We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
HK$1,100
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
HK$988
Breakfast included
Earn rewards on eligible stays
Expedia
HK$988
Breakfast included
Earn rewards for every stay
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Debbie R

A great hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Feb 2024
Overall - this is an excellent hotel. We loved the 3 pools - one for familes, a livelier 2nd pool for adults and then a 3rd quiet pool for adults. Breakfast is very good and Sue ensures the highest level of service. Everything is requested via an app for the resort services - which is very effective but perhaps lacks personal touch. The food is good and the bedroom was lovely, very comfortable bed!
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Some of the restaurants are quite expensive and the Shore barbecue was not great. Sue in the Tin...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Daguin, General Manager at The Slate, Phuket, responded to this review
Responded 24 Feb 2024
Dear Mollycookie1,
Sawasdee krap,

Thank you so much for sharing a review on TripAdvisor and very delighted to read that you have spent a great time with us.
Much appreciated your lovely feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next travel to Phuket.

Best regards,

William Daguin
Hotel Manager
william@theslatephuket.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
HK$247
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$380
  • Agoda.com
    HK$215
  • Expedia
    HK$380
0.2 km from The Slate, Phuket
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
HK$298
  • Hotels.com
    HK$289
  • Trip.com
    HK$274
  • Agoda.com
    HK$298
0.9 km from The Slate, Phuket
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$341
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    HK$256
  • Expedia
    HK$305
1.8 km from The Slate, Phuket
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$188
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$173
  • Agoda.com
    HK$155
  • Vio.com
2.0 km from The Slate, Phuket
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our outdoor pool
Booking.com
HK$205
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    HK$183
  • Agoda.com
    HK$82
  • Expedia
    HK$183
1.6 km from The Slate, Phuket
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
HK$163
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    HK$148
  • Agoda.com
    HK$133
  • ZenHotels.com
1.8 km from The Slate, Phuket
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
HK$179
  • Hotels.com
    HK$176
  • Agoda.com
    HK$161
  • Vio.com
    HK$179
2.1 km from The Slate, Phuket
Free parking
Pool
                  Het afscheid van de staf viel zwaar
Booking.com
HK$91
  • Agoda.com
    HK$91
  • Vio.com
  • Trip.com
1.0 km from The Slate, Phuket
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia
Earn rewards for every stay
  • Hotels.com
  • Marriott Hotels
    HK$991
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from The Slate, Phuket
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nai Yang
Reviews (5,082)
Filter reviews
5,083 results
Traveller rating
3,668
931
303
110
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,668
931
303
110
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black ginger tin mine indigo pearl adult pools d buk suite tin mining family pool pearl bed suite coqoon spa beach club pool suite day bed swim up bar our honeymoon outdoor bath thai restaurant cooking class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 5,083 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2024

Can’t put into words that do this place enough justice…. It was an amazing experience from start to finish. Our trip started with the executive transport pick up which we arranged through the hotel. Air conditioned, with ice cold face flannels and water waiting in the car for when we got in. The arrival at the hotel saw us greeted by a staff member who gave us a welcome drink, another ice cold flannel and a corsage for me to wear. After being shown to our room our luggage was delivered shortly after by the hotel porters.
The air conditioned room was even better than the photos we saw online. We stayed in the D-buk family suite which was incredibly spacious. There was a walk in closet with ample storage for clothes and luggage. It also housed the room safe for your valuables.
In the entrance way there was a tea/coffee making area with a mini fridge and mini bar. Complete with a kettle, l’Or coffee machine, selection of mugs and glasses. The free tea/coffee/milk was topped up at least once a day.
There was a separate toilet and shower and two wash basins. The complementary toiletries smelled divine too.
The bed was huge and extremely comfy. The hotel app allowed you to access a pillow menu to ‘order’ from a choice of different pillows if you didn’t find the feather pillows to your liking.
In the room there was a free standing and huge bath… excellent for relaxing in after a long flight.
The maid service was amazing… with beds made, room cleaned and supplies restocked twice a day. The maid also came every evening to light an anti mosquito incense ring on the patio.
Outside of the room it was like a magical village instead of a hotel complex. The grounds were well maintained (we watched staff collect coconuts from the trees whilst pruning the trees at the same time). There was a selection of places to eat and drink… each producing great quality, fresh food. The staff were professional and polite at all times.
The three pools were immaculate and all serviced by the bars/cafes mentioned above…. Meaning you could get food and drinks when needed. There was an endless supply of lemon infused iced water available free of charge by each pool too.
When talking about food… I have to mention the highly acclaimed Black Ginger restaurant. (Definitely book ahead) The experience starts with a raft ride (more a floating platform) from the hotel side to the restaurant. Once inside the staff were attentive and polite. The food was delicious and the chef even came out to introduce herself to every diner. We chose from the a la carte menu, having a starter, mains and the most amazing Indigo ice cream each. With a bottle of sparkling water and a bottle of wine we paid approximately £90 all together…Comparable in style and quality to a high end UK restaurant… it was amazing value.
The hotel also had a selection of free activities that could be booked such as volleyball, archery and water sports. A kids club was available too.
The onsite spa had a variety of services available to help you relax eg massage, IV therapies etc.. in clean and relaxing surroundings.
Those wanting to venture outside of the hotel grounds for a swim could collect a towel at the gate to use on the beach (which was literally across the road)
There was a huge choice of mini marts, restaurants, street food vendors and bars etc within walking distance.
On the day we left we had an evening flight so we were a little worried about having to hang about in the heat after check out… we shouldn’t have though… we checked out our room at 12 noon. Had a swim and soaked up some sun for a bit longer… had a final meal (with cocktails during happy hour) and accessed the gym complex to shower and change ahead of our departure. Then once again we travelled in an air conditioned car to the airport.
As I said, words can’t adequately describe how fantastic this hotel was, or how amazing our holiday was… it truly was the best, most relaxing and most memorable holiday we have ever had.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JoolsT98
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Daguin, General Manager at The Slate, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Dear JoolsT98,
Sawasdee krap,

Million thanks for having shared such a positive review on TripAdvisor. We are so thankful to receiving such details feedback and rest assured that your lovely comments will be shared to the entire Slate team.

Thank you so much again for describing so positively your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Should you wish any assistance to make any future reservation with us, please feel free to contact me directly. It was a pleasure hosting you here and see you soon.

Best regards,

William Daguin
Hotel Manager
william@theslatephuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2024

Stunning Rooms and Hotel Grounds. Spotless pools and amazing sunset at the beach.

Breakfast and evening Dining at the Tin Mine Restaurant was outstanding. Loved the unique overall design and style of the resort.

Loads of fresh fruit, food stalls and beach restaurants right on the beach.

Half day diving from See Bees on the hotel grounds was excellent and great value.

Gym facilities were first class with very high quality equipment and a great environment.

Staff were a delight and would 100% recommend.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Storyteller471052
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claude Sauter, General Manager at The Slate, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences, and it was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Your kind feedback has been forwarded to our team. Great to read that you liked the character and the design of the resort.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any help with your arrangements.

With warm regards,

Claude

Claude Sauter
General Manager / The Slate
claude@theslatephuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2024

Fabulous resort. Cannot fault it. We will be back Gorgeous rooms and close to nearby shops and restaurants but still a hidden tranquil oasis Amazing food and service and Black Ginger was stunning. Had to do it twice. Just wonderful we cannot wait to return

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Suziepearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claude Sauter, General Manager at The Slate, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Dear Suzie,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers and I am very happy to know that you had a fabulous stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you back soon, please don't hesitate to reach out directly to me and I will be delighted to assist you with your booking arrangement.

With warm regards,

Claude

Claude Sauter
General Manager / claude@theslatephuket.com
The Slate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2024

Where to begin? In a word, The Slate is magnificent! Our first time in Thailand and what a place to pick! Our stay was so fabulous that we have booked again for the same time next year. Our family had the privilege to stay in the 2-bed villa and WOW! Our own private oasis. Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, and a lovely pool, which was the size of what you might find in a boutique hotel. Everything was so perfect that we hardly wanted to leave the villa! The food too was exquisite (Tin Mine, The Rivet, Black Ginger) but what added an extra layer to the excellence were the wonderful staff, who would always greet you with a smile and go the extra mile if you needed anything. I cannot end the review without mentioning the wonderful Nim, who was outstanding! We only hope that she is still there when we return next year! Thank you The Slate - memories are made of this!

Room tip: 2 bedroom pool villa was exceptional
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Avril T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claude Sauter, General Manager at The Slate, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Dear Guest,

Wow! What a lovely review. Thank you for choosing The Slate for your first visit to the Kingdom. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our 2-bedroom pool villa, as well as our signature restaurants.

It is always motivating to receive appreciation, and your kind comments have been shared with all my colleagues, especially our super butler Khun Nim.
Our associates are our biggest asset, and we are proud to offer genuine Thai hospitality to all our guests.


We look forward to welcoming you back next year and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

With kind regards,

Claude

Claude Sauter
General Manager / The Slate
claude@theslatephuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2024

I was recommended to stay at The Slate by a friend who said "you definitely will not regret it" and so right on that statement. From the time I set foot onto the premise, the reception decor is already putting me on vacation mode. The lotus flower theme is throughout the hotel from the welcome corsage to Black Ginger plate decor.... The staff are very warm and attentive where they make you feel connected and looked after by them.

I love the Stockroom, each piece of item there is so unique. From the clothes, to the cutleries, to jewelry, vases, clutches, they carry a different style. Having the Stockroom above Tin Mine is like having colorful butterflies on top of the mine!

I love the 3 different pools, each for each unique purpose (kids/families, quiet, mingling with drinks). The rooms are very beautifully designed and the mirros are well places to create a different perspective of the space.

Definitely love The Slate and will visit again.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 614fatimat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William Daguin, General Manager at The Slate, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

Dear 614fatimat,
Sawasdee krap,

Thank you so much for sharing such a positive review on TripAdvisor as well for having decided to stay with us following some recommendations.

We are most delighted to read that you have spent a great time with us and once again thank you for the detailed review and feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon again in the future.

Best regards,

William Daguin
Hotel Manager
william@theslatephuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews