We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
24 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia
US$172
View deal
Trip.com
US$144
View deal
FindHotel
US$142
View deal
Agoda.comUS$144
Hotels.comUS$172
Official SiteUS$144
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,660)
Filter reviews
4,660 results
Traveller rating
3,282
904
294
109
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,282
904
294
109
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black ginger tin mine indigo pearl adult pools d buk suite tin mining family pool pearl bed suite coqoon spa industrial design tongkah tin syndicate pool suite swim up bar our honeymoon cooking class outdoor bath thai restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 4,660 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2022 via mobile

Can't speak more highly of The Slate. The room is amazing, cleaned beautifully, smells divine and has plenty of space.
The 3 pools are great. We are travelling with no kids, so choose to hang by the snake pool, which is 14+.
Food is delicious. Breakfast at Tin Min has everything you could want in a buffet breakfast, lunch can be at the cafe or poolside and the choice for dinner is great.
Staff are super friendly and attentive. They provide 1st class service all the time.
We only have 1 more day here at The Slate and we will be so sad leaving. An amazing place to stay and would highly recommend for everyone.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Brionypitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manuel Mandaglio, Other at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2022

Dear Brionypitt,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are thrilled to know that your stay exceeded your high expectations. Your kind compliments pertaining the service quality and sumptuous breakfast have been shared with all concerned.

Two out of the three swimming pools are exclusively for guests 14+ of age. The Snakeskin Pool you mentioned is the ideal venue for peace and tranquility, while Pulley Pool with its swim-up bar offers subtle beats and frozen Margaritas to enjoy the stunning surroundings.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels lead you to Phuket again. Please do contact me directly if I can be of any help with your arrangements.

Kind regards,

Manuel Mandaglio
Hotel Manager
The Slate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2022 via mobile

Incredible hotel. Amazing staff.
Stayed in a 2 bed suite. Very spacious and incredibly well equipped. On site restaurants are fantastic. The buffet breakfast caters for every taste.
Wonderful beach is just a few metres walk away.
The style and design is a mix of traditional and industrial - it is very cool.
Cannot fault The Slate in any way.

Room tip: A great place for a relaxing holiday. Good for couples and families.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Discover55651196584
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manuel Mandaglio, Other at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2022

Dear Tony,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share the impressions of your stay. Great to read you enjoyed the signature duplex 2-Bedroom Pearl Shell Suite, including the personal Butler Service that comes with it. Nai Yang beach and National Park are indeed just a stone's throw away, and offer tranquility and relaxation pure.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Phuket. Please feel free to contact us directly at reservations@theslatephuket.com and enjoy direct booking benefits such as complimentary airport transfer and more.

Kind regards,

Manuel Mandaglio
Hotel Manager
The Slate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2022 via mobile

Just book this resort, you will not regret it. Although it is a short 10 minute drive from the airport there is no aircraft noise to be heard. it is just wonderful to be able to arrive so quickly at this truely spectacular resort to unwind after an 8 hour flight.
10/10 for all categories and the photos of the resort are exactly how the resort presents.
We used the complimentary mountain bikes during our stay and swam in the gorgeous pools. The breakfast is the best I have ever experienced in Thailand with good coffee made to order.
We will most definitely be back and regret only spending 2 nights here. The beach behind the resort is lovely and includes some nice beach front restaurants and sun lounges.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank molly0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manuel Mandaglio, Other at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2022

Dear Molly,

Thank you for this amazing feedback. We are truly thrilled and humbled to learn you had such an exceptional stay. It is always motivating to receive appreciation, and your kind comments have been shared with all my colleagues.

Our Culinary Team, consisting of over fifty members, is dedicated to offer the best breakfast experience on the island. A variety of buffet and made-to-order dishes is awaiting you daily from 6:30 to 10:30 hrs. All breads, pastries, Danish, savories and croissants are daily freshly baked in our in-house bakery. Great to read as well that you enjoyed the quality of our bean-to-cup breakfast coffee machine

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Manuel Mandaglio
Hotel Manager
The Slate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2022 via mobile

Originally planned for a weeklong stay but cut short after one day.

The design aesthetic of this hotel is certainly unique, but I can’t understand how it made so many “luxury hotel lists”. Neither the hardware nor the service would lead one to believe this hotel meets high standards. The rooms are cheaper than others that are typically written about by travel editors, but it’s probably for good reason - you get what you pay for.

The pros of this hotel are that it’s very close to the airport, and the facilities such as pools etc. are abundant and nice. The rooms look nice on appearance, but are not comfortable and I suspect not hygienic. I stayed in a standard “pearl shell suite”

1/ the doors are hollow and slam easily. This means that every time one of your neighbors comes in and out, you will definitely hear it in your room.
2/ The rooms are not private. For most of the standard suites, the bathtub is located outside on the terrace. However, other guests on the grounds can easily see what is happening on your terrace and in the rooms. What is the point of having an outdoor bathtub if everybody can see you using it. When I was in my room, I kept the curtains drawn, to prevent people from seeing what was happening in the room. There was no curtain sheer, so you just sit in darkness unless you want to advertise the happenings in your room to other guests. Also, the curtains don’t close all the way, so in the mornings, you wake up to a strip of blinding light. See pictures.
3/ When I turned on the tap in my room, brown rust water gushed out. This is gross.
4/ Terraces are stacked right on top of each other, and right next to each other. Therefore, if your neighbor is sitting outside and having a conversation, you will hear everything very clearly from your room. This is true even with the terrace doors closed, because they are made of thin glass and do not block noise.

Service is spotty. Checkin took too a long time. At breakfast, there were swarms of flies around the tables. There was also a gnat in the yogurt on the buffet line. When I asked whether anything could be done about the flies, the staff member offered to switch tables to another (slightly less fly infested) table, but when I expressed hesitance, then just shrugged and walked away. My guess is this is a persistent problem, and there is no solution. Beyond service, this raises some other questions about hygiene as well.

The owners of the hotel clearly put a lot of thought into the design of the property. There are many spaces that are quite beautiful and unique. It’s unfortunate that the functionality of the hotel is not up to par with its design aspirations.

Room tip: If you have to stay here, pay extra to upgrade to a shell suite or a villa. Standard rooms aren’t great.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank xfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manuel Mandaglio, Other at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2022

Dear Xfest,

Thank you for your feedback. While we are glad to read that you liked our facilities and lush landscape, we regret to learn that your experience was not in line with your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused. We take your comments in the most positive way, and shall review how we can improve the aspects you highlighted.

We hope nevertheless we may receive a chance to host your stay once again, and proof that we can do better. Please feel free to contact me directly for possible assistance with your arrangements.

Kind regards,

Manuel Mandaglio
Hotel Manager
The Slate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2022

Stayed again. 7th visit in 12 years. Back when it was indigo pearl and now slate. Always great staff, even though last visit was 5yrs pre covid the main people knew us and family and that’s always good when you are away. Excellent rooms (we had two pearl suites) and we always enjoy Cocoon Spa before we fly home. See you next year

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RobT1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manuel Mandaglio, Other at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2022

Dear Rob & Family,

Thank you for the compliments. We are fortunate to count on many loyal return guests as you are. This also helps us tremendously during this tourism recovery period, and we truly appreciate your ongoing support!

Great to read that you enjoyed your accommodation, the spa services as well as the signature hospitality from our team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back coming year! Please feel free to contact me directly for any possible assistance with your arrangements.

Kind regards,

Manuel Mandaglio
Hotel Manager
The Slate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews