We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
132
94
16
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
94
16
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We had an enjoyable stay here for one night. They just don't do hotels like this anymore - this is an old hotel from the early Taiwan days. Though the age of the hotel is evident in some facilities, it is really good value for money. Extremely spacious, good huge beds, balcony, and amenities. There is even a swimming pool, tennis court, billard, golf driving range, gym...etc. free for use. It is not close to the metro but there is a free shuttle bus. Breakfast buffet is good too. Staff service is friendly. We would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Climber764558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Kaohsiung and the Grand Hotel Taipei during our MAR18 vacation. The Grand in Kaohsiung seemed tired; the exterior needed a little paint and our room/bathroom needed to be updated. A stronger favorable impression might have been made if the fountain in front of the property had been operating. I can't remember the last time I stayed at a large hotel where I was given an actual metal key, and not a card for room access. The hotel entrance, the building, and the lobby are impressive, and so is the front desk staff.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Our stay was great! Very friendly and helpful staff! The chocolate puffs sold in the lobby were exceptionally tasty.
The only negative thing to note was that as a vegetarian you could only have two dishes of the otherwise extensive dinner buffet.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank wookiedabest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Director at The Grand Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear wookiedabest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review and recommendation. We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience on that your stay with us; and appreciate your valuable feedback on our dinner buffet.
We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.
Kindest regards,
Director, Chris Chen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018 via mobile

Rooms, doors, beds in the hotel all are so big~~You can stroll around the hotel, play tennis, swim, work out....and so on. The environment is really great and you can experience Chinese culture due to its architect
Breakfast is good and abundent, too.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank 曉芙 陳
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, 協理 at The Grand Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear 曉芙 陳,
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review and recommendation. We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience on that your stay with us; and appreciate your valuable feedback on our rooms and facilities.
We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.
Kindest regards,
Chris Chen, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

As another traveller put it perfectly, "dated elegance". Rooms are huge and balconies make for great photo ops. Breakfast buffet was very nice. I personally did not sleep well as the pillow was very thick and too firm for me. If staying another night I'm sure a thinner pillow could have been requested. Counter staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Facing lake
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keelungtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, 協理 at The Grand Hotel Kaohsiung, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear Keelungtourist,
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review and recommendation. We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience on that your stay with us; and appreciate your valuable feedback on our rooms and restaurants.
We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.
Kindest regards,
Chris Chen, Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews