We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
19 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia
US$152
View deal
Agoda.comUS$152
Hotels.comUS$152
Trip.comUS$152
ZenHotels.comUS$164
Official SiteUS$153
Snaptravel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,643)
Filter reviews
4,643 results
Traveller rating
3,267
904
292
109
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,267
904
292
109
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black ginger tin mine indigo pearl adult pools d buk suite tin mining family pool pearl bed suite coqoon spa industrial design tongkah tin syndicate pool suite swim up bar our honeymoon cooking class outdoor bath thai restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
742 - 747 of 4,643 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Selected by a friend for his 40th birthday celebrations and a great venue to hold any celebration. Very spacious resort hotel with three pools to accommodate both family and couples holidays. Located to close to the beach with provides an option if you want to get away from the resort. Our room was extremely spacious and well furnished A range of bars and restaurants and we tried them all with no complaints. Great buffet breakfast with a range of food to suit all tastes. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 507AlanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PaulJordaan, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Alan C,

Greetings from The Slate! Thank you for taking yor time to share your experience with the tripadvisor community. We are delighted you had a great time celabrating the birthday.
We hope next time you will return to us for another stay.

Thank you again.
Warmest regards,
Paul Jordaan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

I stayed here with my young son in October and after reading the many great reviews was delighted that it surpassed my expectations. We stayed in a D-Buk suite for the 1st 6 nights, the room was super roomy and luxurious with lovely comfortable beds, lovely balconies, great bathroom and the most divine smelling toiletries. The last 3 nights were spent in a pool suite which was wonderful, my 8 year old thought he was in heaven, having a pool all to himself. The restaurants and bars were great, serving delicious meals and fantastic cocktails. The real highlight was a meal at the stunning Black Ginger, the most amazing setting and superb food.

The facilities are fantastic with the huge family pool catering for families with kids and the 2 adult pools are a great place to escape. The staff were amazing, always smiling and the concierge team so helpful.

Nai Yang beach was great with lots of shops and restaurants along the beach and great for swimming.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank angelai207
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PaulJordaan, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Angela I,

A grateful thank you for your lovely feedback – we are delighted to know that we met your expectations in every aspect.
Your comments have been shared amongst our team and is motivating us all to keep up the highest standards of service.
We hope we may have the pleasure to welcome you and your son again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Paul Jordaan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Only getting around to writing this review from our stay in April
We stayed here as it was recommended by Trailfinders.
We were early and our room was not ready, we walked around the resort for about half an hour and came back to reception. Our allocated room was still not ready but we were upgraded to a room down by the Spa, the Coqoon Spa Suite. This room while having lovely facilities, pool, sauna, steam room was out of the way of the rest of the resort and it felt very isolated at night.
It also felt that having people stay here was a last minute decision as the room did not have the usual amenities, one night there was no turn down service and nobody at the bars recognised our room number
That aside the room was excellent and the pool was a bonus.
Breakfast was excellent on the morning we could avail of it. On our second morning we had to leave at 5:30 am and I was surprised that a small boxed breakfast was not offered.
The adult pool was very relaxing and the food & cocktails were excellent.
We just had to eat at Black Ginger, not cheap but well worth it for the experience and the food
Another night we had a tasty meal at the Tin Mine restaurant, very good. We also had a few drinks at the Tin Syndicate bar, very good atmosphere and great staff
The area outside the hotel was nice with your typical tourist shops and local restaurants
The staff at The Slate were very friendly and the very helpful Irish concierge helped us with our Black Ginger booking and helped us find our way around
We would love to stay here again

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PaulJordaan, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Ger H,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us this great feedback and we are thrill to know you had a great time with us.
Your regards will be passed to Maria our concierge and I am sure she will be pleased-hope to welcome you again very soon, until then.

Warmest regards,
Paul Jordaan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

The resort welcome started at the airport with the arranged shuttle and just got better once we drove the few minutes to the resort. Check in was easy and quick. We arrived early so our room wasn't ready, but our luggage was stored and we found a place to change out of our travelling cloths. We only reserved the basic room, which was still one of the nicest resort rooms I've been in. The AC worked well, and the room had everything we needed and was quiet. The grounds were very beautiful and spread out. We couldn't figure out which was our favorite pool although the family pool was the most scenic.

The beach was across the street but still very close. The beach was not too busy and not real touristy. There are a few good shops and restaurants along the street between the resort and the beach. The beach was nice walking and yes there were areas with garbage, but not too bad overall.

We liked that the resort is not close to most tourist areas, but for some this might be a negative. There were still adequate restaurants along the beach street, but not too much for shopping.

All in all this resort is highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sn0wRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PaulJordaan, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Sn0wRunner,

Thank you for sharing your amazing review with the Tripadvisor community. We are delighted you enjoyed every monment of your stay with us, it was certainly a pleassure to have welcomed you and we hope to have this opportunity again.
Thank you again for choosing The Slate.

Warmest regards,
Paul Jordaan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

First impressions of the hotel was strange decor going on with the Steam Punk/Tin mine theme. However once you explore the resort you get over that strange theme and quickly learn to enjoy the quirkiness. The place is immense with 3 fantastic pools, and a reasonable choice of restaurants. I didn’t expect the hotel to be so close to the airport, and to that I think the beach suffered. If you’re not a beach person then this is a fine place. However if you are, it’s a real disappointment to see such a dirty, poorly maintained beach just in front the resort.

It’s a fabulous place for families, has great facilities and great service. No fifth star because of the poor lighting, poor signage and not very nice beach.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ellenyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PaulJordaan, General Manager at The Slate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear ellenyh,

Thank you very much for noticing our unique property and bespoke service, Currently we have 2 beach attendants to see to the beach and now the tide is lower during the dry season the beach should look much cleaner.

Your comment regarding the lighting has been passed to our team and we hope next time you visit us we will get the fifth star.

Warmest Regards,
Paul Jordaan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews