We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Azienda Agricola Leonardi Giovanni
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great place to discover modena vinager

We arrived with short notice and Federica put us in the next tour, even if we were a big group she... read more

Reviewed 7 October 2018
larteaga91
,
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
via mobile
What a treat!

We arrived without a tour reservation and greeted by the lovely Federica who gave us a special... read more

Reviewed 20 July 2018
Traveller-SMR
,
Canberra, Australia
Read all 227 reviews
  
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
209
15
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
15
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balsamic vinegar wooden barrels salad our tour guide bread gift shop wonderful experience lambrusco wine pizza at home whole process light lunch high quality the real deal short notice traditional family family run
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Our B&B host recommended and reserved us a tour. We had a short, but comprehensive private tour in English that included some education, history, and most importantly tasting! We were not pushed to buy any product at the end, but ended up taking home 10 bottles of different balsamic vinegars due to quality and taste. Would highly recommend stopping by if you are in Modena.

Thank StefanieMarie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Showed up an hour early for our tour and they didn't make us wait. The experience was wonderful. The passion shown for this product and its history is welcoming in an age where profits overshadow quality. One taste and you wonder what you've been consuming all these years. How often in life can you sample a food product that's over 100 years old?!

Thank I_Am_Guy_Incognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

My mother, father and I, along with Giacomo, our tour guide for the day, visited Leonardi for a tour in November 2017. What an amazing treat! This is a family-run balsamic producer, and have been making and perfecting balsamico for several hundred years - it is evident the pride they take in their products! It was a rainy, gloomy day, but the colorful fall vineyards popped with color! Our tour guide, Victoria, was as lovely and sweet as they come. She was personable, exceptionally knowledgeable, and so comfortable to be with. We were fortunate to have a private tour, and then to be joined by three gentlemen from Germany - we had a ball visiting all the different cask rooms and tasting the fabulous balsamic - some of it 100 years old! The different woods the casks are made from, along with how the vinegar is rotated from one cask to another, and the length of time it is aged is all up to the vinegar master. Victoria explained how all these variables affect the difference in flavors of vinegars, which cause the different vinegars to pair well with different foods, much like wine. It is all a fascinating process, one that we were so happy to learn about at Leonardi. We then had a pre-arranged light lunch of meats, cheeses, breads, jams and vinegars - it was all delicious! The staff were all amazing hosts, and we felt so welcomed the entire time. It was very hard to decide which products we wanted to purchase - everything we tasted was amazing. If you are looking for an authentic experience to enjoy and learn about one of the best products made in Italy, Leonardi is not to be missed. Thank you for such a wonderful experience!

Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

We randomly picked this acetaia after seeing their balsamic vinegar in a local shop and we were so glad we did! The tour guide was a member of the family who owns the business and she spoke excellent English. Plus, since she had grown up around the business she knew it inside and out. She was also full of personality and just a really lovely person. Make sure to call ahead and reserve a tour time if you need an English speaking guide.

The acetaia itself is a comparatively small family owned operation still run in the traditional family way and was a wonderful learning experience. We were able to see the process almost from start to finish (except that it was winter, so no grapes) and were allowed to taste 50 and 100 year vinegars directly from centuries old casks (divine!). Those tastes alone were easily worth the tour price. They have a wonderful gift shop where you can purchase all sorts of items in addition to tasting vinegars and cheeses. An added bonus was that from what I could tell, their vinegars are comparatively very reasonably priced. I highly recommend this place!

Thank LuziAnne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

First of all, they were kind and flexible enough to accommodate us (couple) without an advance reservation. The premises are charming and the vineyards are just next to it. The short tour was quite informative and interesting. Highlight is being treated to a tasting of a 100-year-old aceto. Where in the world will you receive such generosity? They have a wide range of quality products to sample and bring some home. Strongly recommended, this visit is a must if you want to learn a bit about the famous Modena aceto!

Thank bonjour_et_bonvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews