We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
59
45
13
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
45
13
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews viewing platform sugar gliders night viewing atherton tablelands close range a slight musty smell short drive bedroom lodge abundant bird life fantastic spot brush turkey bush turkeys self contained accommodation beautiful lake every evening plenty of hot water fantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Apologies for the late review! We visited in early April this year. The location was well signed and we found it easily. In arrival we were impressed with the gorgeous location in the forest. One of the first things we saw was a pademelon! The staff were very friendly and helpful and had switched our booking by a day due to an unforseen medical issue which delayed our arrival. At no extra cost too I might add. We shortly found our lodge which was a little rustic but clean and comfortable. We were advised to put some fruit out on the balcony and sure enough that brought in some cool birds, including the hoped for Victoria's Riflebird and Catbird. Smart! Birding and wildlife watching was generally excellent and we jammed views of Platypus nearby in the creek by Yungaburra. We had a nocturnal trip out with a wildlife guide Alan Gillanders which was great and I went birding with him the next day. Our only disappointment was that due to some evening rain, the Sugar Gliders failed to show up at the honey lick. However we did get a stonking Striped Possum which more than made up for it! All in all, the whole experience was brilliant and I can thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank jdl2015york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Stayed over for 2 nights, fantastic location and the lady at reception was very helpful, and gave us some fantastic ideas of what to do, something that we wouldn't normally do as didn't know about it but all of her suggestions were fantastic.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank monique09003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We spent a week here with the full family (grandparents, parents and kids) and enjoyed ourselves, it's a great place to explore the tablelands. Several mornings we had a riflebird and a catbird come to eat scraps off our balcony, which was fantastic. Also saw lots of pademelons, honeyeaters and of course turkeys, but the one night we went to the viewing platform nothing showed up (but kids didn't have much patience so we only stayed for 10 mins).
Rooms were fairly simple and a bit cramped, and main area had zero shelving meaning we had to store all our food on the floor! I'm fairly sure all the appliances were older than me, but did the job.
Overall, beautiful location with adequate facilities.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mikrakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

I had searched for somewhere to stay on our trip from outback Queensland towards cairns. I had come across Chambers possum viewing and just had to say.
We were not disappointed one bit. Amazing place

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank rebeccaweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The lodges are located in the forests of Lake Eacham on the Atherton Tableland. The room was good and the facilities for cooking adequate. But this is a lodge not a 5 star hotel. What we particularly liked were the birds. We were told to cut up fruit and put it on the railing of our deck. We attracted some beautiful birds including Victoria's rifle bird, spotted catbird and honeyeaters. We were also visited by a very large orange-brown possum one night. We also liked the honey trees that were lit at night and we watched the sugar gliders and striped possums eating the honey. It is a lovely quiet and peaceful place and we got very helpful advice on the birds and animals in the area around.

Room Tip: We had an 'end' room with trees to the side where the birds that took the fruit went to eat. Good for photography.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Avril W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews