We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
57
45
13
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
45
13
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsviewing platformsugar glidersnight viewingatherton tablelandsclose rangea slight musty smellshort driverecreation roomabundant bird lifebedroom lodgegreat base to explorefantastic spotbrush turkeybush turkeysbeautiful lakeself contained accommodationevery evening
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. The good points are it's rainforest location, the size of the rooms, information provided and the gliders viewing area. However as others have said with a little tlc it could be much better. We had problems with no hot water which was an issue when going on an early tour. It appeared this happens frequently but was quickly fixed once reported. The rooms do have a strange odour, which I don't think the airfresheners helped. I appreciate that a dampness will occur in this type of environment but have stayed in similar areas which don't have this issue. It was very cold when we visited despite the small portable heater. Also questioned on check out about payment despite this being taken by the same person 2 days earlier, which was disappointing.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ATraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

Probably the place I was least thrilled about on our east coast road trip but my wife insisted. She was right to!

A lovely self catering unit on stilts was our home for 3 nights, it was as secluded as you can possibly imagine despite having 5 other units nearby you would never know it.

What other retreat can offer you a 20m walk to a spot where you can relax and watch Sugar Gliders, Striped Possums, Uromys, Bandicoots, Melomys, Antechinus? If you wander a few m the other way toward the yoga lodge and pool complex you will likely have to dodge a couple of wallabies. It was a genuinely astounding place and I absolutely loved every moment.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Well wow. What an amazing place to see sugar gliders, little possums and a beautiful chuwawa:)

Very disappointed in the loudness of backpackers drinking while we watched the sugar gliders in the night. The heater was broken, however the owners provided a little heater which was great.

Bigg bigg down fall. The place was damp, cool with the smell of mildew though out the room. I understand being in the rainforest and wet season, however it was disgusting. We didn't sleep under sheets, rather on top on the bed. The big couches smelt of mildew and were damp and dirty. The shower wasnt cleaned properly. After speaking with management there reply was "there's nothing we can do, it's a rainforest". Unacceptable after paying $150. Never again

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bubble2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

My husband and I stayed with his family and the experience was great! We wanted somewhere quiet to stay after our wedding and this was definitely an ideal location. The rooms are very quiet and having no phone service was even better! We actually were able to spend some quality time with our family without the disruptions of them looking at their phones every two seconds. The wildlife is also amazing and the sugargliders are so cute!! I would recommend these lodges to anyone wanting a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennajj05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Situated in the serene surroundings of the lush rainforest around Lake Eacham. This is the perfect base to explore the Atherton tablelands. The accommodation is not fancy but is comfortable and roomy, clean and is well equipped. The kids will love the pool and games room too. But the reason we came back was because of the incredible bird life and wildlife. Where else will you see so readily striped possums, sugar gliders, leaf tailed geckos and red legged pademelons in one place? Whether educating your kids about our awesome local nature, enjoying the Tablelands, hiking or into wildlife photography, Chambers is a great place to stay. Staff are super friendly and helpful, as was Honey, the adorable puppy!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews