We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Zanzibar Ocean View(Zanzibar Island)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Warere Town House(Stone Town)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Princess Salme Inn(Stone Town)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Zanzibar Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kholle House(Stone Town)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
116
34
3
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
34
3
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssandy pathwaysstone townseafoodhelpful hostszanzibar islandlocal communitytropical gardenvillage tourfishing boatsstayed longerspacious roomspice farmvisited zanzibarmango treesreliable transportationother hotelslunch and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018

I stayed there for 2 nights, the people are friendly, the service is good and the rooms are so beautiful! The place is really quiet and chill, I felt comfortable. Nice restaurant, you can have a good breakfast, with all the products from Zanzibar, good coffee and tasty fruit, and the dinner is really nice and romantic as well! I will definitely recommend this place, and I hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Federico G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Family atmosphere, fantastic welcome, good food, very good location to relax. I definitely recommend to people who want to rest and enjoy the calm. Awesome breakfast and good choice of local food. Internet has good speed. They arrange visits and transport to nearby spice farms .

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Hamid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We have been here for almost a week after a week of stressful safari tours and we enjoyed it very much. Aside the bigger and very touristy hotels and beaches we found a remarkable small lodge at the western side of Zanzibar Island. Very friendly staff, managed by an Italian Lady. Sometimes we learned a little about the 'African way of life': It could need a half an our to get a drink - and then it was not the ordered one. But at last all drinks were good and you got a lot of apologizing. ... nothing to get worry about - it's pure Africa!

The rooms are more simple but lovingly furnished, a little sandy private beach close to the lodge - all in best order.

We had a lovely candlelight dinner (fresh! seafood) directly at the beach - and I mean candlelight: only candles gave us light. Nothing around but the beach and the waiter.

All in all not luxury but I love it!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TimTruckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

I stayed here for a weekend and the whole was very warm and welcoming. Even the owners made an effort to interact with me and suggest things I could do in the town, not forgetting to mention the mini history lesson I received one morning. Very nice people!

The Lodge is very quiet and clean which was perfect for an escape which was what I was looking for.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ilovecocktails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We didn't choose Mangrove; it chose us. While browsing potential accommodations, this lodging located in Chuini showed up with excellent reviews. The 'eco' in its name further provoked our curiosity. Their idea is simply to promote responsible tourism by encroaching as little as possible on the natural surroundings. This attempt at harmoniously co-existing with the environment really does work to create one of the finest garden style settings we've seen.

An unpaved, perhaps unadopted road, questionably winds its way towards the Hotel, which overlooks a beautiful white sand beach, whilst remaining hidden in a diverse leafage of croton and other lush exotic plants. Steadily maintained sandy pathways guide you through a serene tropical garden, protected by tall palms and mango trees. Each path leads to one of the 10 bungalow style apartment or restaurant nestled in the foliage. If you're looking for a calm and soothing vacation, this might be the perfect place. I felt somewhat transported back to the sixties movement where part of the theme was 'peace'.

Besides preserving the environment's natural state, the owners see Mangrove as an opportunity to engage as many locals as possible...with special emphasis on empowering women. Supporting projects such as the local clinic, school, and sanitation, is all part of their driving force. You get a sense of passion when speaking with Haji (co-owner), who despite being constantly busy, is always ready to sit and have a conversation about the future of the Village. Having and intimate connection by being one of its first residences, he presents a unique perspective on not only Chuini, but the Island.
An opportunity was given to us to visit, the clinic, school, a spice farm, and several small villages, to truly get the authentic feel of life locally. Eating cassava and breadfruit from the pots of locals, seeing the trials and triumphs in the daily lives of a family with several small children, or sharing a gift with the school students who are nothing but grateful; a village tour here will complete your stay in Zanzibar. It is an absolute must. We left humbled.

The bungalow style dwellings are comfortable with clean and decent bathrooms. My gripe here is the not so unusual...low water pressure. Rooms are equipped with air-conditioning units which carry an added cost. Things can still get a bit warm at night when using only ceiling fans. While flies were non-existent, mosquitoes could pay a visit in sparse numbers if the doors were left ajar in the evening. There is no pre-emptive late evening spraying with the drawing of mosquito nets that is a common practice at other hotels and resorts.
We were here for two nights and considered the dinner menu adequate; breakfast offered a reasonable selection to start the day. As is the case with most accommodation establishments in Zanzibar, there is no alternative dining outside or near the hotel compound. (Residing in Stone town is an exception.) This means you will be stuck with the monopolistic choice of cuisine your hosts offer. A dinner here will cost about $15/person; and while the service is gracious, communicating with servers can be challenging due to the language barrier-- which is by no means unique to Mangrove Lodge.

On arriving, we met an adorable and extremely polite English speaking Shelly, with a concierge on hand to assist with our luggage. The atmosphere oozed relaxation, and a welcome drink only promoted the sense of hospitality. Lacking any sophisticated terminals or apparatus for credit card processing, transactions are handled using a private computer. You'll input the relevant information together with co-owner Marina, and receive a confirmation on your payment status.
Having arrived early in the season, we shared the hotel with only one to two other families. Considering the number of residences and the general layout, I doubt it ever feels crowded here at any time. There is free Wi-Fi, but proximity to the reception is a speed factor.

Mangrove Eco-Lodge is more about a complete experience rather than accommodation, sun, and meals. If you're anything like us and enjoy getting out while travelling, you'd be hard pressed to find a better full day outing anywhere. You're almost certain to leave Zanzibar a lot more rewarded, perhaps even, with a new cause.

Tip: We had a few intermittent power outages while here, with none lasting more than 3 minutes. This would eventually repeat itself for longer periods when we arrived at our next destination--but for periods up to 20 minutes. Note that this is no fault of the host, rather, an infrastructure problem. It is advisable to have with you a small flashlight for similar emergencies. A mobile phone app works well, but you might want to save your phone battery for vacation purposes. A flashlight could also prove indispensable if you are planning a Safari.
The positives;

• Courteous staff
• Attractive location
• Natural garden style surroundings
• Environmentally conscious driven
• Genuine local tours

The negatives;

• Appalling access road (Infrastructure and no fault of Mangrove!)
• Weak shower pressure
• Lack of refrigerators
• Non-inclusive Air conditioning

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kurrencee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews