streets and Shinsaibashi shopping and cool cafes. The staff were lovely and helpful with drinks available all day and night in the lobby and cafe style tables where you can byo food, with a 7-11 50m up the road this was very handy. The rooms were well appointed with everything you need and even bedside multi usb chargers which made my kids VERY happy. I also used the laundry after 5 days travelling it was very welcome! I'd happily stay there again if i went back to Osaka.

Room tip: We had an annex double and an annex twin for the kids across the hall - noise was ok by big city standards.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archimum77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
EigthyEight H, マネージャー at Hotel 88 Shinsaibashi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Dear Mr./Ms. archimum77,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the surrounding area. We're glad that you and your children we're content with the features of your room. We're always looking to improve the experience for our guests and your feedback is very valuable to us. Thank you for using our laundry facilities. It is our pleasure to provide this service during your long stay. If you decide to return to Osaka, by all means, do stay with us again!

Your sincerely,

Duncan Gallienne
Hotel88 Shinsaibashi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews