We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
209
24
4
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
209
24
4
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews husband and wife team former school warm welcome lady owner very generous portions sunday lunch couple who run cooked to perfection would highly recommend this hotel boutique hotel lovely evening duck fantastic hosts lovely hotel beautiful room business trip cooked breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Absolutely superb. Fòod was fantastic and delicious and the service was spot on. I felt comfortable and looked after in every way as they are following Covid precautions to the letter.
I shall definitely be returning again.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 200damo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2021 via mobile

A surprising find in a great hotel with a gorgeous garden. Full restaurant menu and all of a very high standard. Bedrooms very well furnished and bathrooms excellent and with all the extras. A really great place to stay although Gainsborough itself has little to see

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sellert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 May 2021

I’ve been travelling for work for 14 years and this stands out on top for me. I discovered the hotel a year ago and whenever I am working in area I make sure I stay here. Fantastic food, not just fantastic food for a hotel kind of fantastic food but some of the best food I’ve had in any restaurant in all my years of travelling. I would highly recommend staying here just for the food alone. The Garden areas are beautiful and lovely to sit and enjoy a drink in. The Rooms are all unique and very tidy. The water pressure is excellent.

Room tip: If you enjoy a bath and a separate shower like I do I recommend the Hickman and the Billy Confrey rooms
Date of stay: April 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RyanJM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 February 2021

Hickman Hill Hotel has a great reputation for its restaurant meals. Throughout lock down the chef and catering staff have enhanced their reputation even more by providing delicious Sunday Roast take away meals for only £10 . I look forward to Sundays

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank philgE1294VY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 December 2020 via mobile

Whether eating in the restaurant or takeaway (due to Covid) the Sunday lunches are great, we have one once a fortnight now. We have tried all variations of meat available, each one cooked perfectly. Generous portions and always hot. Friendly and efficient service, very Covid safe when eating in the restaurant, Great value for money. Compliments to the Chef and hostess.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank karentV7375YZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews